We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

De Pendopo Homestay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
De Pendopo Homestay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

162 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for De Pendopo Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

This was my first experience staying at 'homestay' style accomadation and I have to say, it was really fantastic. The hosts were really friendly and helpful, they have really made this place feel like a sanctuary in the middle of a bustling city. The rooms are really comfortable and have Aircon, TV, wifi and an ensuite. The place itself is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aliciatwo
Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

After reading all the good reviews about this place we decided to give it a try. We got there at 7am and without a problem we were able to go to our room. We had a hard time to buy our train ticket to Jakarta and Budi helped us with that. We didn't know about the Merapi tour and Budi...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marciadefoe
riyadi b, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review

Dear Marciadefoe, Thank you so much for sharing your experience staying at Dependopo Homestay. It is highly appreciated. It was our pleasure to show Yogyakarta and its specialty to you. About the cat, was it a white cat? the cat is belong to the neighbor, but she loves to just chill out under the sun in our place, particularly on...

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 8 November 2012 via mobile

The good: -Great location off Prawirotaman street. So all the cafes are a 2 minute walk away but you get the peace and quiet of the family compound. -The rooms are clean! But unfortnately look a bit rundown (damaged mirrors, leaky spout) -The bed is really comfortable! - the bathroom is quite lovely and not depressing looking like many other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RoxyMonoxide
riyadi b, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review

Dear Roxy, Thanks a bunch for sharing your experience staying with us. It is much appreciated. The room is just renovated and repainted. yes, we are a homestay, we are little family who want to bring the beauty of international atmosphere with its wonderful people and their culture to our children. We are not a hotel, because what we are...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I traveled to Indonesia with my boyfriend 3 weeks ago. We went to Yogyakarta after our Bali trip. I booked dependopo homestay when we were in Bali and we were lucky to have the room available for us aT Dependopo homestay. On my last day in Bali i had stomach problem because i eat rendang too much, but I decided...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sallyhowse
riyadi b, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review

Dear Sally, Thanks for taking your time to write your experience staying with us. We really appreciate it. Sickness during holiday was very unpleasant, but it happened sometimes, so we tried our best to make you feel better. I am happy that you recovered soon and so you can enjoy your staying in Yogyakarta. I wish you well always, and...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I visited Yogyakarta last month with my children. We were happy with our choice : staying at dependopo. The price is reasonable and we have all the benefits for our children. The place has big space for my children to play. It has sling and slide and some toys for children as the owner has 6 years old boy (...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kayla d
riyadi b, Owner at De Pendopo Homestay, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience staying at our place. My children were also happy with the presence of your children at dependopo homestay. It is always amazing to see our children playing together, no matter of the nationality, skin colour, religion or languages they keep playing together, smiling , laughing in happiness. We hope to see you...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights, the price is affordable and the room is really nice. I found it from tripadvisor. De pendopo is surrounded by expensive hotels in prawirotaman. It is only have 4 rooms but it is very private. I like the 'outdoor bathroom'. I read the comment here about the sink :) but I have no problem...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anna h
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I have been in Indonesia for holiday in about two weeks with my girlfriend. We went to Bali, Lombok and we decided to go to Jogjakarta as a friend suggested it. We arrived early at Dependopo Homestay and the owner welcomed us warmly. Budi offered me tomato omelet and banana pancake for my girl friend. Coffee and tea provided for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank james d
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I traveled to Yogyakarta last month with my friend and I stayed at Dependopo Homestay. They helped me to book for lion air ticket to go to jakarta without any charge. The owner, Ira and Budi are very nice and friendly. They provided us with local knowledge for the food, restaurants, places to go. I also enjoyed my staying at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brandon r
Kupang, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed for 3 days in this homestay. I feel comfortable and relax. It's quite compared with homestay around malioboro. I like the bathroom. That's tropical bathroom! Budi and Ira, the owner, really helpful when I asked about tourist destination. With low budget, I got clean and nice room more than I expected :D

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AdinJulia
Reviewed 29 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights, different from malioboro area which is crowded with expensive hotel for local tourist, de pendopo in prawirotaman is so quite, private and have a nice 'outdoor bathroom' so lovely, I'll back again when I came here, the people are so humble :)

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Payaa

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Rengganis
Hotel Rengganis
#49 of 187 in Yogyakarta
156 reviews
0.1 km away
Duta Guest House
Duta Guest House
#45 of 187 in Yogyakarta
185 reviews
3.7 km away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#37 of 187 in Yogyakarta
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Hotel 1001 Malam
Hotel 1001 Malam
#24 of 187 in Yogyakarta
617 reviews
0.7 km away
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
Dusun Jogja Village Inn
#2 of 187 in Yogyakarta
541 reviews
0.2 km away
Delta Home Stay
Delta Home Stay
#23 of 422 in Yogyakarta
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
De Pendopo, a romantic boutique homestay in Yogyakarta, is an intimate hideout inside the pulsing cultural Yogyakarta. Facilities: 24 hours wi-fi, vast garden with tables and chairs and kids swing, private bathroom with bath tub and hot water, air conditioned room, 32 inch Panasonic Vierra LCD TV, veranda, shared chiller and pantry, a public desktop computer and printer, a public Samsung home theater with 42 inch LCD TV, a pendopo (Javanese hall). ... more   less 

Additional Information about De Pendopo Homestay

Address: Jln. Prawiritaman no. 573 | (Behind Eclips Hotel), Yogyakarta 55153, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Price Range: €17 - €21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — De Pendopo Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your De Pendopo Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from De Pendopo Homestay staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from De Pendopo Homestay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe ask for room 3 or 4 if you don't like being woken up by motorbikes. They are further away from the entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles kwats0n, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
  • Rooms
  • Open TOP Bathroom
  • Inside the Room
  • King Size Bed
 of 5 bubbles SPAbhay, 1 Jun 2015 | Read review
“do choose the room near the lobby if you prefer to have faster wifi. the aircon in that room doesn't seem to work during day time but hey, why stay in your room during the day when you need to be out, right?”
  • the lobby area with a big Buddha statue
  • the bathroom with the transparent roof
  • you can remove the mosquito net if you want
  • I just love that mirror inside the bathroom
 of 5 bubbles Zhetm, 1 Feb 2015 | Read review
“rooms that are closer to the lobby have better wifi, but rooms farther behind are more quiet”
  • needs maintenance
  • full wall mirror
 of 5 bubbles Cqdt, 7 May 2014 | Read review
“If possible ask for the room at the far end, away from the entrance.”
 of 5 bubbles TravellingAfrican, 26 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay