We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Joan's Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Joan\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 32: English reviews
Antigua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2015

A perfect place to stay. Fulfills all requirements travelers have. Located in a very secure area. Friendly staff, clean, hot showers, kitchen facility, free drinking water & coffee, cosy meeting area with a charming little garden! Bus stop 2 mins walk, plenty of cheap & delicious Comedores as well as a big Supermarket closed by. Ana, the owner, exceptional helpful... More 

Helpful?
Thank ggravino
Vancouver
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2015

Joan’s Hostel was for me, an inexpensive basic room to stay, in a safe neighborhood when transitioning from one part of El Salvador to another. I stayed here twice when connecting with international buses that go to Nicaragua and Guatemala (PS used El Sol bus line and loved it). This hostel is in the university area so during the day... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alphabetty2
Boquete, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Ana and the rest of the staff are ultra sweet. This hostel is located in a very safe part of San Salvador, and if you're worried about what to do, where to go, how to get anywhere, Ana will help. If you only speak English, no problem. Ana's completely fluent. If Ana's not there, the sweet, and majestically named Rigoberto... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank redhandrail
Le Tampon, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2015

It was my first visit to San Salvador after reading so many scary things about the country, I was happy that I had choosen JO'Ans hostel... Good value for your money. You can use the kitchen, the supermarket is nearby and also many vendors. Anna and her staff made me be comfortable from the beginning. I planned to stay there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie C
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2015 via mobile

We had a great time here, the beds are easily the comfiest in the whole of Central America and the showers are the best too (hot with pressure!!), the wifi works in the bedroom (luxury in my eyes!) Ana is so welcoming and friendly and patiently helped us a lot with planning our onward journey, thank you for everything! The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Wisbey89
Pori, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2015

I stayed at Joan's for three nights and I can higly recommend it to others. The hostel in very clean with nice rooms and common spaces. There's a kitchen where you can cook your own food but nice restaurants near by aswell. (And big supermarket few minutes walk away). I met the owner, Ana, and she is very welcoming, friendly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank suska444
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2014 via mobile

I stayed for three days in this hostel and felt at home. It's actually in a house, and can be difficult to find because it's not written hostel anywhere. The location is perfect to go to the malls or anywhere in the new parts of the city, it's close to the bus stop. You have a lot of restaurants around.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_RC2013
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I read great reviews for JoAn's before we booked, but honestly I was a bit disappointed. First, we had a really difficult time finding the place, especially since there is no sign anywhere on the outside indicating it was JoAn's. We also did not have a great service. Whoever was working the desk was not helpful or readily available. Though... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jaeriko
analuisa67, Owner at Joan's Hostel, responded to this review

I am really sorry you didn´t find our accomodations to your standards...I would like to explain to you that we decided not to put a sign outside the hostel for your own safety; you are more free to get in and out without people knowing it is a hostel.... When you contact us directly or we receive a reservation, I... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

After a very long bus ride from Nicaragua, we had booked to stay at JoAn's due to the location being near the Zona Rosa area. I had actually booked the wrong night on the hostel website and after I had received a prompt welcome email from Ana I noticed this and requested the change of date which she accomodated straight... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mitz_85
analuisa67, Owner at Joan's Hostel, responded to this review

thank you so much for your comments! we are here to help and to service you! ana More 

NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

I really wanted to give a 4 or 5 to this place after I left my passport and they were very helpful in getting it back to me. But ultimately I was not totally satisfied with the hostel largely due to the price. On my first night I paid$13 for a perfectly average dorm that usually should cost $8-10 in... More 

Helpful?
Thank ross w
analuisa67, Owner at Joan's Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Ross, Thank you so much for your comments! we take serious what you have to say about us...and we try to fix what needs to be better. We are all the time trying to keep the hostel clean and service you the best way possible. I am sorry about the misunderstanding it could have happened while your girlfriend came... More 

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Salvador hotels
3.1 km away
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
Hotel La Posada Del Angel
#9 of 52 in San Salvador
108 reviews
5.6 km away
Hotel Armonia Hostal
Hotel Armonia Hostal
#17 of 52 in San Salvador
25 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Las Magnolias
Hotel Las Magnolias
#10 of 52 in San Salvador
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel
Arbol de Fuego Eco-Hotel
#14 of 52 in San Salvador
63 reviews
1.6 km away
Barcelo San Salvador
Barcelo San Salvador
#3 of 52 in San Salvador
556 reviews
1.7 km away
Sheraton Presidente San Salvador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Joan's Hostel

Address: Calle del Mediterraneo 12 | Colonia Jardines de Guadalupe, San Salvador, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > San Salvador Department > San Salvador
Price Range: €13 - €35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Joan's Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Joan's Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“private rooms as well as 4 bed dorms quiet and with fan”
 of 5 bubbles ggravino, 2 Oct 2015 | Read review
“dormitory has only 4 beds..one has its own bathroom.. there are lockers”
 of 5 bubbles 684mariec, 11 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles xuelanz, 8 Jan 2014 | Read review
“The dorm with the ensuite bathroom faces the street, so it's not as quiet as the other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles smartcooki, 3 Jan 2014 | Read review
“I had room 4 and it was comfy and quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles International_Mel, 17 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay