We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 55: English reviews
Start your review of Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng
 Click to rate
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel is relatively cheap and you get exactly what you can imagine with that price level: Good bed and location, but unfortunately poor breakfast, old and moldy bathroom, outdated towels, and poor noise isolation. Location is great for exploring the real Beijing and surroundings have the best Chinese restaurants in town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna H
Damien_ROMAIN, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Jenna H, Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.com. As I see several concerned areas, could you please send me a bit more details at h8909-gm2@accor.com to better tackle the root issues? Ideally It would be highly useful to know what were the items you did not like during your breakfast and your recommendations. To also share...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Located at the heart of Beijing, very convenient and close to subway, This is a business type hotel. Rooms are spacious, well equipped. Staff is friendly although not meeting international standards. Rich Breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronyra
Damien_ROMAIN, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng, responded to this review

Dear Ronyra, Good to see that you were happy with your overall experience. Your comments are highly valuable so please feel free to let us know (h8909-gm2@accor.com) areas you feel we could improve. In the meantime, do not hesitate to contact us next time you plan business trip in Beijing and thank you for your contribution online. Sincerely yours, Damien...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We stayed at the Grand Mercure Dongcheng Hotel in Beijing in early December 2016. The hotel is located approximately 450 metres from the Beixinqiao MRT station which can lead you to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City. The room is clean and spacious and the bed in comfortable for a good night sleep. The hotel employees are friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank MJ L
Damien_ROMAIN, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng, responded to this review

Dear MJ L, We are glad to see that you enjoyed staying with us during your last trip. Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback regarding hotel location, service and surrounding sites of interests. Best regards, Damien ROMAIN Executive Assistant Manager

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 19 December 2016

This hotel is in the perfect location if you need to travel around Beijing with easy access to the subway and, with abundant local restauarants, micro breweries and bars, there is plenty around the hotel to make your stay in Beijing lively, authentic and comfortable. The staff at the hotel were incredibly helpful to us during our 11 day stay,...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sallyy644
Damien_ROMAIN, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng, responded to this review

Dear Ms. Sallyy644, Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback regarding your last stay with us. We also look forward to welcome you back next time you travel in Beijing. Kind regards, Damien ROMAIN Executive Assistant Manager

Hollywood, Florida
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Thank you Mr. Edward Ren and Ms. Nana Bian for the very warm welcome we received during our stay of November 11-13. You made us feel as if we were returning to our own home, although this was our first stay in this property. All was extremely clean. Nothing negative to say! Fantastic hotel and staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miguel151
Damien_ROMAIN, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Miguel151, Thank you for your appreciation for our colleagues. We' ll make sure your post is shared with the whole Front Office team, and I am sure it will be a great motivation for them to keep improving our guest satisfaction. Sincerely yours, Damien ROMAIN Executive Assistant Manager

beijing
Reviewed 8 December 2016

I like this hotel.Quiet Clean and Good Location.The stuff was very Nice and politeness.This hotel is very easy to go to subway.Some local food store and 7-11 near in here.I think I will come back again.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor C
Damien_ROMAIN, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng, responded to this review

Dear Taylor C, We are glad to see that you enoyed your stay in Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng, and our entire team looks forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Damien ROMAIN Executive Assistant Manager

Singapore
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

The location is very convenient. We stayed in the executive floor. The staff are very helpful. I still remember one of the staff who attended us is Zhang xiaoqian. She is very polite and cheerful. It is my business partner's first trip to Beijing, thank you for making our stay enjoyable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Walking_in_the_sky
Damien_ROMAIN, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng, responded to this review

Dear Walking_in_the_sky, Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay in our hotel, and especially to aknowledge the professionalism of our colleague. Your review is a great reward for the team & Zhang Xiao Qian. Since you mentioned that you came for business I am quite sure we will have the opportunity to accommodate you again. If by...

Reviewed 6 December 2016

Very disappointed in this hotel .Staff had poor English and communication skills.Breakfast food quality very poor and staff seemed disinterested and sloppy in their appearance.Have travelled all over Asia and this hotel has a long way to go in how they service foreigners as compared to other Asian countries .Maybe because it's a communist country and they are scared stiff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
Damien_ROMAIN, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng, responded to this review

Dear Gill M, Obviously your stay in our hotel did not go the way it should have been, and this is a pity we did not delivered the expected service. The several areas that you mentioned have been for past months our focus but apparently it still lacks of consistency. Would you be so kind to share with us a...

Reviewed 5 December 2016 via mobile

Staff were unfriendly, unhelpful, and seemed not to want our business. Do not stay here unless you can speak the local language. Our chicken was served uncooked, we were told if we were Chinese we would eat it. We were hosed on photo copying and were charged 5x the quote after printing was done. The hotel was clean and close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAMES W
Damien_ROMAIN, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng, responded to this review

Dear James W., The reply you received from our team member regarding Uncooked chicken is definitely not acceptable, and we sincerely apologize for this poor service attitude. It is also really disappointing that most of the issues are service related despite our continous focus on improving our guest statisfaction. Could you please give us some more details on which areas...

Paris, France
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Very professional staff always helpful, clean and spacious rooms, Very good location, metro station nearby.Good internet connection.Very good valur for money.The beds were Very very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alexalex858
Damien_ROMAIN, Manager at Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng, responded to this review

Dear alexalex858, Your positive feedback is a great reward for the team. Thank you for taking the time to share on tripadvisor.com. Kind regards, Damien ROMAIN Executive Assistant Manager

187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Xidan
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
Grand Mercure Beijing Central
#101 of 6,427 in Beijing
852 reviews
Guomao
Mercure Beijing Downtown
Mercure Beijing Downtown
#122 of 6,427 in Beijing
333 reviews
Beijing South Railway Station
Oriental Bay International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Kuntai Royal Hotel
Kuntai Royal Hotel
#95 of 6,427 in Beijing
224 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
Hotel Kapok Beijing
#64 of 6,427 in Beijing
1,001 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Prime Hotel
Prime Hotel
#58 of 6,427 in Beijing
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Premium Location for both Leisure & Business. Fully renovated and upgraded in 2014, Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng is proud to provide to its guests an upscale experience that combines the Grand Mercure welcome with stylish Chinese decorated facilities. Located in Beijing's Cultural Heart, the Hotel is surrounded by many sightseeing options such as Lama Temple (0.9 km), Guozijian (1.2 km), Nanluogu Xiang (1.6km), Hou Hai Lake (1.8 km), and the ever impressive Forbidden City (3.4 km). A short, 500 m walk to Beixinqiao Subway Station (Line 5) provides a direct link to the Wangfujing shopping area (only three stations down the line). Hungry? The Hotel is less than a five minute walk to the famous "Ghost Street" which offers a large variety of restaurants certain to cater for all tastes. Each of our 200 comfortable guest rooms come equipped with a flat-screen TV including satellite and cable channels, minibar and free WIFI internet. The Hotel features an all day dining restaurant, serving both Asian and Western cuisine, extensive meeting space and a Lobby Bar with an open terrace. The hotel is conveniently situated close to the main Embassy area in Sanlitun (3.2km), Exhibition centers (CIEC: 4.9km / CNCC: 6.5 km) and Beijing railway station (5.5 km). Our entire team looks forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng

Address: No.101 Jiaodaokou East Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Price Range: €69 - €98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Culture Beijing
Hotel Oriental Culture
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#93 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Mercure Beijing Dongcheng staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floor.”
  • Look at the grapes close up....
  • Rotting fruits plate. The banana was totally rotting inside.
 of 5 bubbles Travel2011Travel, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“ask for a high floor room”
 of 5 bubbles Daphna4911, 24 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Avoid Level 5 - intermediate sets of steps”
 of 5 bubbles RalphIraphne, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Sweet've booked a room was large and very wonderful, I do not know the rest of the description of rooms”
 of 5 bubbles lamyaab, 21 Mar 2015 | Read review
“I prefer a room at the back for quietness”
 of 5 bubbles TempleofPeace, 18 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5