We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 78: English reviews
Cuenca, Ecuador
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you decide to stay at Apartementos Otorongo, you win! We absolutely love this place for so many reasons! The apartments are perfect, clean and all we need to be comfortable. The grounds are just beautiful with orchids, flowers, fragrant lavender, and a musical water feature. We enjoy sitting by the river to feel the cool air coming off it....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gretchenvdc2017
Loja, Ecuador
Reviewed 1 week ago

we, a family of 4, stayed in hotels otorongo for a week. the staff were very friendly and attentive. the back room where we stayed had a window overlooking the Rio Tomebamba and you could go to sleep to the sound of the river. they also had a nice place to sit by the riverside (open only from 7 am...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drf3217
happyclimberecu, Propietario at Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review , we were quiete happy seeing your kids having such a blast in the Canyon. It was really nice to have you around All the best The Otorongo staff

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The apartment is on a busy dangerous street. Too much dog poop on the river side making it a place you don't want to spend any time. Bring your own everything including toilet paper. Apartment not very clean and the staff not too friendly. The grounds are poorly maintained. Disappointing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kari R
happyclimberecu, Propietario at Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo, responded to this review

I regret you have such a bad experience on Apartamentos Otorongo. I’m sorry but I found the title of your review really over the top. As coins have always two sides, here our version of the story. Our housekeeping staff tried to clean your apartment to make the beds, wipe the floor, put extra toilet paper and so on, and...

Reviewed 20 September 2016

It was a nice place near the river and they allow pets. They have a parking space for your car and the breakfast was really nice too (but you have to ask and it's an extra fee). It has a nice gardens at the back and in the middle of the apartments.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Madelyne V
happyclimberecu, Propietario at Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo, responded to this review

Thank you so much , for your wonderful comments, It was a pleasure to have you here

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We made this place our home base for a two week visit to Ecuador. We liked the fact that it was a budget friendly 2 bedroom apartment, where the adults and the kids had their own bedroom with a door. There was a kitchen, so we didn't always have to eat out for every meal. The staff was friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JulioJulia
happyclimberecu, Propietario at Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments , Microwaves are in our list , we will have them in all the apartments soon, we are half way trough. We had some up and downs with the internet while you were here I apologize for than issue , we had order a new router , back then. It is installed and working just fine...

Shasta Lake, California
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We went to Ecuador to visit my father. Since he did not have room at his place they found this hotel for us. We rented the two bedroom suite for 10 days and it was a perfect place for us to stay. The beds are very comfortable, the room and grounds are kept impeccably clean, plenty of hot water and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave2Fly
happyclimberecu, Propietario at Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful comments , we will love to have you back any time Warm regards, Xavier & Staff

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here twice. Once on our way down to the south of Ecuador and on our way back up. What really sets this place apart are the people who work here. They are very helpful and kind. Everyone from the owners to the staff are wonderful. They made us and our pup feel like we were at home, even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LMHeer
happyclimberecu, Propietario at Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo, responded to this review

Thanks for your wonderful comments, hope to have you back in the close future, all the best Xavier, Samara& Staff

Coos Bay, Oregon
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

Rooms were clean, staff was very friendly and helpful. Bed comfortable. Hot water...most of the time. Furnishings were a bit rustic, but no complaints. Completely out of water for one day and we were told it was because no one paid the bill while the owners were away. We were moved halfway through our stay which was a much bigger...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iamjoniwheeler
happyclimberecu, Propietario at Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking , the time to place your review. Regarding water , we have an automatic debit from the bank , so it is not posible to get the service to stop for that reason. How ever because of the Tram work we had had like 3 cuts in the las few week , we have a...

Reviewed 30 April 2016

We spent a week at this hotel on the bank of the river. It's an older building on two levels, built around a lovely garden and patio area. The property is gated and has parking for a few cars inside the gate. Our apartment was certainly spacious, with a nicely equipped kitchen and a private bath with hot water 24...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
happyclimberecu, Propietario at Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo, responded to this review

Dear Janet Thanks for your wonderful review, we specially appreciate that you highlight the broken pipe incident and the solution to the problem , that kind of thing happens everywhere, it is very nice from you to understand it . Replacing pipe end up meaning changing the entire bathroom tales , we couldn't fine the same color. it cost an...

Volcan, Panama
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

we stayed at one of Otorongo's apartments during our 12 day visit to Cuenca. The apartment was a few blocks to the center of Cuenca and from everything we needed during our stay. The place was clean, private, charming and safe. We highly recommend Otorongo. J & J (Canadian couple)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jorivers73
happyclimberecu, Propietario at Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your words, it was a pleasure to have you here, looking forward to have you back in the close future Xavier, Samara & Staff

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (57)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cuenca hotels
1.4 km away
Casa San Rafael
Casa San Rafael
#2 of 58 in Cuenca
400 reviews
1.4 km away
Hostal Villa Del Rosario
1.8 km away
Casa de las Rosas
Casa de las Rosas
#16 of 58 in Cuenca
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Los Balcones
Hotel Los Balcones
#4 of 58 in Cuenca
406 reviews
1.2 km away
Forum Hotel
Forum Hotel
#5 of 58 in Cuenca
218 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Victoria
Hotel Victoria
#6 of 58 in Cuenca
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Affordable furnished rental apartments providing the perfect base for you to explore Cuenca. Walking distance from downtown, markets, university, banks and entertainment. Happily run by the owners . pets are welcome ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo

Address: De Abril 5-40 y Guayas 12, Cuenca 010150, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Azuay Province > Cuenca
Price Range: €34 - €70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cuenca
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Apartamentos Otorongo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The river view rooms have a beautiful view, but can get chilly at night.”
 of 5 bubbles gretchenvdc2017, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“back room on river”
 of 5 bubbles drf3217, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms that have windows looking at the river are colder.”
 of 5 bubbles madelynev2016, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The rooms by the river can be a bit noisy, but you get used to it quickly and it's very pleasant hearing the water rushing by.”
 of 5 bubbles Dave2Fly, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Some of the apartments have more natural light than others, so ask about this when you make a reservation if it's important to you.”
 of 5 bubbles janetd90, 30 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay