We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Heron Portico

Show Prices
#4 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Heron Portico
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Heron Portico
See the most recent reviews
Showing 386: English reviews
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Every time I travel to Nairobi I stay at the Heron Portico and always have a great experience. It's located right at city center, yet in a quiet area. The rooms are very comfortable - great place to relax and enjoy the ambience. The staff bend over backwards to help; they are extremely courteous. As a returning guest they remember...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barry L
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor Member, Thank you for an awesome review! It makes me happy to see that you left with an overall positive impression of our hotel, enjoyed the hospitality and had a pleasant experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards Sanjeev Tiwari General Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We stayed for one night only (transit from JKIA to Wilson Airport), and thought the hotel was a good choice. The common areas are very nice, though the rooms themselves (especially the bathroom) could do with some freshening up. Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel (suggest avoiding the steak!) but otherwise, there was good selection of international and local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bearcare
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from The Heron Portico! I am truly delighted to read your feedback pertaining to the bespoke services. I will surely convey your encouraging words of appreciation to our Star staff and it is indeed a pleasure knowing that you had a short but memorable stay at the hotel. We have taken a note of your feedback on...

Nairobi
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We have been long standing clients of Heron and quite surprised by the review , just had all our three high level meetings there , in fact this morning - meeting facilities are just fine , especially if you ask for the large room which has an open balcony- snacks and tea go beyond the standard samosas and mandazis -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sareen M
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is a pleasure to receive your review on TripAdvisor. The Heron Portico offers relaxing ambience coupled with world-class amenities and bespoke services that make every guest’s visit a delightful one such as yours. The team is ecstatic to receive your appreciation. We are pleased to know that our ambience, room size and especially the service exceeded your...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 12 October 2016

terrible terrible terrible services and would not recommend any serious business/institutions or conference delegate to use the venue because they lack capacity to hold basic meetings . they frustrated my delegates, and ran out of supplies for breakfast, the meeting room was stuffy, the staff were confused etc this was by far the most horrible experience for my delegates who...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyne87
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, My team and I are deeply concerned that your overall experience at the hotel was less than satisfactory – please accept my heartfelt apology. All of us at The Heron Portico are committed to ensure that every guest feels welcomed and receives service which is friendly, attentive and timely. We are here to delight our guests and create...

Reviewed 11 October 2016

We only stayed an overnight stay here before our safari holiday. We had a large room well-equipped room although bathroom quite basic. Large selection of breakfast too. We didn't use the pool or gym but looked inviting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank inSens
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for sparing your valuable time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to note that the architecture, cleanliness and ambience were to your immense liking. We make all efforts to maintain the high standards of service quality that the The Heron Portico is renowned for. We are delighted that we have been successful...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Nice and quiet hotel located walking distance from the city centre, small restaurant serving nice international and local food. Rooms are big with quality furniture. The service was very good and the price adequate to what you get. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting such motivating comments on Trip Advisor. It gives us an immense sense of satisfaction to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As a hotel, we pride ourselves in the fact that our guests feel at home and have a sense of luxury being offered to them without being intrusive. Your special...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

I'm staying rather frequently at the Heron for business. Compared to other hotels in the city, it is reasonably priced. The rooms are OK, small gym is available and breakfast is included. However, the hotel could better maintained. Small things are sometimes not functional and the breakfast is not the best. Overall good value for money for Nairobi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TobiPong
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I have stayed at the Heron twice since my last review and I just need to say this...it is surely my home away from home!! Accept for the comfortable, clean rooms and the world class meals custom prepared if need be, I must confess that the staff is my favorite aspect of the hotel. Always friendly, always helpful and always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KarinMay2016
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback and recommending The Heron Portico to other travelers. I am glad to know that you enjoyed the facilities and services of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Sanjeev Tiwari General Manager

Nairobi
Reviewed 29 September 2016

The hotel is very well-run. The staff are welcoming and very professional (special mention for Caesar on the front desk and the team in the restaurant). The rooms are clean and comfortable and the location is perfect - easy walking distance to the centre of town. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IzzyNairobi
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from The Heron Portico!! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on us. We are completely delighted with your comments and glad to know you were pleased with the hotel overall and i shall certainly share your feedback with the team. It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to...

Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

The Heron portico is one of the best hotels you can visit in Kenya ,with the best service ,good and suitable rooms with delicious food from East Africa ...Also with good workers like sharon from the gift shop with the best service also David mamwaniki the office front manager with his good caring to the customer and kind young man...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this review

Dear Kelly M, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Heron Portico and sparing time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed our service and offerings. Your kind words of appreciation has been a great source of inspiration for our team and has motivated them to serve better thus ensuring our...

187 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (155)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
1,219 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
909 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Heron Portico is Nairobi's finest and best known business hotel located at a distance of 3 kilometers from the city center and about 18 kilometers from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport. The hotel offers accommodations in 108 guest rooms and suites, outdoor swimming pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam room and Gift shop. The hotel is known for its food and beverage offerings, where drinks and meals are served continuously from morning till evening. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Heron Portico

Address: Milimani Road, Opp. Provincial Police Headquarters | P. O. Box 41848, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: €98 - €177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron Portico 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Heron Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heron Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Heron Portico staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Heron Portico staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Heron court is a well-run hotel that catered for all my needs including excellent breakfast which is included.”
 of 5 bubbles manglaa2016, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the 4th floor are more spacious and they allow you a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles debbien28, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Makutano Conference Hall is spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles winvicky2005, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Faceing the pool”
 of 5 bubbles robbybresson, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we had a corner double twin room on the fifth floor with sunny large breezy windows with great view of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles 657julisav, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5