We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercury Backpackers' Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercury Backpackers\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 130: English reviews
Start your review of Mercury Backpackers' Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Solo Trip in Jan 28, 2017. I can't sleep there lol! but its ok for budget trip (stay for 1 night then move to hotel). Great location for walk around Lavender street & 5min to MRT station which located at V Hotel/near McDonald but I found out that I can actually choose better backpackers around this Mercury Backpackers. Facilities worn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elvrica17
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 17 February 2017

This backpacker hostel is located close to Universal studios and sentosa island just 15 mins drive. Also located near to lavender MRT stop which is just walking distance from the hostel. Rooms are small but manageable for a group of friends in a budget friendly way

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canandanthakkar
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 7 February 2017

We arrive singapore at 2145 hrs and we are aware when we make a reservation we have to arrive the hostel on or before 2300 hrs. If we can make it, we have to wait till next day 8 am when it open again or we have to look for another alternative. Thanks god we arrived at 2250 hrs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhamLinhTran2015
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We were flying into Singapore for 12am, so we emailed the reception desk about 4 days prior informing them that we'd be arriving late yet no one even bothered to reply! When we arrived at the hostel everything was locked and the lights were off, nobody was in sight! There was a sign on the door stating that the reception...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jon d
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Bedbugs and a smell that you cant sleep! Even the matress itself is smelling so much (chemicals maybe against the bedbugs?) For the lockers you have to put in coins (2dollars!)that you dont get Back!!! everytime you open the locker-> 2dollars!! This is the WORST place to stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tech n
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I had stayed here 3 times already. It's always nice. We used dormitory 3-4 persons with shared bathroom. The location is easy to find and very near to Lavendar MRT, easy to go to Bugis just 1 station and other places. Hmm they don't have elevator so it'll be tired if you bring heavy luggage. Anyways It's nice to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thien T
appan471, Manager at Mercury Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for making review about your stay.And happy to serve you on your vacation.

Reviewed 9 November 2016 via mobile

This hostel fairly cheap for traveller who want to get the best price, however very uncomfort to sleep, This hostel give you breakfast even the price very cheap. That's good to save your money. Bath room sharing with other, but so many bath room in this hostel so you don't need to wait for long time. You have to deposit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian P
appan471, Manager at Mercury Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for making review about your stay.And happy to serve you on your vacation.

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Please don't book this hotel at back packers stayed there for 3 days rooms are pathetic ,A/C is Not working ,toilets are not clean , you can see rats roaming around, I stayed there at room 215, Not maintained Properly,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jagadish_hhh
appan471, Manager at Mercury Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience caused to you,We forward your complaint to Housekeeping department.And we had mentioned a/c service team phone number in our reception place.And we promise you it won't happened in your future stay. Thanks

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I stayed at this hostel for 3 days and felt uncomfortable. The toilet was bad smell some had no soap and shampoo provide . The bed sheet was torn and sinking .No lift no breakfast no jacuzzi. Don't recommend this hostel to anyone!! However the location is great near Lavender MRT Station and easy to find food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank somavadeef
appan471, Manager at Mercury Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience caused to you,We forward your complaint to Housekeeping department.And we promise you it won't happened in your future stay. Thanks

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I book a 4bed dorm. When i am checking in there was already 1 guy who smells really bad, his clothes are all over the room, the dust bin full of thrash. I went down and told the indian clerk. Can i have another room. He said all room were full. Although i saw so many rooms were empty. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denny F
appan471, Manager at Mercury Backpackers' Hostel, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience caused to you,You booked dorm room so they gave you sharing room.And we don't know about other guest who he stayed in your room,he use to shower everyday or not.And we promise you it won't happened in your future stay. Thanks

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#162 of 223 in Singapore
56 reviews
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#55 of 223 in Singapore
285 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#37 of 223 in Singapore
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#43 of 223 in Singapore
464 reviews
Travellers Loft @ Jalan Besar
#144 of 223 in Singapore
100 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#13 of 223 in Singapore
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel is the largest backpackers' hostel in the vicinity of Lavender Street, Singapore. The hostel is new, comprising 4 1/2 storey building painted Orange, symbolizing "Bright & Lively". The hostel can accommodate 90 patrons, its entire premise are fitted with security cameras and is fire safety certified. The hostel stuff are in a brand new condition and rooms can accommodate 3 to 6 persons. The rooms are designed with different themes. Special rooms are created for Families and Female patrons. All bedding set used is equivalent to the standard of 4-5 stars hotels. Wooden bed frames were introduced to reduce noise. Patrons are issued with individual cupboards for safe-keeping of their belongings. Cupboards come with a special Magnetic Key Tag scan lock. Reading light, shelves and charging sockets are also provided. There are plenty of shared showers & toilets on every level as well as hot/cold water. Washing basins have Hair-blower devices. Coin-operated washing machine is also found within the vicinity. Vending machines for Cold drinks are sited at the reception area. We provide Warm & Hot water and free used of our microwave oven. The hostel reception is operated 24 Hours. Our friendly staff can help with your Questions & Queries. There is phone-intercom service to reception on every level. The premises have 'WIFI' and unlimited FREE internet access available, extra computers were also catered. Bonding area was introduced for interaction on all levels. The most attractive feature of the hostel is the 6 person's Relaxation Jacuzzi Pool on designed roof-top garden, Sun-Tanning beds and BBQ equipment are also available. We may have the best accommodation, security system and facilities provided but it is most important for us is to provide the best service to ensure you have the best, cosy, clean and comfortable stay with us during your visit. Mercury Backpackers' Hostel Rooms Details: Per Bed Space, Mixed Dorm/ Female Dorm - Shared Bathroom (Shared Double Bunk Bed, in 4 or 6 Bedded Room) Entire Room - Triangle Room, Mixed - Shared Bathroom (Room for 3 people - 1 double bunk bed & 1 single bed) - Family Room, Shared Bathroom (Room for max. 2 Adults & 2 Children's - 1 Queen Size & 1 Single Bed) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercury Backpackers' Hostel

Address: 57 Lavender Street, Singapore 338714, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Price Range: €13 - €64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mercury Backpackers' Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercury Backpackers' Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercury Backpackers' Hostel Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercury Backpackers' Hostel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Mercury Backpackers' Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Save money on stay and enjoy SG”
canandanthakkar, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room with window is good”
PhamLinhTran2015, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Good location. Walk 5 min. to MRT. easy to find 7-11.”
somavadeef, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are so narrow”
AyuMastura, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
Junglejjim, 12 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5