We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Offbeat Mara Camp

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masai Mara National Reserve
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Offbeat Mara Camp
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 216: English reviews
Start your review of Offbeat Mara Camp
 Click to rate
Manchester-by-the-Sea, Massachusetts
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my fourth safari, third to the Mara, and I had high hopes and higher expectations. I always want this time to be better than the next. After 6 nights at Offbeat Mara, I can safely say I've just had the best safari yet. We were blessed to have David and Kapen as our guide and spotter. I've had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amybatt
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent review and for the taking the time to write it. I will pass on your comments to the team. David and Kaapen as you say are both excellent and complement each other very well. Kaapen has been spotting for around 30 years and has an amazing set of eyes, especially for cats. I...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We only spent two nights at the camp and wish it had been longer. Chania and Jessie were wonderful hosts and extremely competent managers, they made us feel right at home. Our driver Joseph and guide Kimani were knowledgeable about the animals and their habitat, and nothing was too much trouble for them. Would wholeheartedly recommend this camp to anyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review here and I will pass on your comments to Chania, Jesse, Joseph and Kimani. Great you enjoyed the safari shower and I hope to welcome you back at Offbeat Mara for a longer stay in the future. Piers

Michigan
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had heard good things about this camp including a lot from a friend who had been here in December. Everything lived up to the great reviews. On arrival, camp manager Jesse welcomed me to the camp. I had been picked up by Kilmani and Joseph at the Mara North airstrip who were my guides throughout my stay. Jesse thoroughly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MichiganLaurena
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your detailed and excellent review of Offbeat Mara and I will pass your comments to Jesse, (Chania), Joseph, Kimani and the team. I am glad you worked the bucket showers out well! Also great that you got involved with the activities that we offer and were able to take excellent photos. All the guides are...

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 1 week ago

I can't say enough about the managers, guides and staff at Offbeat Mara. All are fantastic. Chania and Jesse, the two camp managers, are full of valuable information and are willing to make any arrangements to ensure a good stay. We were most fortunate to have Joseph as our guide. He met us at the Mara North airstrip and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Max G
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review here on TripAdvisor. I will pass on your comments to Chania, Jesse, Josphat and the whole team at Offbeat Mara. I am sorry you missed the elusive leopard, but hopefully that gives you a good enough excuse to come back and find one (or more!). Great you enjoyed a walking safari and...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our 8th trip to Africa and second to the Mara, Offbeat Mara camp did not disappoint. We stayed 6 nights, there were lots of activities and we loved them all. Morning game drives, afternoon game drives, sundowners,evening game drives and a walking safari. Lions galore, cheetahs, elephants, zebras, wildebeest, giraffes, hippos, too many more to mention. Lucky to see an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iflythedash
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review - and how lucky you were to see both an Aardwolf and Genet cat. I will pass your comments onto Chania, Jesse, Josphat and the team and hope that you come and stay again with us at Offbeat Mara in the future. Piers

Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 1 week ago

Offbeat Mara Camp was amazing! From the moment our Masai guides met us at the airstrip we knew we were in for an unbelieveable experience. The camp is beautiful, authentic and includes everything you need to be comfortable and pampered. The tents are luxurious and spotlessly clean, no easy feat without electricity or running water. Our hosts were knowledgeable and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesliebL665PO
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review here on TripAdvisor and i will pass your comments on to the team. Hope to see you again at Offbeat Mara Piers

Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a most enjoyable 5 days of safari at Offbeat Mara Camp. We were met by our guide, David and spotter Kappen and our wildlife adventure started straight away! the journey from the air strip to the camp was over the bush and so we soon found a lioness that had killed a zebra and had dragged the carcass...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidcox2017
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The most fantastic place - the staff are amazing and dealt with our every wish - the camp is run with no fuss at all but supreme efficiency - There are more animals here than anywhere in Kenya - The guides are so knowledgeable and professional. Our bed and tent were extremely comfortable and i have never slept better. Food...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank grantbarker
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review. The Offbeat valley is full of game and i am glad you enjoyed our guides. I do hope you return one day to Offbeat Mara Piers

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wow! This was my first visit to the Mara, and Offbeat was everything I dreamed of and more. Instead of saying what animals we saw, I've started listing the very few we didn't see! I discovered Offbeat on Tripadvisor, and from our first email about availability (we booked directly), I knew we were dealing with a truly incredible team. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex T
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review here on TripAdvisor and so fitting that you found us here! Our ground handling team in Nairobi can help organise your safari and the team in camp obviously did a great job too! As you say February is a lovely time to visit - warmer weather, few tourists, plenty of game (and...

Surrey, UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our fourth visit to Offbeat Mara, the last being in Sept 2013. We have always loved the camp and this time was even better. The staff, led by the excellent managers Chania and Jesse, cannot do enough for you, the food is excellent, and the camp has retained its balance of efficiency and informality that we like so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KevinW59
OffbeatKenya, Owner at Offbeat Mara Camp, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words here and fantastic that you could show your daughters the wonders of Kenya. I am glad you enjoyed the new features of our walking safaris and bush dinners and that Chaina and Jesse, Josphat and the crew looked after you all so well. The Offbeat pride are always such fun to watch...

338 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (310)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (203)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Masai Mara National Reserve hotels
27.0 km away
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
Eagle View, Mara Naboisho
#8 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
200 reviews
8.7 km away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#7 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
582 reviews
33.9 km away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#10 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 km away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#4 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
478 reviews
19.1 km away
Julia's River Camp
Julia's River Camp
#18 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
125 reviews
27.1 km away
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
Encounter Mara, Asilia Africa
#5 of 140 in Masai Mara National Reserve
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Offbeat Mara Camp

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Offbeat Mara Camp is a six tented traditional camp situated in the Mara North Conservancy in an area rich in wildlife. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Offbeat Mara Camp

Address: Mara North Conservancy | Masai Mara, Kenya, Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Masai Mara National Reserve
Price Range: €306 - €427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Offbeat Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Offbeat Mara Camp Kenya, Africa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Offbeat Mara Camp staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Offbeat Mara Camp staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Tent 3, the furthest from the main area, is quiet and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles susanwI4823OA, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had tent 3 , on the end , with beautiful views”
  • Very open comfortable tent
 of 5 bubbles davidgZ9308PO, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We had a two room tent with a wood floor. There was also a porch out front that we could sit on in the morning and have our coffee and tea. They would deliver it to your tent if you request it. It had two twins and a king bed with a curtain dividing it. It also had a bathroom. We had bucket showers that worked fine and it was not an issue at all. The water was warmed up and delivered after the morning or afternoon safari.. whenever you would want it. The tent closed up at night and it was very comfortable inside.”
 of 5 bubbles moemc57, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Tent 3 has an open view”
 of 5 bubbles liz8220, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Tent #3, furthest out, has loads of wildlife grazing in view in the mornings and afternoons... Perfect backdrop!”
  • In view of my tent
 of 5 bubbles AngiRivier, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5