We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hostal Forestal

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hostal Forestal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 27: English reviews
Sandwich, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We loved our stay. Celine and Elliot were so welcoming we felt as though we had walked in to our own home. The beds and bathrooms are CLEAN and comfortable. This is the hostel you are looking for. We were so happy to find this spot after our first hostel in Santiago.. The staff goes above and beyond to make... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ohana2013
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

"Oasis and outstanding", two words that work perfectly together to make us fell glad about our work. Thanks for staying with us and having a good time. More 

Pacific
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hostel was easy to find, friendly staff when we walked in, clean, comfortable, I could continue, but overall it was a great place to stay. Celine and Elliott were so welcoming and knowledgable. I look forward to staying here again in a few months.

Helpful?
Thank Grace A
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Thanks a lot for your review, we like when people feel like home. You're welcome to come any time! More 

Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Hostal Forestal! It was well located, cheap and clean. Staff is great. Breakfast is good. Laundry service is cheap (3000CHP until 10kg). We found one main inconvinience though: the noise. It is an old house and the isolation is poor. The rooms stand right next to the lobby, with no door inbetween and therefore we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandoz R
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

We apologize for the inconvenience about the noise, we worry about our guests and sometimes things get out of our hands. Thanks for your advice and welcome back any time. More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had a great time in this hostel, I met like minded travellers and enjoyed the perfect location and comfortable design of the hostel. Elliot, the staff member who was on the night shift when I was there, really went out of his way also to ensure a comfortable stay and was a cool guy. I would comfortably recommend this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jesus C
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! It was our pleasure :) More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a private room at Hostal Forestal and were blown away by the design, it's one of the most stylish places I've stayed. Unfortunately we had a room by reception which was noisy, so you couldn't get to sleep before 1:30. The shower was cold too. Another down side was the breakfast, which wasn't good if you didn't like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura N
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Thanks for let us know about your experience at the hostel. We have some policies, one of them, is to keep the voice down after midnight, so, most of the time, the hostel is a place to relax. About the breakfast, we offer a continental breakfast, consists of big bowls of fresh fruit, cereal, toast with jam and butter, juice,... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Every night, except one, we were kept awake but staff, loud music, and no consideration for other guests, controlling guests and sound levels. The place itself is beautifully designed and well located, but the noisiest place in all of S.America we stayed (whcih is saying something). The showers aren't always warm too, which didn't help. I hate to say it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike H
HostalProvidencia, Gerente at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Hi Michael: First I want to tell you that I understand your annoyance by noise at night. I can tell you that I have already taken necessary steps to ensure that does not happen again. Next time, please advise the reception to solve the problem at the moment because our idea is to offer a quality service. We do activities... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

I went to Hostal Forestal after receiving a recommendation from a friend and it didn't disappoint! The breakfast is amazing - you can cook your own eggs - and kitchen is well stocked. The common areas are spacious and comfy. The bedrooms vary but generally they're a decent size and the beds are comfortable. There are 1 or 2 nights... More 

Helpful?
Thank Yv H
HostalProvidencia, Gerente at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Hi Yv!! We are very happy for receiving your comment, thank you so much!! We hope to see you again in our hostel. Saludos desde Chile! More 

Henley Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

Great little hostel really enjoyed our stay here even if it was for two days. Good kitchen facilities and breakfast. Upon arrival after only being in Santiago for an hour (straight from airport to hostel) I realised I had actually lost my passport! The staff were super helpful and rang the airport for me. It took a while as no... More 

Helpful?
Thank CasssieG
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Hi Cassie, we´re here to help and we`re glad you have your passport back, that is no easy to find at the airport. Happy to see you again at the hostel. Regards. More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2016

This is the kind of a place that could be the best. Nice located, good facilities, great room, but looked a little bit abandoned. Got a private ensuite and the shower was warm, but broken. Was pouring raining and there was a eave in the bedroom. Although the staff was lovely, they messed up. We would stay for only one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mariana_Lourenco_C
HostalProvidencia, Gerente at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Hi Mariana: Thank you very much for the feedback, we are very happy that your stay in our hostel was good eventhouth the two incidents. The shower was fixed the same day, we will take half and talk with the taxi service that does not happen again what he told us. Again thanks for the opinion, Each comment allows us... More 

Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Really enjoyed this hostel. It is a little maze-like but lots of great spots to hang out, nice TV room and good kitchen facilities. Room was spacious with bathroom inside, beds were comfortable, everything was kept very clean. Never ate the free breakfast but it is included. Wifi worked well in my room as well. Love the Lastarria neighborhood, it's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amyation
HostalProvidencia, Director de Recepción at Hostal Forestal, responded to this review

Hi Amyation, thanks a lot for your review.. Hope you can return soon and keep having fun with us. Regards. More 

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (45)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santiago hotels
Santa Lucia
Andes Hostel
Andes Hostel
#82 of 194 in Santiago
565 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hotel Ismael 312
Hotel Ismael 312
#14 of 194 in Santiago
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Providencia
#4 of 453 in Santiago
856 reviews
Santa Lucia
Hostal de la Barra
Hostal de la Barra
#51 of 453 in Santiago
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostal Forestal is currently a classic and with no doubt the best hostel inside the trendiest Lastarria - Parque Forestal - Bellas Artes neighborhood. Its unique location, next to transportation, local attractions, cafes, restaurants, parks, museums, bars and clubs makes a perfect place for your secure stay in Santiago.Created and currently run by its owners, two young Chilean experienced travelers (Benjamin and Rodrigo) which had the idea to create a unique Hostel in the best location of Santiago de Chile. A place which makes you feel at home and an atmosphere to meet other travelers, relax and party up with people just like you. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostal Forestal

Address: Coronel Santiago Bueras 122, Santiago 8320135, Chile
Region: Chile > Santiago Metropolitan Region > Santiago > Santa Lucia
Price Range: €12 - €53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Forestal 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Forestal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Forestal Hotel Santiago
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostal Forestal staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Tamarin
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hostal Forestal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Way too loud”
 of 5 bubbles mikehS5030TK, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“DON'T take the room next to the entrance door!!”
 of 5 bubbles lyra26, 15 Jan 2015 | Read review
“The downstairs rooms can be loud, as well as the rooms near the street on weekends.”
 of 5 bubbles JoelE8, 11 Jan 2015 | Read review
3 of 3
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay