We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Casa Margouya

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Casa Margouya
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 31: English reviews
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is a nice hostel with a good location in Puerto Varas. The kitchen is clean and there is a nice common room where you can watch movies and TV when the weather is bad. The dorms are nice with big trunks and nice beds. Also, they run tours out of the hostel which is convenient and the prices are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JKeller31
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

4 of 5 stars. Only because the printer isn't working and couldn't print my boarding pass hahaaa, small matter. Great place, nice people, excellent prices. You can easily take transportation to near places. Totally recommended for backpackers.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Javier M
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Located just one block away from the promenade this hostel is affordable for budget backpackers. However heaters are not working properly so you need to wear your down jacket to keep you warmed. Bathroom and kitchen are ok. Staff is great and very helpful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fruffat
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

Nice beds you can take a pull open couch then you do not have to pay for a bed only if you are under 10years.Nice breakfast and there is a free nice hammock there is vast WiFi.Big enough bathroom and shower.Friendly staff neer a supermarcet in the center of the town close to the lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jankos113
San Cristobal de La Laguna, Spain
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Directly in the city centre and literally seconds from the Llanquihue Lake with loads of great places to go drink and eat nearby. You can book all the activities directly in the hostel and get all the information you need to know about the city and its surroundings. And last but not least, being a guest here, you get to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pepullka
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

This is a great little place - full of travel information, good to meet fellow travellers, and they can also book any excursions for you. They also provide information on the whole area including great hiking etc - just a pity I didn't have long enough to do it all! It's right in the centre of town which is good,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
Reviewed 11 November 2015 via mobile

Just had a quick soup and chips great local restaurant with local food at local prices would go back for a light evening snack, staff were really friendly and believe it out not they over charged us by £ 2 and we didn't notice and the waitress chased us down the road to give us a refund... Cool

 Report
Helpful?
Thank batmoooo
Reviewed 17 April 2015 via mobile

The minute we walked into Casa Maragouya we knew it was the place for us. A nice vibe with a most generous, informative and welcoming host. Everything we asked about Nicolas (Nico) provided information on with a smile and a funny comment! The beds were nice and warm, kitchen was functional, tea, coffee and even a blender to make yummy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yossi T
Valdivia, Chile
Reviewed 6 January 2015

i was lucky to have a bed with direct view on the lake and volcanoe in the 3bed-dorm - incredible! staff was really nice, just a little bit strange that there was no one during the night... but everything was tidy, clean and looked after - the hostels atmosphere is really familiar and you have to feel good in this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paulina v
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 5 January 2015

We made an inquiry 2 days before we went to Puerto Varas. They replied and informed us the double was 24.000 pesos per night. I confirmed the same day but they replied that the room had been taken by someone else. They could, however, offer 2 dorm beds or a double in a different hostel. We went for the double,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
Nico R, Gerente at Casa Margouya, responded to this review

Wow wow ¡ Easy ¡ If we said to you in an email, the room was already book when you confirm , it s because it s booked. We book the room for th efirts person who confirm. After that Emilie tried to help, and if she said she called for , it s because she done it , we...

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (29)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Varas hotels
0.4 km away
Compass del Sur
Compass del Sur
#16 of 27 in Puerto Varas
143 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
Hotel Bellavista Puerto Varas
#7 of 27 in Puerto Varas
683 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Cabana del Lago
Hotel Cabana del Lago
#3 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel El Greco
Hotel El Greco
#15 of 27 in Puerto Varas
248 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
Hotel Cumbres Puerto Varas
#1 of 27 in Puerto Varas
1,385 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
Radisson Hotel Puerto Varas
#5 of 27 in Puerto Varas
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our backpackers is downtown location , one block from the lake and main square.Second floor in a wooden house , style "spanish auberge", room around the commun room with share bathroom and a full equiped kitchen. We have a very good turism informations and sale outdoor activities.Wi-fi, books exchange,music, books, table games. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Casa Margouya

Address: Calle Santa Rosa 318, Puerto Varas, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Lagos Region > Puerto Varas
Price Range: €21 - €42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Margouya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Casa Margouya staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Casa Margouya staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the room behind the reception desk - it has a huge window with a lake view!”
 of 5 bubbles jno28, 7 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Don't take the right bed in the 6-bed dorm on the right side...or ask if they have cleaned it...or use your sleeping bag (which is helpful in many locations in Chile...)”
 of 5 bubbles DanielB726, 16 Mar 2012 | Read review
2 of 2
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay