We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Islander Hotel

225 reviews
Save
Traveller (124)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (19)
Overview
  • Excellent25%
  • Very good31%
  • Average29%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Hotel
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (225)Write a Review
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
52
62
60
17
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
52
62
60
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadisland nightclose to the airportcheap drinksbetween flightsairport hotelshort stayseafood platterflight homewithin easy walking distanceswimming poolhappy hourouter islandsthanks guysbuffet dinnercrusted chickenhour layover
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We paid $25 to have our bags stored while waiting for our Jetstar flight. We later decided to rent a room (they had a bunch spare) for $184 which is fine, but when I asked about refunding the bag fee (or reducing the room rate...More

Thank jessearcher
Reviewed 6 January 2018

We had visited The Islander on a previous trip to Raro, mainly to have a few boat drinks at the Hula Bar on the way to the airport, so we knew the hotel's location and what to expect. Our direct flight from Sydney arrived on...More

2  Thank Andy H
Response from RPTE, Owner at The Islander HotelResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for staying with us and enjoying food, beverages and our warm island hospitality. We hope to see you again, soon.

Reviewed 3 January 2018

We stayed here for 1 day while in transit at RAR, since we had a late night flight. The Islander is ~5 minutes walk from the airport, so it is very convenient. for approx US$100, we got a hotel room to store our luggage, shower,...More

Thank VivekSub
Response from RPTE, Owner at The Islander HotelResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for transiting with us. We hope you enjoyed your holiday in the Cook Islands.

Reviewed 28 December 2017

it was one of the highlight of our stay in Rarotonga, one of the cheapest dancing shows around, $49 each, very well organised, great staff, good food selection and plenty to eat, the show was very good, fire show included, which was a surprise, thank...More

Thank Cheferic1
Response from RPTE, Owner at The Islander HotelResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you for joining us for Island Night on Tuesdays - only $49pp. Top value for money!

Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile

Came for lunch at the restaurant. Waited 40 minutes more, no body cleans up our table. Our food has never arrived and we have to cancel for it. Awful experience! Good side is that you can store your luggage at the hotel with$5/piece charge.

Thank John W
Response from RPTE, Owner at The Islander HotelResponded 10 January 2018

We are sorry your meals took long to arrive your table. Our kitchen is very busy during lunch hour and key dinner times. We hope you give us another try in future. Kia Manuia.

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345641
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
Room Service
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Shuttle Bus Service
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Concierge
Banquet Room
Multilingual Staff
Conference Facilities
Babysitting
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$137 - US$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$137 - US$173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (124)
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (16)
Pool & Beach (8)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
wyotravels
2 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RPTE | Property representative |
We will still be open. Our expansion plans involve building more rooms upwards. General guest areas won't be affected. You are welcome to join us at the hotel.
0
Votes
loshell
28 January 2017|
Answer
Response from RPTE | Property representative |
We have deferred our renovations to December 2017. We have reopened rooms for sale throughout the year. Thank you.
0
Votes
Zaynah K
1 December 2016|
Answer
Response from RPTE | Property representative |
Yes - you can book online
0
Votes
PreviousNext
123
Room Tips
"Room 9 was fine :)"
Read review
"keep looking"
Read review
"If you can afford a little more than backbacking, this would be the place."
Read review
"Get a beachfront room"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing