We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel

Save
Share
Moi Avenue Opposite CBA Bank , Adjacent to Telkom Kenya, Mombasa 80100 Kenya
eDreams
Priceline
ZenHotels.com
Destinia.com
Agoda.com
FindHotel
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (75)
Dining (34)
Room & Suite (26)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#30 of 104 in Mombasa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel Mombasa is strategically situated within Mombasa Central business on the bustling Moi Avenue. It has 68 guest rooms all fitted with electric door locks, electric safes, TV, Dstv channels, Ultra Violet retardant windows, sound proofing, and en-suite. The hotel boasts a coffee bar, Long Bar and Restaurant.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Concierge
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, French
151Reviews2Q+A32Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 15
  • 45
  • 52
  • 24
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
chiggu wrote a review Jan 2022
Watamu, Kenya3 contributions
The hotel was very clean Ac was amazing the staff were incredible even the head chef he went out of his way to make me gluten free foods and brought gluten free flour to make my pancakes. The day I was leaving he made me a take away bag for the airport such amazing service. The front office staff were amazing kind and so considerate they adhered to all my needs. Lastly the askaris were amazing truly amazing they helped me with the bags at 2am in the morning waited until the taxi came and helped us I can’t say anything more the staff is an asset to your hotel and I hope you continue to recognise them
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: Hotel has private parking which is a bonus
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
DubaiChamp wrote a review Mar 2020
Dubai65 contributions28 helpful votes
No aircon in the lobby, breakfast do not have much options for vegetarians and it was just disappointing, terrible bathrooms, very old and damaged pipe fittings in the bathroom. the flies which are normally born out of unhygienic conditions, you can see here. spilt a/c which was working well, you have a wall mounted fan too. towels are just fine and the sleep quality was okay. staff are very nice and you have a parking space too. But I will not stay here again because of terrible bathroom particularly the shower area. you have restaurants and shopping areas around the hotel but nothing is worth it. the weather was terrible hot and humid, can't blame the hotel for that. Last but not the least, the room I was given did not have elevator access.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: choose a room which has closer access through elevators. Price is attractive but if you...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Luke K wrote a review Jan 2020
London, United Kingdom29 contributions16 helpful votes
Great hotel for a business trip or stopover in Mombasa. Very friendly, kind staff. Lovely outdoor restaurant/bar. Great food - try the fish and chips! Clean, simple rooms, good wifi - great stop off en route to the beach/back to Nairobi
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Nafisa S, General Manager at Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel
Responded 4 Feb 2020
Dear Lukkane, My team and I take this opportunity to thank you for creating time to review our hotel SENTRIM CASTLE ROYAL.We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and greatful that you gave us an opportunity to serve you. I have shared your experience and the your kind mentions of our hotel with my team and they cant wait to welcome you back. Pass my regards to your family and friends. We look look forward serve you again.
Read more
Meb V wrote a review Nov 2019
Squamish, Canada31 contributions3 helpful votes
Staff are unbelivable FANTASTIC. But Hotel is in Dire need of renovation or replacing essentials. Location is great for people who want to spend time away from beach resorts . Price is ok for 3 star ... though not many options in town center
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nafisa S, General Manager at Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2019
Dear Meb, Thank you creating time to review sentrim Castle Royal Hotel on this platform. We were happy to serve you and glad that you enjoyed your stay. We have already renovated a number of rooms and we working on covering the entire facility with time to serve you better. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit toour Hotel.
Read more
Coco Y wrote a review Nov 2019
11 contributions5 helpful votes
This hotel was recommended in a few guides and we wanted somewhere reliable with a central location in Mombasa. The Castle Royal Hotel was fine. We followed advice and asked for a room at the back. The room was spacious and well equipped. The room servicing was a bit strange and the bathroom was worn, not renovated and seemed a bit stained, not dirty but water stains. It might have been something in minerals in the water. This hotel is old but that means character. One of the staff told us there are restrictions on making changes because its historical. But is has modern facilities such as wifi. The TV didn't have many channels. The lift is very slow and somebody said sometimes it didn't work. We felt safe here because there is visible and reasonably efficient security. Breakfast was OK and it was served on the terrace looking out on the street, one of the nice features of the hotel. But a bit noisy. On the subject of food, the restaurant service was slow. Took ages for food to come and it was OK but not great. The friendly waiters spent a lot of time chatting. The reception staff were better - efficient and helpful. Castle Royal Hotel was fine for a quick side trip to enjoy the history and coast at Mombasa. Its pretty close to the Fort and we did a bit of shopping in the city centre too. But if I went back I would probably go for accommodation nearer the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Nafisa S, General Manager at Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2019
Dear Coco, Thank you for your time and review of the castle Royal Hotel. Indeed we take our guest security the with the priority it deserves. We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and city bustle at the terrace restaurant. I pologize on behalf of my team for the meal timing and the "missed mark"observations you made on our staff. We have indeed taken corrective actions to ensure that we redeem our standards to the best it has been over the decades of service to our invaluable guests. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you better and want thank you for your business. Please contact me directly on nafisa.sayed@sentrim-hotels.com to sher with you more on how we can make you next visit the best you will remember. TIll then We owe you memeorable service!!!
Read more
Evonez S wrote a review Nov 2019
Nairobi, Kenya4 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel is good, the staff are great especially the reception area and waiters are also great but they seemed idle laughing so loudly at the corner near the coffee bar to an extend of high five and they serve really slow On my stay which was a three day business stay at the hotel, was okay. The room was great but the lights kept producing a very strange sharp annoying sound when dimming and couldn’t stop so I had full bright lights on. Another thing I noticed is that on the second day after coming back from a long day work, walked into the room , yes the room was clean but arrangements of pillows weren’t put together as I’d expect they were just left on the other bed where I had flopped them . Apparently my room had two beds. Another thing I noticed is that the bathroom had white stains on the floor soapy or maybe coz your water is salty and soap wasn’t really changed by the housekeeper. Talking about the room service menu it’s so limited even though they offer other variety when you call. So on my second day I ordered chicken wings and fries. Talk about paying for a disappointing meal. The passion juice was great though but you have to change how you make your wings and fries. I don’t think the potatoes were fresh at all and they were too dry and the food took long to be brought the waiter arrived with the food and I paid in cash surprisingly she didn’t have notepad and pen so I had to help her mine for her to write the receipt number from mpesa. I’ll attach the pictures below.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nafisa S, General Manager at Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel
Responded 12 Nov 2019
Dear Evonez, Thank you for taking time to review castle Royal Hotel on this forum. My team and I are greatful for your kind words on our Front Office team and will continue to serve you better in the future days. We are very sorry for your bad experience in the areas you have outlined. We have convened with my lead team and worked on away forward to ensure that we get another chance to serve you better. You have my personal commitment to ensure your comport when you choose to visit next time. Kindly contact me directly on nafisa.sayed@sentrim-hotels.com at your convinience so that we can share more on making you next visit one of akind.
Read more
ashrafbakr wrote a review Oct 2019
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia104 contributions60 helpful votes
This hotel is old...yet it has reasonable facilities. There is reasonable wi fi connection, flat TV with very limited channels. The elevators are really slow. They serve a good breakfast, yet the dinner is really slow to come. It is downtown so you can enjoy some shopping if you are interested.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Nafisa S, General Manager at Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel
Responded 29 Oct 2019
Dear Ashraf, Thank your for creating time off your busy schedule to reveiw our facility on this platform. We are glad you loved Castle Royal Hotel and will contuinue to better our services especially where we missed the mark. I have addressed the issue of meal time with my production team and assure you whatever the challange was has been ironed out. We look forward to your next visit so that we can show case our improvemnts to you, your family and friends. TIll then we appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back home away from home. Kindly contact me on nafisa.sayed@sentrim-hotels.com to share more on how we can make your next visit even much much better.
Read more
chuckrapp wrote a review Jun 2019
Indianapolis, Indiana113 contributions44 helpful votes
We had a late afternoon lunch. The food was good although a bit slow to reach us. Service was also good. Portions were large, and my meal tasted very good. Prices are reasonable to the location. They even had Coke Zero which is always a plus.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Nafisa S, General Manager at Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel
Responded 23 Jun 2019
Dear Chukrapp, Thank you for taking time to reveiw our hotel on this platform. We have adressed the issue of time with my service and production team and wish to asure you that you can only expect the best in your next visit. Castle indeed offers great sumptous meals at compettive prices, Our location is central to almost all guest needs & destinations around the exotic coastal city of Mombasa. We appreciate your mentions on this, We look forward to see you again and server you better in your next visit.
Read more
Anil Sharma wrote a review May 2019
New Delhi, India378 contributions79 helpful votes
This hotel is right in the centre of the city and possibly very old hotel and probably that's the reason for its old buildings and rooms. It has a casino in the hotel as well if you like it. But to me its a decent place and you have pretty good option in Mombasa to stay at the same price.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Nafisa S, General Manager at Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel
Responded 13 May 2019
Dear Assham, Thank you for creating time to review our Hotel Sentrim Castle Royal. Castle Royal is indeed centrally located and you can easily access almost all essential guest destinations within the costal city of Mombasa. We fall under the National heritage sites just like fort jesus museum only 7 minutes drive away and we are prohiobited to make any major changes to the establishment. with the building dating back to over a hunderd years. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look foward to hosting you again and again. Please note that we will never miss an opportunity to continue getting better and to make your visit a golden story. See you soon Assham!!
Read more
Myra E wrote a review Oct 2018
Kenya193 contributions42 helpful votes
The hotel is in mombasa county 001 in kenya.The city painted white and blie What stood out for me was the kindness of the staff..the hotel has ACs so one is not affected by the heat outside...there is a casino for game lovers and their swahili dishes are just the best...experience swahili culture while there...the hotel is within town that means you can easily access all places for your plesure ie beach, ferry etc.looking for a good place to sleep while in mombasa..Castle Royal will do.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Nafisa S, General Manager at Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel
Responded 18 Oct 2018
Dear Myra, Thank you for your positive review of Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel . We work very hard to ensure we meet and exceed your expectations. Your recognition to such efforts is indeed the icing on the cake. My team and I feel more motivated and energized to welcome you again on your next visit which eagerly looking forward to. Pass our warm regards to your amazing team, We enjoyed serving you !!
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
castle royal mombasa
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceMombasa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
68
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Mombasa Tusks (0.3 km), Shree Cutch Satsang Swaminarayan Temple (0.5 km), and Mombasa Memorial Cathedral (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Shehnai Restaurant, Blue Room Restaurant, and Qaffee Point.
Does Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Mombasa.
Does Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Town (1.1 km), Leven House (1.0 km), and Fort Jesus (0.6 km).