We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (51)
Pool & Beach (18)
Room & Suite (14)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Save this hotel
and keep track of your top hotel finds.
Save now
Overview
  • Excellent87%
  • Very good10%
  • Average3%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“ginger tea”(2 reviews)
“wonderful team”(2 reviews)
“yoga studio”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Fatuma's Tower
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
44
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
44
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsginger teawonderful teamyoga studiosnapperwithin easy reachthe ownerprivate balconydaily yogahidden gemlamu townspent nightsan oasisamazing foodgilliesacaciaosmanjoseph
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for a homely, quiet time in a rustic peaceful environment this is the place for you. Lovely rooms, amazing food, friendly and helpful staff. They offer daily yoga lessons and discreetly placed meditation zones.

Thank Anne M
Reviewed 22 December 2016

I stayed at Fatuma's Tower 13 years ago and had great memories of this place. I was really looking forward to coming back and was not disappointed. At my arrival at the beach Osman picked me up and carried (both!!!) my bags to the hotel,...More

Thank Stefania P
Response from Gillies T, Manager at Fatuma's TowerResponded 24 December 2016

Thank you very much for a great review Stefania P! It was a pleasure hosting you and we are all glad you still enjoyed our hospitality even after 13 years of being away! Greetings from all of us!

Reviewed 8 December 2016

I spent 3 nights at Fatuma's Tower in October 2016, with 2 friends and absolutely loved it. Even though the property was not on the beach, it more than made up for it it terms of character and the beautiful rooms and furniture. The staff...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brindajacob
Response from Gillies T, Manager at Fatuma's TowerResponded 21 December 2016

Thank you Brinda, we always try our best and we hope you will be back again soon! Greetings from alll of us!!

Reviewed 6 December 2016

We travelled up to Shela from Nairobi for a weekend last month, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Fatuma's. Gillies, Osman and Joseph were all very welcoming, and the guesthouse itself is certainly unique. Although each of the rooms takes advantage of a particular feature...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janfox231
Response from Gillies T, Manager at Fatuma's TowerResponded 21 December 2016

Thank you janfo231 for the lovely review and for featuring us in your column! We hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future! You are much welcome!

Reviewed 17 September 2016

I have been a regular fan and stayed often here. However on our last trip, I was most disappointed. Not only were all the good staff gone, leaving young, keen but inexperienced staff to try to manage things, but the place itself needed a lot...More

Thank sunderam
Response from Gillies T, Owner at Fatuma's TowerResponded 22 September 2016

Dear Sunderam, we read your comments and feel they are somewhat exaggerated. For example, the prawns you personally bought from an outsider fisherman. Your request was for us to pack them for you: we cannot be held accountable for anything that does not come directly...More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Things to do
Pool
Details
Price range
US$73 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Family Rooms, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$73 - US$116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Family Rooms, Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (51)
Pool & Beach (18)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (5)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Fatuma's Tower staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"The top floor roof top room is my favourite"
Read review
"Call and talk to the owner Gilies to get the room that suits your needs."
Read review
"Acacia roof Top suite, or a Top Appartment; also smoking is available outside each terrace of the room home."
Read review
"We stayed in the top floor room with its own roof terrace - fantastic in the evening looking over Shela with..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing