We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matchbox The Concept Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Matchbox The Concept Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Matchbox The Concept Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 211: English reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Really cool concept. loved the pod style beds plenty of room and nice cool a/c dorm. the breakfast was plentiful and simple. upstairs recreation room was nice and chilled. Great location beside Chinatown and train station. excellent quality high speed wifi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
MatchboxTheConcept, Manager at Matchbox The Concept Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Jason C Thank you for taking time to review our hostel. We are pleased to know that you like our pod and services. We look forward to have you back at Matchbox again. Warmest Regards The Management @ Matchbox Hostel

Melfort, Canada
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

This place was spectacular! The staff helped me navigate the city when needed, they were always incredibly friendly, and offered up advice on site seeing. The location is a 2 minute walk to club street with bars and restaurants, and 5 minutes to the mrt that can get u anywhere in the city. The beds were comfy, there was rarely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raeanne1986
MatchboxTheConcept, Manager at Matchbox The Concept Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Raeanne1986 Thank you for taking time to review our hostel! We are really glad that you've enjoyed your stay with us! It is our pleasure to provide our guests with a wonderful stay at Matchbox. We hope to be able to host you again on your next visit to Singapore! Till then, take care! From The Management @ Matchbox

Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Staff were very helpful and friendly, made our late check in easy. Clean and air conditioned room was good. Simple breakfast for free in the morning could get cramped if the hostel was busy but very quiet during our stay so not a problem. Would stay here again location was easy walking distance to the mrt stations to get around...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jordan A
MatchboxTheConcept, Manager at Matchbox The Concept Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Andrews Thank you very much for taking time to review our hostel. Your comments are valuable to us. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcome you at Matchbox soon. Warmest Regards The Management @ Matchbox Hostel

Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

I'm staying 2 nights at Matchbox. The hostel is very comfortable compared to the usual hostels, with its "matchbox" sleeping cabins. The staff is friendly and the location is good, only 5 min from Chinatown and metro station.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sixten R
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 23 March 2016

I stayed one night here during my 3 days visit to Singapore in February, the other night at another hostel. So comparisons arise when I review the hostels. At Matchbox, the staff is quite friendly and considerate. As I planned to check in quite late that night, he actually emailed me to request my arrival time and approached within a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sychai93
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Great staff, clean hostel, good location. No complaints. Although it's located in one of THE bar streets of Singapore, it's not really a party hostel. There is a good atmosphere, but very calm. Very comfortable and safe.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie-Julie S
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 22 March 2016 via mobile

1) Arriving with a smile and saying hello to the staff. No hello back, just brought up a paper "fill this in and pay here". Very rude. (met another staff another day who was better and at least asked questions back when we tried to be nice and sociable) 2) storage for bags is a small area in the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ChristopherAndBianca
MatchboxTheConcept, Manager at Matchbox The Concept Hostel, responded to this review

Dear ChristopherAndBianca Thank you for feedback that you have given us pertaining to hospitality and facilities. With regards to the service, we manage to identify the staff and will be speaking to the team. We would like to assure you that this is not the usual service standards that one would expect when staying in Matchbox. Service is one of...

Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

We decided to stay in this hostel because of the nice pictures, good reviews and the good location. When we arrived, there was a guy in the reception and we said to him "hi, how are you?" and he answered back "I'm good" come on a little friendly attitude would certainly make us feel more welcome maybe a "how are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bianca E
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 7 March 2016

The hostel mirrored how I felt about Singapore. Small, clean, quiet and friendly! Only stayed here one night as I was on a long overnight layover. Was fairly easy to get to from the airport, about a 5 minutes walk to the subway station. Staff were very friendly, I rented an adapter for a low cost as I forgot mine....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank McDeal04
Jakarta
Reviewed 27 February 2016

So many things to be considerated to choose hostel in SG. For me, the most important matter is cleanliness. Matchbox is a pro in keeping its cleanliness. You may not bring your shoes upstairs, they provide bathroom flipflops, they clean the room (and air conditioner) everyday, they open the window to make sure room freshness. Bravo!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keshia N

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
0:16
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 309 in Singapore
1,466 reviews
Chinatown
Adler Luxury Hostel
Adler Luxury Hostel
#5 of 226 in Singapore
571 reviews
Chinatown
Fernloft China Town
Fernloft China Town
#90 of 226 in Singapore
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
iStay.inn Singapore
iStay.inn Singapore
#124 of 226 in Singapore
52 reviews
Chinatown
No photo provided
Heritage Hostel
#154 of 226 in Singapore
7 reviews
Chinatown
The Club
The Club
#12 of 309 in Singapore
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Chinatown

Neighbourhood Profile
Chinatown
Chinatown is a classic combination of colourful sights, enticing smells, and sometimes startling sounds. The precinct is unique, however, in its blending of religions and cultures. A Hindu temple, an Islamic mosque, and a Chinese Buddhist temple sit almost side by side. This sense of cultural harmony continues as you venture just outside of Chinatown to the nightlife areas of Club Street and Duxton Hill. There you’ll mingle with Singapore’s multicultural residents at the modern bars and restaurants dotting the bustling streets. An afternoon in and around Chinatown will leave you culturally enlightened, well fed, and loaded with souvenirs. In the evening, reward yourself with a well-deserved cocktail as the locals come out to play.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently situated near Chinatown, Tanjong Pagar and Telok Ayer MRT Stations, Matchbox The Concept Hostel is the best one-stop pod hostel to stay at during your adventure in Singapore. With two famous hawker centers - Amoy Street Food Centre and Maxwell Road Hawker Centre -located just minutes away from our doorstep, you can definitely eat your fill of the many delicacies of Singapore. If that's not what you are looking for, fret not, as we are certain that one of the surrounding cafes, restaurants and bars will be able to satisfy your cravings. Besides that, we also provide complimentary daily breakfast, as well as, free flow of coffee, tea, milk and juice to kick-start your day. Not sure where to go to after having your meal? Feel free to check with any of our friendly staff who will be more than happy to provide you with maps, tips and information on the best places to visit in Singapore. No matter whether you are more interested in culture, history, shopping, entertainment or relaxation, we are absolutely sure that we will be able to find something that will suit your needs. In addition, enjoy special discounts when you purchase attraction tickets from us during your stay. After a long day of exploring Singapore, we know that your feet and back might be sore. Hence, Matchbox offers you exclusive complimentary use of our full-body massage chair, neck massager and foot massager. Moreover, we also provide you with two pillow choices - hard and soft pillows -to ensure that you will have a good and comfortable rest for another day of adventure. Want to say a few words to your friend sleeping in the pod beside you before you sleep? Simply unlock the creatively designed peep holes that we offer between our pods. However, if you are too lazy to entertain your chatty friend, you may wish to lock up your side of the peep hole so that he/she won't disturb you (Kidding! We hope you won't do that to your friend! Haha!). For added privacy, Matchbox also offers satin curtains for each of our pods as we believe in providing you with a good night's sleep. So what are you waiting for? Book with us now as our friendly team can't wait to welcome you at our hostel!:) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matchbox The Concept Hostel

Address: 39 Ann Siang Road, Singapore 069716, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Price Range: €34 - €47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Matchbox The Concept Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matchbox The Concept Hostel Singapore
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matchbox The Concept Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Matchbox The Concept Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lower bed near the window.”
 of 5 bubbles WarWorawat, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you're a female, ask for the female dorm. Ask them not to put you next to someone, as they don't seem to think about that.”
 of 5 bubbles karethi, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If possible, choose the lower bunk bed. It is quite an effort to go up the upper bunks”
 of 5 bubbles ellanie_r, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“They only have very few doble beds so book quickley if you are a couple”
 of 5 bubbles rickygalaxy0360, 25 Feb 2016 | Read review
“There are separate female and male rooms or mixed so if you want one in particular it is worth checking availability when you book.”
 of 5 bubbles HayleyLauren, 15 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5