We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Aurora\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

64 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Start your review of Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages
 Click to rate
Prestonsburg, Kentucky
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Stayed here for the first time in December of 2016 and was so satisfied with the clean rooms, the very friendly staff. Have already booked again for a weekend in JAN 2017 and a full week in December 2017. Steve Buckley Prestonsburg, Ky

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevebuckleyrn
KYLakeCottages, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Steve, THANK YOU so much for your encouraging words and review. We sure appreciate your business and your taking time out of your busy day to let other know what you think about our place. We look forward to seeing you again soon! :) Best Regards, Dave & Jaymi Tarnowski

Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Nice quiet cottages with plenty of room to move around. Big kitchens for everyone to eat in. New appliances in the kitchens. Only complaint would be not much room for the toilet in the bathroom, but I could deal with that. Will definitely be back for another stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cristy B
KYLakeCottages, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review for our place - it means a lot to us. We certainly appreciate your business and we hope to see you again in the future. Best Regards, (Dave &) Jaymi

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in cabin #25 over Labor Day weekend, which is an older trailer, which we were informed before booking that it was nothing fancy. We were able to arrive after hours and check in/pay the next morning. There was ample parking for vehiclrs and our boat. Everything worked and we were able to sleep a lot of people comfortably....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
KYLakeCottages, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

So sorry for the delay in posting a reply. We had written a response but it had our web site, so it was denied and we didn't realize it - sorry! So... THANK YOU for such a nice review of our place. We appreciate you taking the time to post it on our behalf, letting people know you were pleased....

Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

Just arrived home from a four wheeling trip at Land Between the Lakes and we stayed at Kentucky Lake Cottages mobile home #24 it is an older mobile home but very nice we were a group of 7 and everyone had plenty of room for sleeping and lounging around spoke with one of the owner's and they were very friendly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
KYLakeCottages, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We appreciate your business and your letting others know as well. Thanks again for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, Dave & Jaymi

Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend. When I called the only cabin big enough to reserve for what I was wanting was mobile home 24. When I talked to Jamie she said up front on the phone that it was a fisherman cabin and that a lot of ladies were not happy in it. I asked if the air...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jamie B
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Jamie, thank you for taking the time to write your review. You were actually in Mobile Home #25, which is indeed usually reserved by our hunters and fishermen that like lots of bedrooms, but not as "plush" as our cottages. So glad you liked Cottage #7 -- give us a call earlier next time and we'd love to have you...

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

The pictures do not reflect the condition of this place. We stayed in house trailer 24. We rented this because we had 6 people in our group. I have stayed in some really bad places over the course of my lifetime and world travel. This place should be Condemned! The whole place stunk to no end. They place air freshers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave S
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Wow. We are shocked by your scathing "review". We wouldn't even respond except that we want people to be able to hear what we have to say as well. First of all, I took the pictures you see on our web site THIS YEAR. They are not old but rightfully depict what we have to offer. We use air fresheners...

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

My family and I just spent a long weekend in one of the mobile home units. Last bit of fun before school starts. We had a wonderful time and the unit was nice, plenty of room for a family of 5 and a couple of quests from time to time. We had a minor issue and it was repaired immediately....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chadconley
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Chad, Thank you so much for a great review! So happy you had a nice time here -- we appreciate your staying with us. Hope to see you again! Best Regards to you and yours! :o)

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately the whole cabin had a terribile pee smell and I couldn't sleep because of that. The bathroom was dirty, with pee stains. The funiture was very nice, it could have been a perfect stay but the price was way too high for what you get. The surroundings were quiet and the position good. Jaymie is super nice and kind....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScarlettOhara82
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

We are so sorry you had a bad experience here with us. The smell in that cottage was from the carpets that had just been cleaned. Apparently not enough of the water was extracted - when that happens, sometimes we can get a temporary bad smell. We have passed on your concerns regarding the bathroom to housekeeping. It was certainly...

Cypress
Reviewed 10 August 2016

AWESOME!!!!! We spent 10 days in cottage 6 this summer and let me tell you, our family had a great stay. We enjoyed using the crystal clear pool every day and loved playing pool and ping pong at the game shelter. The FREE wifi was a big hit with the teenagers we had with us. This was not our first...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Angela R
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Oh my goodness ~ it's people like y'all that keep us going year after year! THANK YOU so much for the WONDERFUL review, but even more for your continued support and kindness! We certainly do not take it for granted! We're SO GLAD you had a nice time here with us again. Your favorite cottage has been upgraded with new...

Reviewed 31 July 2016

We came for a long weekend with friends and our kids before everyone has to head back to school. We booked a place at the cottages because it was cost effective and close to everything we wanted to do. Given the cost per night, we didn't expect perfection, but we also didn't expect to find a used diabetic needle stick...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
1opinion4u, Owner at Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages, responded to this review

Ashley, I am so sorry you had a negative experience at our resort. Contrary to what you said, we were concerned that you said you were stuck with a needle - you were never told not to worry about it by either of us. Dave spent considerable time researching what would need to be done, but you had already done...

16 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aurora
1.7 km away
Kenlake State & Resort Park
0.3 km away
Early American Motel
Early American Motel
#1 of 2 in Aurora
27 reviews
28.0 km away
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
#1 of 6 in Gilbertsville
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 km away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
160 reviews
29.3 km away
Wingfield Inn
Wingfield Inn
#3 of 6 in Gilbertsville
17 reviews
31.4 km away
Americas Best Value Inn- Land Between The Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are family owned and operated. We offer Motel Rooms and Large Cottages with full kitchens. Amenities are high-speed internet, swimming pool with slide, volleyball, pool table, ping pong, air hockey, horseshoes, shuffleboard, Kids' play set, charcoal grills, picnic tables, fish cleaning station, electrical hook-ups, and Excellent parking! We're only 1/2 mile from the 160,000 acre Kentucky Lake and 170,000 acre Land Between the Lakes, offering: 500 hundred miles of hike & bike trails, Elk & Bison Prairie, Nature Station, 1850's Homeplace, Wranglers' Riding Stables, 2,350 acre Turkey Bay OHV and MORE! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages

Address: 16918 US Highway 68 E, Aurora, KY 42048-9340 (Formerly Aurora's Ken Oak Resort)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Aurora
Price Range: €95 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora`s Ken Oak Hotel Aurora
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aurora's Kentucky Lake Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Honestly - rooms were fine, but I was not in there much. I was out and about with the family.”
 of 5 bubbles dianeg632, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you are not sure about which cottage is right for you, give them a call. They are always ready to help.”
 of 5 bubbles 63melodyn, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“clean rooms, free wifi, near the lake,”
 of 5 bubbles andrewhI8228DR, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“cabins 3&4 and cabins 5&6 have adjoining doors that makes it great for families”
 of 5 bubbles angelar861, 30 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay in the cottages.”
 of 5 bubbles 845tm, 11 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5