We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Tambua Sands

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Tambua Sands
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

313 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tambua Sands
See the most recent reviews
Showing 299: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We were glad to stay for 8 nights as it was a perfect place to do nothing other than two days to visit the Eco Park (fantastic) and eat out elsewhere. The beach is lovely as are the gardens and it is possible to walk for 30 mins along the beach both East and West, into the sunset! We took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nzmermaidnz
Wayne A, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula vinaka ... I think Sally and Alan ? Sally ... the mermaid ? The word "grubby" is a word i think my new friend Sally would use ? Well yes ... the bathrooms were tired .. and we acknowledged that you were uncomfortable with this and moved you to one of our suites. However as you saw while you...

Reviewed 30 August 2016

As we were in that resort, we have been the only guests at all. that was very weird and surprising but we were very vomfortable with that. The staff is very friendly and helpful, the bungalows clean and good. You are not able to swim at the beach because of the rocks but you can have a great canoeing tour....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maniac_84
Wayne A, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka Maniac ... We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay a Tambua Sands. Yes sometimes the beach wash is an issue with coral .. that is why be have a full time beach boy on the beach daily and when the big waves come in on the tides although spectacular we have to have a team come...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 August 2016

We were lucky to get to spend almost two weeks at the laid back, get away from it all, family friendly resort that is Tambua Sands. First of all the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly, we were always greeted with a 'Bula' and a smile. Nothing was a hassle and our holiday was spent trouble free. Settling in to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thegreatpanzini
Wayne A, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka ...The Great Panzini .. If you could paint a physical picture of what we are about .. this is it. Nicely done ! Welcoming, Bula, no hassles, Fiji time, cocktails,Food,Snorkel, swim, activities,3 star Barefoot resort right on the beach, that is reasonably priced and has great vibes and lots of crabs .. but don't forget the frog racing...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived here not knwing wht to find? As we checked in and discovered that this place is very nice indeed. Rooms are nice and clean and is right in front of the ocean. We had breakfast and it was very nice nothing to complain abt. This place is abt 19kms away from the town so a car is very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ron P
Wayne A, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula Ron .. and many thanks for your comments.... As we have just been in correspondence with you over a possible refund for you late cancelled .. last night at Tambua, we are very pleased you took a minute to shoot through the positives in your stay with us at Tambua Sands. Your late cancellation and policy concerning refunds is...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We chose the resort as it wasn't a multi-storey hotel. The bures were acceptable but in need of renovation. Their location right on the beach was fantastic. Staff were friendly and helpful. There were serious issues with security and noise. 2 bures were robbed while the guest were asleep, losing all money, cards etc. Management wasn't helpful, no offer of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank wotafrog
Wayne A, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula and vinaka for your comments... Firstly thank you for recognising the crew.. and also the fact we are a barefoot resort with a low entry rate for such a great experience. We are however sorry that you did not enjoy the overall experience of being at Tambua Sands and we note with interest that you have also sighted an...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Ok. Let me put it out there up front. If you want a 5 star resort try the Shangri-la. Tambua doesn't pretend to be this type of resort ao don't complain when you pay next to nothing for accommodation and then find that you dont get silver service. However if you are looking for a relaxing escape to unwind and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Wayne A, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

WOOOW!!! go for it ....(Ok. Let me put it out there up front !!!) you certainly did .. and many thanks from us all ... at Tambua Sands Resort. Great comments and every sentence a gem.. you have so got us .. We are that Tambua Sands in every way. We are upgrading as we go .. today we have...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 August 2016

What's not to love - bure almost on the beach, delightful staff, dinners as good as any decent restaurant in Melbourne, good snorkling right up to the waters edge,clean comfy rooms, very good beds, Wayne the manager super efficient and loads of fun, just a shame the weather was wet the whole time we were there but we'll be back....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yvonne285
Wayne A, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Vinaka vakalevu Yvonne .. That is a big thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor.. We do have the odd bit of indifference in expectations from some of our guests.. but we are pleased that yours were meet, and that you arrived with no pretense of what Tambua Sands is ... or isn't .. We offer exactly how you have described...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 August 2016

What an amazing find Tambua Sands is, we stayed a week and could have stayed longer. Its an unplugged joy. We stayed in room two, dozed off to the sounds of the ocean and woke up in paradise every day.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julznz
Wayne A, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula Julz .. Many thanks for dropping a note on TripAdvisor... In a nutshell you have it .. Tambua is a great place to "Eat Play and stay".. with lots of things to do including "nothing at all" ...Just relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings the resort offers. Thank you for joining the Tambua Sands Resort family and we look...

Reviewed 16 August 2016

This was our first time here. Our beach side bure was clean, comfortable and tidy. Food at the restaurant was superb apart from the tough sirloin steak we ordered one night. Also the menu could do with a bit more variety for those staying longer as there are no other nearby restaurants. Good value for money overall.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank To'oala T
Wayne A, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka Edina and Alex... Thank you so much for taking the time to write on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you got the Tambua vibe.. and enjoyed our resort to its fullest. The menu selection changes four or five items nightly ...but we do have firm favorite items which we tend to repeat at our guests request. Important to note...

Armidale, Australia
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Absolutely lover the stay at the Tambua Sands, it was home style service, food and homely bure's. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxed atmosphere and comfortable rooms. We were disappointed that we hadn't booked the Tambua for the whole week in Fiji, we know for next time. The local taxi service offered by the Tambua are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nathan G
Wayne A, Manager at Tambua Sands, responded to this review

Bukla Vinaka Nathan.. Thank you so much for your positive comments. The great thing about Tambua is that you can go anywhere .. a day out to the Yasawas, or fishing ( we will cook your catch), golfing, surfing, treaking, water falls , zip-lining, white water rafting, shopping.. to name a few ...all from Tambua .. At the end of...

422 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (356)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (80)
Viewed
View from Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (177)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
1.5 km away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
910 reviews
19.2 km away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
18.9 km away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 km away
Gecko's Resort
Gecko's Resort
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
306 reviews
24.7 km away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
472 reviews
1.0 km away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on 17 pristine acres on the breathtaking Coral Coast of Fiji, Tambua Sands Beach Resort is a South Pacific escape for the soul. Bathe in the warm South Pacific waters, relax on a white sand beach, and articlee in to our blue lagoon and fresh water pool. Discover a romantic vacation getaway, where you are free to relax, indulge, play, eat, celebrate and fall in love at our spectacular Fiji luxury resort ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tambua Sands

Address: Queen's Highway | Coral Coast, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Price Range: €78 - €105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tambua Sands 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Tambua Sands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tambua Sands Sigatoka
Tambua Sands Hotel Sigatoka
Tambua Sands Fiji/Sigatoka
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#5 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tambua Sands staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Tambua Sands staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get the bungalows with a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles V3908CSpetert, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Bura 21. See the beach and see the garden all in one and not near the road.”
 of 5 bubbles 541junef, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Recommend the spacious Honeymoon villa with plunge pool, air con and outdoor shower. Booking is via request.”
 of 5 bubbles , 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We would recommend ocean front bures. They offer such a beautiful view!”
 of 5 bubbles FionaG302, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a beach bure its extra but worth it”
 of 5 bubbles keithba55, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay