We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Islander Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Islander Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Islander Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Abbotsford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2015 via mobile

We were taken to the restaurant by some local friends. The food was pretty authentic to the island...I think we went on a Friday night. We had cheap drinks at the hoola bar and ate the buffet dinner in the restaurant. We were all stuffed! Then, they had a dance, drum and fire show around the pool. These dancers were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sony72
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals, cheap drinks at the Hula Bar and the cultural show around the pool. We hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2015

We went to Islander for dinner last week Thursday and they were hosting the Woman of the Month that night. It was a busy night - but the staffs were very attentive. We got to be a part of this celebration and it was lovely. Our meal was top notch. Best steak I've had in a long time. The atmosphere... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chardanay1
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to host the monthly Woman of the Month program to recognise Cook Islands women who make outstanding contributions to our country. It is only fitting that we offer a great value meal deal for the families that support this worthy cause. We hope to see you again, soon. Kia Manuia. More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
183 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

We went here for a birthday dinner on a Thursday evening. As so often happens with groups, there were only 8 of us, you simply receive poorer service overall. The meals came out all at different times, most of them barely warm as they seemed not to be able to manage cooking times at all well. Some of us had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevinfrancis65
cbrmanager, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, We are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. A table of 8 is quite manageable, however, if the restaurant is full, then service timing would be stretched and delayed. Regardless, our wait staff should have kept you in the loop about potential kitchen delays. We continue our service training programs to ensure issues like... More 

Cronulla, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2015

We stopped in at The Islander Hotel for lunch one day, it's a great spot on the beach and we were really surprised with how good the food was. We had the Ika Mata and the grilled prawn salad and both were great, highly recommend. Drinks at the happy hour bar are also $3.50. Good afternoon.

Helpful?
1 Thank bellesd2015
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us. Kia Manuia. More 

Brisbane Region, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

Within walking distance (literally 5 minutes) of Rarotonga International Airport. Clean, neat, Island-laid-back style. Instant relaxation after long flights. On-beach bar and poolside dining. Roomy, spaceous 'family' bedroom suitable for two business travellers, with ocean view. Wifi and phone, fridge, electric jug and comfortable beds. Clean but needing a refurb. Staff very friendly and knowledeable. Rental agents for motor scooters... More 

Helpful?
Thank Slamdunk0810
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We will be upgrading & refurbishing early 2017. The new look rooms and hotel will be fantastic. We hope to see you and your friends again. Kia Manuia. More 

1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

I really should have read more reviews about this property it wasn't suitable for our infant, the Hula bar was always full Mostly of what seemed liked locals kind of made us feel uncomfortable and the swimming pool being right in the middle Of the dining are made us too shy to swim In front of diners. The food was... More 

Helpful?
Thank harmonyandavahntay
cbrmanager, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, We are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals at our restaurant. Our local patrons are very friendly and engaging and will share many fascinating stories about their islands. We hope you return to holiday in the beautiful Cook Islands and stay at one of... More 

Travellers are raving about these Avarua hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We chose this hotel’s dinner and cultural show because they advertised it on a voucher for $49 each which is much cheaper than most of the other cultural shows around the island. There is another hotel that does a show and meal inexpensively but their reviews are terrible. We thoroughly enjoyed this evening. It was well organised, the staff were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank journeyexpressions
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your Tuesday Island Night Buffet & Dynamic Cultural Show for $49 adults & $20 children under 12yrs. Kia Manuia. More 

Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Our hosts dropped us off here prior to our flight to Aitutaki and our flight home. The restaurant food is okay, the pizza is decent but not fantastic. The fish was good. The happy hour they advertise is good only at the bar area which includes a few seats at the bar, picnic tables as well as lounge chairs. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jen441985
cbrmanager, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, We are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We will continue to improve our pizzas by giving patrons more options on the amount of cheese topping provided; as well as fillings etc. We are pleased to read that your enjoyed your fish meal option. We hope you return to holiday in the beautiful Cook... More 

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2015

This place is directly across the road from the airport - it is literally a two minute walk so no need to buy into the $30 'airport transfer' service. It seems like a converted backpackers - the rooms are basic and amenities somewhat sporadic (the first day the wifi network was down, the next day no running water...). All the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanna S
cbrmanager, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana, We are sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Return airport transfers are $15pp. Wifi ocassionally drops out - we have a monopoly supplier. Water shortages have been commonplace this year - Rarotonga is suffering a drought. We truck in water when the water mains run dry. We hope you return to holiday in the... More 

San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2015

I discovered this hotel actually on the Rarotonga Airport website and learned that they had day use rooms. We had 8 hours to kill between flights, and after our 10-hour flight from LAX, needed to rest, eat, and grab a shower. We walked over from the airport with our bags (about a 5 minute walk). They were full, but managed... More 

Helpful?
Thank HI_bOund_SD
RPTE, Owner at The Islander Hotel, responded to this review

Kia Orana. Thank you for your review. We will be removing all louvered windows and installing sound proof glass - the result should be peace and quiet in all our guest rooms. We will also upgrade and refurbish our rooms early 2017. Kia Manuia. More 

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avarua
7.4 km away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
496 reviews
9.3 km away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
6.8 km away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
3.2 km away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
156 reviews
3.6 km away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Islander Airport Hotel is a great value for money 3 star beachfront hotel directly across the road from Rarotonga International Airport on the waterfront featuring 13 Cabanas, Coco Grill Restaurant, Tiki Bar, pool, outdoor dining, sandy beach, daily sunsets, low-cost wifi, Sky Sports on Big Screen, Live bands and unpretentious island style service from a team of dedicated Islanders. Our HULA bar on the beach offers all day happy hour from 11am to 11pm Mon to Sun with NZD3.50 beers, spirits, wines and soft drinks. Bring your own music with our 'U-DJ' product. Great for friends and family who wish to soak in Rarotonga's warm sunshine with cold cold drinks! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Islander Hotel

Address: Beach Road, Avarua 0682, Cook Islands (Formerly Aquarius Rarotonga)
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Avarua
Price Range: €106 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Islander Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Islander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Rarotonga Avarua
The Islander Hotel Cook Islands/Avarua, Rarotonga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Islander Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
New Plymouth, New Zealand
over a year ago
Southern Cook Islands, Cook Islands
5 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Islander Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms very nice”
 of 5 bubbles doleyt, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Happy hour seems to go all day at the outdoor bar? Great sunsets. Take your camera”
 of 5 bubbles Rustyjamtin, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“It's a airport hotel, don't expect much but is very convenient”
 of 5 bubbles Soft1962, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Did not stay at this hotel, just visited it for meals.”
 of 5 bubbles Sher577, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Didn't stay sorry!”
 of 5 bubbles Ando-of-Aus, 19 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay