We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Porini Lion Camp

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Porini Lion Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

567 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Porini Lion Camp
See the most recent reviews
Showing 549: English reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Incredible! Top notch service and amazing experience!! Everyone with Gamewatchers was professional, passionate and knowledgable. Simply a wonderful experience from beginning to end - a truly memorable honeymoon!! :)))

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AandJ2016
Leirvik, Norway
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We wanted to go to the Porini Camps because of their idea. They are environmentally-friendly Eco-Camps. They aim to work closely with communities living alongside national parks and wildlife reserves to help them derive benefits from conserving wildlife species and the indigenous habitat. From the day we landed at Kenyatta Airport, we were taken such good care of. Everything went...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camilla M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

My 7th visit to this camp and still not had enough! Each trip is different as the wildlife is so unpredictable, but one thing is as close to certainty as possible - sighting big cats in the conservancy! Please don't go if you want a very relaxing holiday, because it's full on from the moment you arrive. From early morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NBVarteg
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We traveled here in September 2016 and stayed at 3 Porini camps - Amboseli, Lion and Bush camp. These camps provided an extremely up close and personal experience. Porini, as a whole, and in terms of location exceeded our expectations. We expected to be within feet of the animals in their environment, their home, and this is what we received....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mp-din
Germantown, TN
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We spent 3 nights at Porini Lion camp and absolutely loved our time there. We have traveled before in Africa but this was our first time in the Mara - which is a magical place for wildlife. The tented camp provides spacious tents where at night you can hear hyena, hippos nibbling by your tent, lions and other wildlife. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank teresa18
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Having been to a variety of camps across Africa over the years I enjoyed the trip to Porini Lion the most. We were made to feel extremely welcome upon arrival and our guide Mashek made the game drive unforgettable. In comparison to other drivers we saw in the conservancy and reserve, he always made sure our safari van was the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank akuldip1
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2016

My husband and I have stayed at all of the Porini camps over the past 5 years - twice at Lion and Mara Camps, once at Rhino and Mara Bush Camp, and three times at Amboseli - so I feel qualified to comment on these camps. I am dismayed to read some negative and scathing reviews of these camps and...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Carol J
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

I had high expectations following a previous visit. I visited on this occasion to see the migration and I was not disappointed. The camp is extremely open and authentic in comparison to other camps. I love that the camp has a strong emphasis on being eco-friendly as this resonates perfectly with the natural surroundings. There aren't any fixed structures like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kiran_a123
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 September 2016

After 10 wonderful days in Kenya with all Porini camps setting such a high standard, I was not to be disappointed upon arrival at Lion Camp - the huge beautifully decorated tent, lovely dining room, small inviting lounge area filled with happy guests exchanging stories - the camp so perfectly situated in the Mara. After the usual genuine welcome and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karen J
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Been in Tanzania and Kenya for 2 weeks and stayed in many camps... None were as poorly managed and maintained as this one. Facilities left much to be desired, service was disastrous and the manager looked and acted more like a gang leader than someone who should know and work in the hospitality business. Admittedly in this camp I saw...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Liban10452
Jake G, Owner at Porini Lion Camp, responded to this review

I was most concerned to note your comments and I am very sorry that you were so unhappy about some aspects of your experience at our camp. In addition to our own camp, we had also arranged for you to stay at some of the top class boutique camps in East Africa of a higher category than ours, as part...

779 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (757)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
3:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (589)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
29.8 km away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#4 of 8 in Masai Mara National Reserve
933 reviews
17.1 km away
Governor's Camp
Governor's Camp
#14 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
867 reviews
15.9 km away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.0 km away
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
Mara Serena Safari Lodge
#21 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
874 reviews
1.0 km away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
242 reviews
15.5 km away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 138 in Masai Mara National Reserve
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Porini Lion Camp

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Porini Lion Camp is located in the exclusive 20,000 acre Olare Orok Conservancy bordering the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, home to an abundance of animals. With 10 spacious comfortably furnished tents, each with private verandahs and en-suite bathrooms, the camp is small and exclusive giving a real bush experience. Guests enjoy the game drives in open 4x4's, escorted bush walks with Maasai warriors and sundowners. The Camp is the perfect base to experience the annual wildebeest migration. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Porini Lion Camp

Address: Olare Motorogi Conservancy, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: €774 - €1,298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Porini Lion Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Porini Lion Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porini Lion Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Lion Camp Kenya, Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Porini Lion Camp staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Porini Lion Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“if you can get a tent under the trees it is a bit cooler during the day.”
 of 5 bubbles keithbW3220WB, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All the same”
 of 5 bubbles NBVarteg, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“#1 Tembo was just off the river bank and an excellent sport for listening and viewing animals coming into and through the camp.”
  • Lots of Room and Great Animals
 of 5 bubbles Panda1098, 27 Aug 2016 | Read review
“There are no bad rooms here.”
 of 5 bubbles kpotz99, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All Tents are SUPERB — It's the Staff and Setting Who SHINE!”
 of 5 bubbles , 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay