We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Retaj Moroni Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Retaj Moroni Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 54: English reviews
Start your review of Retaj Moroni Hotel
 Click to rate
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 11 February 2017

It took almost one hour from the airport to the hotel by taxi going on bad road. Taxi passed the plaza located at the city center and then to the hotel. I stayed for one night. There is a big site and exclusive coast with lava, then there's no beach to swim. After taking a rest, I visited the plaza...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tadahiro H
RetajMoroni, Manager at Retaj Moroni Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tadahiro H, Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. I reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us at Retaj Moroni.nts, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. I was sorry to note that you were not informed that Retaj Hotels & Hospitality have the concept of ‘dry’...

Stoke Mandeville, Bucks
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Pros - Reasonably large and well appointed room - A bath with lots of hot water - Lovely setting - Good A/C - Friendly, helpful staff Cons - Damp on the ceilings, especially in the bathroom (room 110) - An outdoor restaurant that could really do with fans - Murky water in the swimming pool; it would be better off...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GregfWatts
RetajMoroni, Manager at Retaj Moroni Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GregfWatts, Thank you for the very helpful review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Retaj Moroni and for your appreciation of the facilities and our staff friendliness. On another note, as a management team, we take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, so we may resolve any...

Valletta, Malta
Reviewed 17 May 2016

This is one of only two hotels available in Moroni but not an option unless you don’t mind staying in a shabby hotel. The hotel is in a dire need of a good refurbishment because everything is dated and in a state of disrepair. The size of the hotel rooms is standard but the furniture is very basic and dated....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank JonP64
RetajMoroni, Manager at Retaj Moroni Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were sorry to learn your concerns regarding your recent stay at Retaj Moroni and at the outset, would like to offer our sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed. We trust you will accept that the difficulties you experience are certainly not reflective of our normal standards....

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Hotel was okay, Mosquitoes will bother you if you open the door after 5pm. Breakfast just okay and as lunch and dinner. But Manager was very helpful. I came late night one day, person at front desk was very helpful to arrange small dinner at 12am when i said am hungry. These things matter most. I like this place for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Suresh P
RetajMoroni, Manager at Retaj Moroni Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Psureshrao, Thank you for your review following your recent stay at Retaj Moroni. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and thanks for your appreciation note to our night staff. Our staff is trained to go the extra mile. It's always gratifying to know that the service delivered is been recognised. We look...

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Our experience with the Retaj Moroni was exceptional, beginning with the fact that we had booked a single room with twin beds and upon arrival received a two room suite with two bathrooms and king-size beds at no additional cost! What a surprise. The staff and General Manager Ben Karoo are clearly committed to a positive customer experience. During our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dischick2016
RetajMoroni, Manager at Retaj Moroni Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay at Retaj Moroni. We were very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received, and for opportunity given to us to assist you. Your...

Ballito, South Africa
Reviewed 4 April 2016

If this hotel was anywhere else, I'd rate it "poor"; but considering its in Moroni, one of the poorest places on earth, its actually quite acceptable. It's clean, and has some nice amenities such as a lovely pool area, a gym and decent WiFi. The sea is exceptional, but don't expect a beach, it's all volcanic rock which is really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank BarGrob
RetajMoroni, Manager at Retaj Moroni Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BarGrob, Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay at Retaj Moroni. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the facilities of the hotel. Thanks once again, we look foward to welcome you again Yours sincerely The Management

Bethlehem, South Africa
Reviewed 15 January 2016

The room was big enough and clean. I had some problems with the a/c, but that was sorted (THANK YOU!). The bathroom was ok, although the shower curtain tend to stick to your legs. The pizzas was GREAT! The staff is friendly and helpful if they can assist. They can even change local money into Euros. The pool was filled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BhmTraveller
RetajMoroni, Manager at Retaj Moroni Hotel, responded to this review

Dear BhmTraveller, We were delighted to hear that you had a great wonderful stay with us Retaj Moroni. It was nice to hear that your problem was soon resolved. Thanks also for your compliments with regard to the friendliness and helpfulness of th staff, they work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. On another note, we take note...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 18 November 2015

The Moroni is one of the few options to stay in Comoros. While the surroundings are quite nice, as the hotel is right in front of the beach, the rooms are really poor. The initial room I was proposed was located upstairs, had a small window, was poorly maintained and smelled of cleaning products. The rooms downstairs feel better, as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GiselaHenrique
RetajMoroni, Manager at Retaj Moroni Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GiselaHenrique, Thank you for staying with us recently. I was sorry to learn of your concerns regarding your stay and at the outset, would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed. I trust you will accept that the difficulties you experienced are certainly not reflective of our normal standards. Please be assured that the...

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 27 October 2015

no alcohol was feel good for me that I had to experience it with one time at least. Decent staff and rooms are clean and nice, wifi has some connectivity issue some time .over all it was a great experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonamol
RetajMoroni, Manager at Retaj Moroni Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sonamol, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other visitors on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I would like to thank you for letting us, and also for appreciating our dry hotel concept. We look forward to welcome you again Yours sincerely The Management

Doha, Qatar
Reviewed 27 October 2015

after many negative reviews i found some good reviews also .so i decided to try here.it was good for me,very decent staff with reasonable and good facilities.as many peoples experience i cannt see mosquito here.very quit and refurbishment work will provide outstanding look

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jocy2015
RetajMoroni, Manager at Retaj Moroni Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jocy2015, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your experience following tour recent stay at Retaj Moroni. We were very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received, and also with all the...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Near Retaj Moroni Hotel

Top-rated Attractions Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome (Karibu) to the heart of the Comoros, and the remarkable Retaj Moroni, which is perfectly situated close to all the cultural attractions and business centers. Nestled in the shadow of the volcano on the expansive Island beachfront, nature-lovers, adventurers, families and honeymooners will discover a world apart. With the world of discovery that awaits, from the breathtaking views from our rooms and suites, to our famous pizza and the savory local sea food, you may never want to leave. If you are here for business, our hotel in Moroni is the perfect location as it is situated to all major local and international business centres, and close to the house of Parliament. Conference/Events organizers will be delighted with all our 6 meeting rooms including audio video facilities for the organisation of workshops, meeting, banqueting and outside catering. Retaj Moroni will take you out of your world and welcome you to ours. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Retaj Moroni Hotel

Address: Avenue Ali Soilihi | BP 2502, Moroni, Grande Comore, Comoros (Formerly Hotel Le Moroni)
Region: Comoros > Grande Comore > Moroni
Price Range: €95 - €163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Retaj Moroni Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Retaj Moroni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Retaj Moroni Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Retaj Moroni Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“almost the same (no bath tub)”
 of 5 bubbles TadahiroH, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“As far away as possible from renovations.”
  • Cracked Vanity
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles BhmTraveller, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
“get the downstairs rooms, with the terrace.”
 of 5 bubbles GiselaHenrique, 18 Nov 2015 | Read review
“2nd floor is better for the views of the ocean”
 of 5 bubbles futisaba, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Try the rooms on the ground floor as they have a huge French windows & grant access to lawn.”
 of 5 bubbles Rohanm84, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5