We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Mount Kenya Road Off Links Road, Mombasa 90414 Kenya
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$184
View deal
Travelocity
US$184
View deal
Trip.com
US$118
View deal
Hotels.comUS$184
Destinia.comUS$124
FindHotelUS$187
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (159)
Pool & Beach (40)
Room & Suite (23)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 16/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Mombasa Beach Hotel
Updated 16/10/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#46 of 104 in Mombasa
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mombasa Beach Hotel is under the flagship of Kenya Safari Lodges & Hotels is located in the Kenya’s North Coast. It is only 10 km from Mombasa Town and 18 km from the Moi international Airport Mombasa.. It is a prime destination for conferencing and leisure in its many conference outlets. Various kinds of water-sports are available, in addition to excursions to Marine Park, nature trails, Old Mombasa Town and cultural villages.Despite the Hotel’s proximity to Mombasa itself, it exudes an air of tranquility with huge and well maintained tropical gardens that provide welcome shade in the heat of the day. Overlooking the Indian Ocean are its white sand beach suitable for sand bathing, wedding and public functions at the Cavern Beach Bistro. All the 152 rooms have SPACIOUS SEA FACING BALCONIES. The hotel has 145 Standard rooms and 6 Executive Suites. All the rooms are equipped with guest amenities with a recent addition of satellite TV/DSTV, wireless internet connections and split unit air conditioning systems.The hotel has four bars namely:-Kaskazi Bar, Deck Bar, Pool bar, Sports Centre Bar.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting rooms
Spa
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Room types
Ocean view
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
134Reviews3Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 19
  • 35
  • 36
  • 21
  • 23
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Michael J wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution
The meals from that hotel are the best that I have ever had since I discovered the purpose of my tongue. They were truly exceptional. The staff were also friendly, cheerful, and accommodating. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who ever visits the city of Mombasa.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Beatrice Muriithi, Owner at Mombasa Beach Hotel
Responded 20 Feb 2022
Dear Michael, Thank you for taking your time to leave us this amazing review and rating us an honest 5 star! Wow, we cannot thank you enough. We are humbled and glad to have been at your service. You are most welcome again and again, we look forward to hsting you in the near future. For inquiries and bookings, please reach us on 0794671609 or email info@kenya-safari.co.ke.
Read more
Suz wrote a review Jan 2022
4 contributions
I was given room 435 and it was horrendous..a very run down, tired room. This is the review of the room (I have attached photos) • very very weak wi-fi in the room • TV battery not working, I had to ask for a replacement • the bathroom tap as well as the aircon were leaking - woke up to a pool of water on the floor • balcony door not properly closing and had no lock (which felt unsafe) • stained doors and worn out walls in dire need of paint • the floor is worn out, rough and badly needs vanish • main door to the room has to be pushed hard to close and lock. It had a lose door handle and a rusty key • every metal item in the room is rusted. • no hot water in shower • very tired bedding...faded bedcover After complaining, they gave me a slightly better room. All the rooms in the whole wing and as a matter of fact, the whole hotel need an urgent upgrade. Before you book...INSIST on seeing the room!!! The only good thing in the hotel is the view and the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Beatrice Muriithi, Owner at Mombasa Beach Hotel
Responded 18 Jan 2022
Dear Gakare, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are sorry that you did not have a great experience. Your feedback is important to us, we are known for taking ownership and caring deeply about our customers. With regards to the issues raised, we have escalted them to the Management for attention. You have our committment that we are doing everything possible to upgrade and inprove the hotel in the course of this year (2022) and hopefully by end of year, you will allow us to invite you again to see the improvements. Please feel free to contact us on 0794 671609 or sales@kenya-safari.co.ke for updates and/or more information about our Lodges Voi Safari Lodge and Ngulia Safari Lodge.
Read more
Marshall S wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Everything about this hotel is terrible - from the food to the service. It badly needs renovations. The fountain in front is full of filth. Beatrice, the person helping me, was evasive, incompetent, and rude. Every cost she provided was lower than the actual cost. I was picked up 30 minutes late from the airport. The WiFi didn’t work most of the time. The beach is dirty and there’s trash in the sand. The music playing by the pool is so loud that you can hear it from anywhere on the hotel all the way up to night. The plates and glasses were dirty. There were periodic power outages. If you are looking for a relaxing and nice vacation, do not stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Beatrice Muriithi, Marketing at Mombasa Beach Hotel
Responded 19 Dec 2021
Dear Marshall, Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry to hear about your experience. Your feedback helps us do better. We are known for taking ownership and caring deeply about our customers and with regards to internal issues concerning the hotel, you have our commitment to improve the way we serve every customer. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and hopefully, you will give us your feedback on the ground to assist make your experience better. Please know that your situation was an exception. The package in which you were booked included full board accommodation (meals only plan), airport transfers and flight as requested by your agent. All of which were 100% fulfilled without any demand for any extra/hidden cost related during your stay with us. To clarify, the costs you have referred to were on your individual requirement for a Covid-19 test and taxi fare to & from the health facility which are external costs (not related to the Hotel package). It is fair to acknowledge that throughout the interaction with the external service providers as we tried to assist you, you were present, updated and all/any communication shared with you via WhatsApp. These costs are not determined by the hotel or its’ employees and our assistance was limited to linking you and relaying the information to you as and how it was available/received including the contact details for you to verify. Due to this assistance, you were tested and managed to get your Covid-19 test results within 5hours, a process that takes 24hrs. Please be assured that our intentions and actions were sincere and genuine.
Read more
Brian a wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
+1
Best meals ever especially the lunch hour and dinner Accessibke to the beach Welcoming employees Well maintained Comfortable for family visits Very spacious Verry affordable Verry friendly place The swimming pool is so spacious and clean Good environment for videography
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Beatrice Muriithi, Owner at Mombasa Beach Hotel
Responded 2 Nov 2021
Dear Brian, Thank you for this amazing review and rating us 5-Star. Wow! We are humbled, grateful and best of all delighted that you had an wonderful experience. We look forward to hosting you again. Karibu Sana. For inquiries and/or bookings, please contact 0794671609 or email info@kenya-safari.co.ke
Read more
Juma P wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
It was such an awesome experience. I'm looking forward to be there again during my vacation. The crew is so accommodating, rooms are very spacious with well served meals. The pricing is also moderate enough to accommodate all classes.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Beatrice Muriithi, Owner at Mombasa Beach Hotel
Responded 3 Sep 2021
Dear Juma, Thank you for this amazing review and rating us 4-Star. We are humbled and grateful. We look forward to hosting you again. Karibu Sana. For inquiries and/or bookings, please contact 0794671609 or email info@kenya-safari.co.ke
Read more
Paul Smith wrote a review Jul 2021
Mombasa, Kenya19 contributions6 helpful votes
On the positive side , the staff at the beach bar are very friendly and the food is very good . The downside , the staff on the front desk/reception are typical of a government owned hotel , hopeless and rude and couldn't careless . Overall the rooms are in dire need of refurbishment as is the hotel in condition in general .is poor. Cost of staying is out of step with the facilities Kes 10-15,000 per night , suspect cheaper prices for residents. My recommendation is to avoid , Unfortunately I don't see any improvement soon.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Beatrice Muriithi, Owner at Mombasa Beach Hotel
Responded 3 Sep 2021
Hello, Thank you for sharing your positive and constructive feedback and rating us. We sincerely apologize for the bad experience with our staff. It is our goal to restore your confidence by assuring you that we have addressed the issues you have raised and rectified to ensure they do not happen again. Thank you again, for your honest feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Best regards BM
Read more
Kenya Geographic wrote a review Dec 2019
Nairobi, Kenya98 contributions15 helpful votes
+1
The Mombasa Beach Hotel located at the North Coast of Kenya neatly sits on a beachfront with all the balconies of its 152 rooms providing breathtaking views of the Indian Ocean and its sandy white beach. Built in 1969, the hotel has had 3 complete refurbishments in 1986, 2001 and 2006 to give it its current look. The beach hotel, alongside its sister hotels, the Voi Safari Lodge in Tsavo East National Park and Ngulia Safari Lodge in Tsavo West National Park have an interesting ownership story. The 3 belong to the government courtesy of the Kenya Safari Lodges and Hotels (KSLH), a limited company incorporated in 1966. KSLH itself started operations in 1969 under the management of UK-based Hallways Hotels Ltd until 1974 when the African Tours and Hotels Ltd took over but later relinquished control to KSLH in June 1998 after it went under receivership. The main shareholders of KSLH today are the Kenya Tourism Development Corporation, CDC, Mountain Lodge (TPS) and the Kenya Wildlife Service. With a strategic beach location in the Nyali area of Mombasa's north coast, proximity to great tourist attractions and Nyali's buoyant shopping experience, the 3-star hotel has a lot going for it if only it can re-engineer itself to be at par with its peers in the same rating. Perhaps it is time for another makeover? Either way, the hotel provides excellent access to the ocean and the beach that will always be a plus for it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
semehar s wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions
Wish to visit Mombasa, am from Ethiopia so we are neighbors and i have amusing images for Mombasa. Am not married yet we plan for next year or after year and half months. i really wish if i spend my honeymoon there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Kelly R wrote a review Aug 2019
4 contributions
Voyager is always a best place to be and I have been here before and it will never be my last visit. Hospitality is truly amazing, the warm ambience given at the reception was very excellent. Rooms were very good and well spaced out, thank you housekeeping for ensuring that we were comfortable. Food was fresh, delicious and had alot of variety and the staffs went ahead and extra mile serve us some of the foods that we had requested for, cocktails were amazing and I would advise people to book for the All inclusive. Thank you for the cake organised to celebrate our parents wedding anniversary and the presentation from the Mombasa Roots Band it was a very wonderful suprise. Daily evening entertainment was again something that I would not miss, always a great suprise package. Not forgetting the only one Beautie who was so nice to our family, who regularly ensured that we are okay, impressed that the nurse and her always checked on mum when she was unwell and ensured that she got all the care, thank you so much. Just be an extra careful with the Monkeys they can mistake your burger with your phone, they are always playful as they like biting.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
geyMBUHG wrote a review May 2019
Nairobi, Kenya78 contributions23 helpful votes
This hotel is full of untapped potential. Has fantastic grounds next to the beach but indigenous vegetation that gives that wilderness feeling. Facilities really need a makeover. Food is great. Swimming pool is run down. But you can overlook that and enjoy the white Sandy beach
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$78 - US$134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
KenyaCoast ProvinceMombasa
NUMBER OF ROOMS
156
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mombasa Beach Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Moonshine Beach Bar (0.4 km), Nyali Centre (1.2 km), and Oyana Tours & Travel (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Misono, Roberto's, and Zains Barbeque House.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Mombasa Beach Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Old Town (5.2 km), Leven House (5.3 km), and Fort Jesus (5.9 km).
Does Mombasa Beach Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Mombasa Beach Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.