We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Managua Backpackers Inn

PricelineUS$9*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$25*
US$9*
US$25*
US$25*
US$9*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Managua Backpackers Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

228 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 194: English reviews
Start your review of Managua Backpackers Inn
 Click to rate
Verona, Italy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed just one night, the staff was helpfull and friendly. The bad was ok...just few backpackers listening music at 4 o'clock, near the swimming pool, but at the end for a night was a nice experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank martina_perbellini81
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place has it all. Managua doesn´t offer to much so is good for couple of days, more expensive than Leon or Granada but its the cheapest of the city. The best thing its the pool side, great place to party and chill, the dorms where fine just a a little bit dark house but nothing that some lightballs wouldn´t...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

While I personally did not like the neighbourhood (it looks like a fancy, clean, expensive Western neighbourhood - not what I came for, I have that back home!), the hostel itself is one of my favourites in all my travels (and I have gotten around!). Rooms are well equipped and spotless, 2 kitchens, hammocks, pool, free pancake breakfast and coffee....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Henni T
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Orlando and his staff were great. It was nice, clean, quiet and fun I love the rooms, and the price was great for what we got! I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a place that is affordable and local.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Louvens
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great and friendly staff! I really enjoy this place. Good localization, clean rooms and bathrooms, Wi-Fi works well, mall around and free breakfast. For sure its such a nice place to stay for a while.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marcosvalverdeeu
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Small dorms with good beds, though fairly hot. Nice common area with a pool. Free breakfast (pancakes). They arrange transport to- and from the airport for 10 dollars/person (comparable to normal taxi prices). Good place to stay for a night in Managua.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This is the top rated hostel in Managua?? I only stayed a night as I was leaving the country, but after having been in Nicaragua for 5+ weeks, this place was the low light. It was dirtier than I expected it to be (particularly the pool and the kitchen floors,) and the guy working the counter was incredibly rude!!! I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dallas B
Mayo7121, Owner at Managua Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hostel. I wanted to let you know that we take your comments seriously and are very sorry for the poor experience you had during your stay. Regarding the cleanliness, our cleaning staff works incredibly hard to keep the hostel as clean as possible, however, at times, especially when we are busy,...

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 11 April 2017

I stayed at the Managua Backpackers Inn the night before I flew back to the states and booked the room and airport shuttle ahead of time. Everyone I corresponded with was very helpful, the rooms were clean and comfortable and the airport shuttle was very convenient. The only hitch is that the shuttle ended up being a half an hour...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaitlin R
Mayo7121, Owner at Managua Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and our apologies for the late arrival of the shuttle. All the best in your future travels!

Winnipeg, Manitoba
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Managua is a place to miss but this hostel is a good place to stay if you are arriving or leaving the country. It's close to restaurants and a mall. It has a nice pool and Netflix area. Rooms are clean and standard. The man who was working when we checked in was extremely rude. Yelled at my friend for...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank shelleye280
Mayo7121, Owner at Managua Backpackers Inn, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments regarding the hostel. We're glad you enjoyed the amenities of the hostel. I just want to let you know that it's unacceptable to us that the receptionist would respond in such a way to your friend. We'll be discussing this with our receptionists to make sure this poor introduction...

Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Good place to stay for a day in Managua. Friendly staff, good breakfast and a nice place to meet other people. Managua is a layover city, do it was nice the hostel is near the busstation. The pickup service from the airport was good, more because I arrived late in Managua.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen D

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Managua hotels
3.0 km away
Hotel Los Cisneros
Hotel Los Cisneros
#48 of 51 in Managua
41 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel San Luis
Hotel San Luis
#21 of 51 in Managua
43 reviews
3.9 km away
Art Hotel Managua
Art Hotel Managua
#25 of 51 in Managua
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hilton Princess Managua
Hilton Princess Managua
#2 of 51 in Managua
637 reviews
2.6 km away
Pandora Hostel
Pandora Hostel
#3 of 65 in Managua
50 reviews
0.9 km away
La Bicicleta Hostal
La Bicicleta Hostal
#1 of 65 in Managua
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We, the owners and staff, have created Managua Backpackers Inn to serve backpackers and budget travelers of all ages as part of our vision to offer a hostel in Managua that provides the services to support the modern traveler . Whether you're just passing through Managua at the start of your trip or if your planning on spending an extended period of time in Managua, we offer the perfect social environment for the modern traveler. We are open 24 hours/365 days and are centrally located in the heart of the new modern downtown Managua. At 'MBI', we pride ourselves on being the best option for travelers in Managua. We offer a variety of room types including private rooms and dormitories to suit any budget along with FREE WIFI and shared computers. The neighborhood surrounding MBI is very clean and secure allowing guests to explore at any time taking normal safety precautions. We are just a short walk, bus or taxi ride from all major national sights, markets, and transportation terminals. In less than 10 minutes you can walk to the MetroCentro Shopping center, cinemas, parks, casinos, supermarkets, Zona Hippos, and over 50 restaurants, bars, and nightclubs. We also offer two shared fully equipped kitchen, large swimming pool, air conditioning, CCTV cameras in public areas, Netflix movies, 7/24 airport shuttle service (must be booked in advance), FREE Pancake breakfast and much much more. We also have 'Happy Hour Everyday' FREE STUFF includes: -Swimming pool -Wireless high-speed internet -Use of shared kitchen -Netflix access -Filtered drinking water -Secure Lockers -Gas BBQ -Book exchange -All Towels and Bed linens -Use of Shared Computer Our reception staff are all local Nicaraguans and are fully bilingual and will be happy to assist you in either English or Spanish. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Managua Backpackers Inn

Address: Colonial Los Robles, 3era etapa, Casa # 56 | Monte de Los Olivos, 1 cuadra al norte (lago), 1 cuadra al oeste y ½ cuadra al norte (lago), Casa #56, Managua, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Managua Department > Managua
Price Range: €9 - €25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Managua Backpackers Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Managua Backpackers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Managua Backpackers Hotel Managua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Managua Backpackers Inn staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Charlottesville, Virginia
6 months ago
Charlottesville, Virginia

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Managua Backpackers Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms available in different sizes”
hennit2017, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“The night breezes are most relaxing.”
dhobby777, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Bring a lot of mosquito repellent ”
greenie188, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Watch your head! The bottom bunk in our room was a double bed. It has a bent ladder which is helpful for climbing, but I smacked my head on it in the middle of the night. My own fault, totally. Just be aware! ”
jasonxkeller, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“wifi idoes not have a good signal only at the comun areas .”
634karlac, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$9* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$25
Booking.comUS$9
Hotels.comUS$25
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates