We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Golden Monkey Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Golden Monkey Cottages
Golden Monkey Cottages
Panoramas (4)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Golden Monkey Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2014

We arrived in El Nido by Van, and had to take a rickshaw to the hotel. Actually, you can't reach it by rickshaw, and you need to walk 15 minutes to get there. For some people with luggages, it can be very annoying, and if raining, the muddy path is probably not very nice. But we were lucky with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nicodu81
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2014

We had read good reveiws, so were very disappointed. The room we had originally booked was so small, there was actually nowhere to place our suitcases, and no place to hang or put away clothes. Also, we had paid an extra $21 a day for an extra bed, which was not there - and certainly nowhere to put an extra... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Corrie_and_Stephane
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights in August. My friend stayed with my partner and I for the weekend, and then the two of us stayed the rest of the night. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The first night, we stayed in a garden view cottage, then switched to a waterfront cottage for the second night. Then for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather P
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 September 2014

We stayed in a beachfront cottage with a wonderful view and beautiful sunsets. Breakfast is directly served at your front porch. Since the cottage is a bit pricey it would be nice to have the breakfast included. For lunch or dinner you have to walk about 15 minutes into El Nido, which is a good way to "stretch your legs",... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Verena E
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2014

the owners rude to people run by a drunk brit who calls the locals coconut chuckers and mad Filipino wife who is well just nasty, people told us the posts saying it was good on this site were faked by the owner so look out. its far from town and you need to pass a though a cemetery to get... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Coan H
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Golden Monkey was fantastic from the moment we booked to the moment we left. Clear directions, with a courtesy pick up from the beach. Golden Monkey is about 10-15 mins along from the town (take a torch, as it's very dark at night). Rose is an excellent host. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and nothing was ever... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank L S
PanchoElNido_Palawan, Owner at Golden Monkey Cottages, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for the outstanding review you gave us. We are all very happy, the girls were specially thrilled by it. They take real pride at getting a good mention on TripAdvisor. In my opinion, they deserve to be praised. We have a good team going! We are specially touched when you said that "El Nido is... More 

Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

stayed here last February with friends, the place was quite far from the town proper but the 15 min walk was okay, the cottage was okay and the place was really nice and relaxing, just one thing though, the owner might be a little rude, at least that's what some of the friends I was with commented on, but all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dyn R
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

If it's a quiet retreat that you want, Golden Monkey may be the best resort for you. It's a 15-minute walk from the busy El Nido town. If that's too much for you, rent out a scooter/motorbike (Use it to go to town & other parts of El Nido. It's better than paying tricycles and tour guides, if you're on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ika A
PanchoElNido_Palawan, Owner at Golden Monkey Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much for a most positive review, it is most appreciated. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your short stay with us. I hope that you will come back again and stay for longer, El Nido has much to offer. Take care and regards to your friend. On behalf of all the staff, thank you once again. More 

Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Overall, we liked staying at this place although this is a little bit further from the center so if you don't mind 10-15 minutes walking (through the jungle) - it's fine. Yes, walls are very thin - we were lucky that the place was quite empty (already off season) so didn't experience any issues with that. Loved the view as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Boruzzze
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Please be aware that this is a big scam! The pictures and reviews are very deceiving! This was my 2nd time and my partner's 3rd time at Philippines and this time we traveled month around Philippines. I can honestly say that I have never been accommodated at worse place then this one! If it would be advertised as a backpacker... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Nikitop
PanchoElNido_Palawan, Owner at Golden Monkey Cottages, responded to this review

I am surprised that you still insist that you booked the more expensive room. You must have a copy of your booking from Agoda, and you did book one of the cheaper cottages. As you said, you were upgraded to our beachfront that night at no extra cost, but we could not do that for all the 7 nights that... More 

331 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (181)
Viewed
Amenities (1)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Beachfront Cottage (37)
Viewed
Garden Cottage (26)
Viewed
Premium Garden Cottage (29)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Seaview Suite (23)
Viewed
Second Seaview Suite (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.4 km away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 16 in El Nido
429 reviews
22.6 km away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#4 of 16 in El Nido
171 reviews
0.1 km away
Caalan Beach Resort
Caalan Beach Resort
#2 of 84 in El Nido
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Tapik Beach Park Guest House
0.5 km away
Makulay Lodge & Villas
Makulay Lodge & Villas
#21 of 84 in El Nido
99 reviews
9.3 km away
El Nido Resorts Miniloc Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Golden Monkey Cottages are situated on Ca-alan beach, just 10 minutes walk from El Nido town. We offer quality accommodation with comfortable fan rooms and clean modern bathrooms. Each cottage has a large veranda and a spectacular view of the islands. Since we are located just outside of El Nido, away from the noise and bustle of town, we benefit from the peace of the surrounding forests and you will be free simply to relax and absorb the atmosphere. You could hire a boat and be taken to a secluded beach to soak up the sun, have a picnic, swim, snorkel and enjoy the magnificent scenery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Monkey Cottages

Address: Ca-alan Beach, El Nido, Palawan Island EN234, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Price Range: €54 - €126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Golden Monkey Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Monkey Cottages Hotel El Nido
Golden Monkey Cottages El Nido, Philippines - Palawan Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Monkey Cottages staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Philippines

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Monkey Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sea View Guest Room”
 of 5 bubbles Kaja_000, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Beach front rooms have A/C, but without was still manageable”
 of 5 bubbles JessGoldy, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront cottage had amazing views.”
 of 5 bubbles TR2304, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“call to have the house tricycle pick you up instead of lugging your bags across the sand”
 of 5 bubbles 645luizaf, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“If you can afford it, the oceanfront room is worth it!”
 of 5 bubbles WorldIsAPlayground, 13 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay