We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Happy House Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Happy House Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

666 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Happy House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 April 2015

I had a great time staying here and I would not hesitate to come back again. I had a chance of cooking my own meal, meet a lot of nice people, and I don't have anything to complain except that some guest were untidy, but that's nothing you can do about it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dalmiro2015
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Dalmiro, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2015

This hostel is in a great central location - quiet street, close to the metro and round the corner from an excellent restaurant (Las Vacas Gordas). The hostel is in a beautiful old house with high ceilings, decorative plasterwork, garden with small pool. We had a large double room off the massive atrium after the reception desk; I don't know...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaygibson2010
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Kaygibson2010, We thank you for your feedback and the title of it. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment, however, we expected to get a better qualification from you, specially considering the nice things you`ve mentioned at the beginning of your review, despite the fact that people some times can be a bit noisy...

Boxtel
Reviewed 10 March 2015 via mobile

Positive things first: nice and clean facilities, beautiful house and spacious place. But.. We arrived at 10.00 and were told the room wasn't ready till 15.00 which was fine cause thats the check-in time. However, when we got back at 15.30 the room still wasn't ready and we had to wait till 16.15. A friend of us could only use...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lvdsteen
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Ivedsteen, Thanks for your feedback. We also appreciatte every single comment you`ve made in order to improve our services, however, I`d like to leave very clear that it`s not commun at all to get your room after 3 PM, it was unfortunately an unlucky situation because one of our housekeeper got sick and had to leave, which of course...

Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Sorry we only had one night here. The rooms were great, high ceilings, decorative plaster. Lots of people around, fine breakfast, easy access pool and activities organised by the hostel. Location is good aswell.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roisin P
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Roisin, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit (hopefully for more days for you to enjoy the hostel). Greetings from all the...

Reviewed 5 March 2015 via mobile

The Hostel is cheap, reasonably clean (although the floor could use som vacuuming) and the location is ok, 10 minutes to the center with the subway and a short walk to the station. But the best part is the awesome pool area out back with bunch of different lounge sections for lazy days in the sun! We had two different...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mcfille
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Mcfille, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Mississauga, Canada
Reviewed 2 March 2015

I probably wouldn't recommend staying at this place. The good things about it are the location, the rooms and backyard are spacious, there are a lot of activities to do on the property (swim, pool, table tennis, etc) and breakfast is one of the better ones I have had in South America. The areas for improvement are the staff. Every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica A
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jessica, We appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment. To be honest it`s very weird what you`ve written about our staff because their are our main pride, always being helpful and trying to provide the best service to every single guest as you can see on most of our reviews here. I`m also going to check...

Canada
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Great location. Awsome old building. Great lounge area in the back and a lot of friendly people passing through. Just remember, this is a hostal in an old echo-ey building. Think young people who like to have drinks. If you need absolute silence at night bring earplugs or stay someplace else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank redgnome
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Redgnome, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Our daughter stayed here for several days in February and while in Santiago had the unfortunate experience of having her purse stolen. The staff here was most helpful, especially Carlos ( Charlie), who went with her to the police station and gave her money to get to the Embassy. Over and above that, he came back early from time off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianne M
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Dianne, We are very glad to have helped your daughter. Thanks a lot for your comment, I`m pretty sure it means a lot for Charlie who`s done a great job. I hope you can make it to Santiago in the near future, we`ll be waiting for your visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Paris
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

This hostel is very pleasant, you have space to rest...on a coach or next to the swimming pool! The breakfast is a buffet very good with fruits, eggs, toast... Close to the Los Heroes subway station, very practical! I recommend it a lot, because I really enjoy my stay there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coralie_coralie
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Coralie, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit to our hostel. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Reviewed 16 February 2015

Great place to stay and good value for money accomodation. Great breakfast and staff were helpful. Also around 15 minute walk to city center. Thanks Happy Hostel. :-) Will definitely come back and stay again if possible. Cheers! Will and Mai

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tingloy123
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Tingloy 123, We are very happy to have received your great feedback. We also appreciate a lot the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

353 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#90 of 197 in Santiago
579 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#5 of 197 in Santiago
255 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 470 in Santiago
773 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 470 in Santiago
899 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#9 of 470 in Santiago
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Happy House Hostel An Oasis in the heart of Santiago. Located in Moneda Street in the middle of the historic part of the city and just steps from government palace, main square and the main tourist attractions of Santiago. Happy House Hostel offers a high quality service due to obtaining Q seal of quality the S seal of sustainability granted by SERNATUR (National Tourism Service of Chile), besides having an impressive infrastructure, facilities, long market experience and strong commitment of the staff with each of its guests. Our services are: Buffet breakfast, 24 hours of reception, free internet access (Wi Fi and stationary computers), safes in private rooms and lockers in dorms, tourist information and reservations for tours of the season, free luggage storage, laundry, mini bar at reception with 24 hour service of drinks, mineral water and beers, bilingual staff (Spanish - English), recreational and cultural activities (Dancing classes, Chilean BBQ, movie nights, free tours around town, etc.), bike rental, online bus tickets reservations, organization of transport services (only from the hostel to the airport or elsewhere), free national service calls from reception, book exchange, heating in rooms with private bathroom and common areas (winter season), late check out (asking for availability in advance at reception) and a lot more. Our facilities are: Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable and spacious terraces and living rooms, swimming pool, TV rooms with international signal, outside bar, entertainment area (pool table, tennis table, mini football table, chess table and table games), wine cellar with tasting sessions of national strains, BBQ area (including free use of grills) and a lot more. We wait for you :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Happy House Hostel

Address: Moneda 1829, Santiago 8340493, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: €19 - €63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Orbitz so you can book your Happy House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy House Hotel Santiago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Happy House Hostel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Happy House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The dorm room is fine for solo travelers -clean, quiet, safe.”
 of 5 bubbles Antonio8069, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There is something for everybody. We liked the colonial style rooms on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles keesv32, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nothing special to say about the room ”
 of 5 bubbles jeanfran_oisp980, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor room 23 is great with private bathroom. nice view from bathroom window, quiet”
 of 5 bubbles XXX2588, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“make sure the window shutters are closed too, it can be pretty draughty in the hostel which is not a good thing in a Chilean winter”
 of 5 bubbles besty8, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5