We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN River Cities

4.1 km from Ashland centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
31 Russell Plaza Dr, Ashland, KY 41101-7082
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT AND SAVE
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

171 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 171: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN River Cities
 Click to rate
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Will stay again when in the area. Excellent value. I travel a lot for business and was very pleasantly surprised at how comfortable the bed was.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank j11smith
MParlin228, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

Tarpon Springs, Florida
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I selected Best Western due to its proximity to my work site, but have cancelled for future weeks of my project in the area, and prefer staying 30-minutes away. Overall I found the property, accommodations, staff, and breakfast to be sub-par. On the cusp of assigning a "poor" rating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jfgaff
MParlin228, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you have us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future....

Burlington, Kentucky
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I were visiting family in the area and spent two nights here. I wish I could take that mattress and pillow home with me. I got the best night's sleep here in months. Came downstairs one evening and discovered "cookie hour" where they had soft drinks or coffee and freshly baked cookies. There went my diet. Impressed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pamelab98631
MParlin228, General Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

huntingdon, tn
Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I booked at this hotel to visit my husband who is working in the area. This is one of the nicest, cleanest hotel I had stayed in. The staff and management was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, love the state of art cappuccino machine. We definately recommend this hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank heritageinn1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My daughter and I travel alot on the weekends and this was nicest hotel we have stayed in and it looked new. The people were friendly and helpful. The bed and pillows were comfortable. It was also very clean. The fitness center was great as well as a continental hot breakfast. We will definitely be back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brandi E
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We booked this room while traveling to visit family. I always check for bedbugs when we travel, and am glad I do! Today, I asked my husband to check the mattress and low and behold....BUGS! We immediately left, asked to speak to front desk personnel in private, received a refund, and had to find another hotel. I hate to make...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jamie W
tabbott, Owner at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review

After the guest complained we immediately contacted our pest control company who inspected and treated the room. The room has been certified as perfectly clean.

allentown, pa, United States
Reviewed 20 August 2016

I spent four nights at the Best Western River Cities in August 2016. Although the hotel was undergoing some renovations, everything about the hotel was satisfactory. I used the guest computer in the business center extensively, and experienced no problems. The breakfast was excellent.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James M
tabbott, Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

Midland
Reviewed 17 August 2016

I chose this hotel on the spur of the moment for a night's stay. despite the lobby being remodeled--the rest of the hotel was quiet and clean. with modern amenities. desk staff was friendly and helpful. complimentary breakfast was good. Room had very comfortable recliner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
tabbott, Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

Valrico, Florida
Reviewed 24 July 2016

River Cities Best Western was the closest to my family, so it was the hotel of choice when I made my booking. The entire staff was very welcoming and quick to help with any questions. Definitely would recommend to anyone visiting the Ashland/Greenup area.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brapczyn
tabbott, Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

Horseheads, United States
Reviewed 16 July 2016

This hotel is in the center of town, but easy to get to. The room was nice size and beds comfortable. The fridge/micro was off the bathroom, which made it a bit awkward but it was doable. The staff was very helpful with a room mix up. Breakfast was plentiful.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deborah W
tabbott, Manager at BEST WESTERN River Cities, responded to this review

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ashland
12.8 km away
Hampton Inn Ashland
Hampton Inn Ashland
#1 of 10 in Ashland
333 reviews
11.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Ashland
12.9 km away
Days Inn Ashland
Days Inn Ashland
#5 of 10 in Ashland
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Ironton
13.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ashland
13.8 km away
Ramada Limited Catlettsburg/Ashland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to BEST WESTERN River Cities! Situated off Country Music Highway US 23, the BEST WESTERN River Cities is an affordable and comfortable Ashland hotel for business and leisure travel, plus it offers convenient access to AK Steel, Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital, Russell Railroad Days and more. Guests of the BEST WESTERN River Cities will find that each well-appointed guestroom comes complete with all the comforts of home, including cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. For a great start to the day, a complimentary deluxe hot breakfast is served to hotel guests every morning, and for a great end to the evening, a "cookie break" is offered each night. The on-site outdoor heated swimming pool is a great way to relax and the fully equipped fitness center is the perfect way to get a workout in while traveling on the road. Business and corporate travelers will also enjoy this Ashland hotel's on-site business center, meeting and banquet space that can accommodate up to 100 people, complimentary airport and train station shuttle service and close proximity to area businesses and medical centers, including AK Steel, Our Lady of Bellefonte Hospital, Kings Daughters Medical Center and CSX. Just outside this hotel in Ashland, guests will find plenty of things to do and experience, including downtown Ashland, the Paramount Arts Center and more. In addition, Ashland is also home to popular festivals and events, including the Greenup County Horse Show, Russell Railroad Days, Greenbo Antique Show and Poage Landing Days. Greenup County is also the only county that has two Congressional Medal of Honor winners. No matter what you're traveling to or through Ashland, Kentucky for, the BEST WESTERN River Cities will make your stay truly memorable and enjoyable. Book a stay online and save today on a hotel that features real Southern hospitality, comfortable accommodations and affordable rates. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN River Cities

Address: 31 Russell Plaza Dr, Ashland, KY 41101-7082
Region: United States > Kentucky > Ashland
Price Range: €98 - €110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN River Cities 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN River Cities reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ashland
Ashland Best Western
Best Western Hotel Ashland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN River Cities staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN River Cities staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the hideous industrial view and select an odd numbered room.”
  • River View
 of 5 bubbles jfgaff, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I chose a ground floor room with easy access from pool entrance--this was due to lobby being torn up for remodel”
 of 5 bubbles BRIANF352, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“more than one story if you have a problem not being ground level”
 of 5 bubbles Boeschy, 6 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Odd numbered rooms face the rear and MAY be slightly less noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles J3571BTmikem, 25 May 2016 | Read review
“choose second or third floor rooms it's much more peaceful up there and there is no commotion from all the dog rooms on the first floor”
 of 5 bubbles 635isaiahh, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5