We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Happy House Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Happy House Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

667 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Happy House Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 297: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

The happy House hostel was a good functional hostel. It had a reasonable free breakfast, some wifi, relatively good helpful staff and nice enough rooms. Downsides were not all the staff spoke much English - such that when we were trying to book another night there the girl just kept asking us if we wanted to go on the pub...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 5 November 2015

This hostel was very spacious and it had hot showers but that's really where the positives ended. During my stay, the hostel must have hired out the shared spaces of the hostel to a company doing a fashion photo shoot or something like that, and they were taking up so much room and had their objects in front of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacki W
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jacki, We appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment, however, we believe it`s very unfair to be qualified with 2 points when our services are much better than what you mentioned. For example, we offer a buffet breakfast which includes everything (even eggs prepared and delivered to your table). Our location has always been one of...

El Calafate, Argentina
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

The hostel was very large, beautiful, and had awesome outdoor spaces. We didn't stay long enough to use the kitchen or the showers but they both looked like they were adequate. The Internet connection was terrible but we found other things to do.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adale0426
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Adale, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 19 October 2015

Its a beautiful old building, with a very spacious common area and spacious double rooms on the main floor. An excellent breakfast is provided. Be warned though an old building has squeeky floors and not much soundproofing. The location is excellent with Av. Brasil almost next door and an easy walk to the downtown area. Also close to the Los...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis388
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Dennis, We are very happy to have received your great feedback and specially your visit again. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you soon. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for you. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 16 October 2015

My stay at was amazing, I was in Santiago one night on a flight connection. The private rooms are spacious and its located in a beautiful area of Santiago. The one thing I would have to say was a little bit off putting was the taxi they called for me going to the airport scammed me for 150 CAD for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karquail
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Karquail, Thanks your good feedback about the hostel and our services, however, we think it is very unfair to be qualified with 1 point when we just recommend the official taxi companies we know at the airport in order to make your arrival easier (we do not take any benifit for this). Unfortunately there is always bad people like...

Reviewed 4 October 2015

The Happy House Hostel was my first taste of hostel living in Chile, and it is going to take some beating. The building itself is amazing with huge ceilings, vibrantly decorated, and with all the facilities anyone could possibly want or need. The site is a labyrinth of communal spaces, encouraging guests to interact as much as possible. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael G
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Reviewed 6 September 2015

Happy house is located well in the centro of Santiago de Chile. The feeling of the hostel is very nice, the space that you have is just a kind of amazing...and for sure all the happy colors wiich with the walls are painted are pretty nice.One kind of bad thing is the swimming pool in september isstill cold, and not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bence C
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Bence, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Grand Junction, Colorado
Reviewed 24 August 2015

I came to Chile almost a year ago, traveling for the first time out of the USA all alone. Santiago is a bustling, messy, noisy city, much like another other, and for the first week here, I'd stayed at an AirBnb property in a western suburb (called Pudahuel, do not go there if you don't speak Spanish) despite having read...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dani C
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Dani, We are very happy to have received your detailed and great feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write the review and we look forward to seeing you again being that you became part of our big family. We wish you the best and we will be in touch soon. Greetings from all the team...

South America
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Really good little hostel centrally located and easy walking distance to many attractions/easy transport options etc. Really comfy beds but freezing rooms (winter - to be expected) but no heaters aside from the lobby and breakfast. Was ok to sleep as plenty of warm blankets. Breakfast was really good each morning for an inclusion and friendly staff, happy to help...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

Reviewed 6 August 2015

This is a good hostel to get started on your South America travels with. Relaxed and quiet. I came here at the end of my travels and when I needed some days off to get ready to go on to the South Pacific so this place was perfect....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank P F
Ricardo E, Gerente at Happy House Hostel, responded to this review

Dear P F, We are very happy to have received your feedback. We also appreciate the time you have taken to write your comment and we look forward to seeing you again. We wish you the best and we will be waiting for your next visit. Greetings from all the team Happy House Hostel

353 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (178)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (175)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (98)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#89 of 197 in Santiago
584 reviews
Matildas Hotel Boutique
#4 of 197 in Santiago
257 reviews
Centro Histórico
Che Lagarto Hostel Santiago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Providencia
H Rado Hostel
H Rado Hostel
#2 of 471 in Santiago
774 reviews
Hostal Providencia
#6 of 471 in Santiago
909 reviews
La Casa Roja Hostel
#9 of 471 in Santiago
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Happy House Hostel An Oasis in the heart of Santiago. Located in Moneda Street in the middle of the historic part of the city and just steps from government palace, main square and the main tourist attractions of Santiago. Happy House Hostel offers a high quality service due to obtaining Q seal of quality the S seal of sustainability granted by SERNATUR (National Tourism Service of Chile), besides having an impressive infrastructure, facilities, long market experience and strong commitment of the staff with each of its guests. Our services are: Buffet breakfast, 24 hours of reception, free internet access (Wi Fi and stationary computers), safes in private rooms and lockers in dorms, tourist information and reservations for tours of the season, free luggage storage, laundry, mini bar at reception with 24 hour service of drinks, mineral water and beers, bilingual staff (Spanish - English), recreational and cultural activities (Dancing classes, Chilean BBQ, movie nights, free tours around town, etc.), bike rental, online bus tickets reservations, organization of transport services (only from the hostel to the airport or elsewhere), free national service calls from reception, book exchange, heating in rooms with private bathroom and common areas (winter season), late check out (asking for availability in advance at reception) and a lot more. Our facilities are: Fully equipped kitchen, comfortable and spacious terraces and living rooms, swimming pool, TV rooms with international signal, outside bar, entertainment area (pool table, tennis table, mini football table, chess table and table games), wine cellar with tasting sessions of national strains, BBQ area (including free use of grills) and a lot more. We wait for you :) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Happy House Hostel

Address: Moneda 1829, Santiago 8340493, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago
Price Range: €19 - €63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Happy House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy House Hotel Santiago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Happy House Hostel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Happy House Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The dorm room is fine for solo travelers -clean, quiet, safe.”
 of 5 bubbles Antonio8069, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There is something for everybody. We liked the colonial style rooms on the ground floor.”
 of 5 bubbles keesv32, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Nothing special to say about the room ”
 of 5 bubbles jeanfran_oisp980, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor room 23 is great with private bathroom. nice view from bathroom window, quiet”
 of 5 bubbles XXX2588, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“make sure the window shutters are closed too, it can be pretty draughty in the hostel which is not a good thing in a Chilean winter”
 of 5 bubbles besty8, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5