We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sarova Stanley

Show Prices
#8 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sarova Stanley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,088 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sarova Stanley
See the most recent reviews
Showing 969: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In the heart of Nairobi, close to all govt and university of Kenya, this hotel is a treat, reeking of colonial history this hotel is really cool, good friendly staff, very secure , rooms good size and comfortable, food is also great and has its own little shopping mall and great pool area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NerveEventsSA
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of sarova stanley and for the time taken to share your experience with us. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were also able to relate with our rich heritage. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, excallent service & quality. We've stayed here several times ä- can't count how many. Enjoyed the athmosphere and friendliness of people - special thanks to Caroline at quest relations - we love you <3

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marjo123
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support, patronage and loyalty over the years. We are honoured to host you each time and more so to receive and learn of your wonderful stay with us once again, we are proud that our associates have once again delivered on service promise of Refreshing African Hospitality. We look forward to hosting you again...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here overnight before heading out on a safari and only wished we would've had more time to enjoy this beautiful hotel! It was lovely in every way and we were grateful for the excellent service and beautiful atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for the time spared to share your experience with us. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the not distant future.

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I recently attended the East Africa Propak. Being a trade show meant being on your feet the entire day. The Sarova has a steam room, sauna and amazing pool and gym. This ensured I was always fresh for the next day. Amazing staff who were always willing to go beyond to ensure service excellence to make you feel like you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 478vijendras
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage and for making us your preferred hospitality partner during your recent trade show. We are glad to note that our associates lived up to our service promise of refreshing African Hospitality and made you feel truly at home. We appreciate your endorsement and look forward to hosting you again in the...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very well positioned historic hotel downtown with excellent service, amazing breakfast buffet and 5th floor pool. We stayed with our toddler and they had a high chair available at breakfast. All staff was very friendly and eager to help. Only small disappointment was not being able to order a la carte lunch by the pool - only buffet at lunch...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank edietz1
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and for making us your preferred hospitality partner during your recent stay in Nairobi and for the time taken to share your experience with us. Your feedback is important to us as it allows us to know areas that need our additional attention as well as areas that we should maintain. We have...

Hoboken, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Sarova Stanley for one night after a two week long over land journey in Serengeti and Zanzibar. Sarova Stanley was a welcoming experience after many nights camping. From the first class attendants to the plush rooms you will not be disappointed. One experience that stood out was the service. We had to depart very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav C
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for making us you preferred hospitality partner during your recent visit to Nairobi. We are glad to learn that we were a welcome experience after many nights of amazing safari. More so to learn that this was not only because of camping but also due to the...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 16 March 2017

I recently had a business trip to Nairobi, staying at the Stanley. Upon entering you are met with abundance of green leather and wood and a lot of smiling faces! Typical colonial style. Service is impeccable and the rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. Great please to spend the evening after the Nairobi traffic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willem S
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for the time taken to share your experience with us. We are honored to note that you enjoyed your time with us and found the hotel relaxing after a long day’s work and tranquil haven from the hustle and bustle of the city. We look forward to...

CORVALLIS, OREGON
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We came early to go on safari and stayed at the Stanley for three days. The ambience, service, food, and staff were outstanding. We had a lovely, large room that was quiet and comfortable. We took the historic tour of the hotel from Joanne and it was extremely interesting, so many world events and famous visitors! The concierge services were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELJUNKIES01
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for the time taken to share your review with us. It gives us great honor to read learn that once again our associates lived up to our service promise of refreshing African hospitality and delivered a truly memorable holiday for you. We are glad to also read...

Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewed 14 March 2017

There may be lots of modern luxurious hotels in Nairobi but it is extremely hard to beat Stanley Sarova as it combines history, location, luxury, warmest attentiveness, hospitality and quality security. It provides an excellent breakfast, inside and small potted palms garden, with a wide variety of food for demanding tastes , fresh juices and fruits, traditional tasty Kenyan dishes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charalambos K
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your continued support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for making us your home away from home coupled with the time spared to share your experience with us. We are delighted to read your feedback and to learn that you once again enjoyed your stay with us and were able to delight in our various...

Abuja-FCT
Reviewed 13 March 2017

My experience of the Sarova Stanley hotel is simply fantastic. The food, neat room, swimming pool on the 5th floor, buffet , and all. Although the internet timed out few times, the speed was impressive when it was available. I would recommend this facility to any one who would love to take a business trip to Nairobi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristianMedupin
Paolo M, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your support and patronage of Sarova Stanley and for the time taken to share your experience with us. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have also taken note of your experience with our internet and have taken corrective measures to permanently address this. We thank you for your...

397 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (338)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (14)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
933 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 161 in Nairobi
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#5 of 161 in Nairobi
860 reviews
The Heron Portico
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
437 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Exchange Bar
Exchange Bar
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: €133 - €202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sarova Stanley staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
ca
ca
6 months ago
Bedfordshire
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Sarova Stanley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with good WiFi signal and a double bed.”
WillemS320, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the streets have nice views but noisy, inside rooms are quitter, corner rooms are preferable.”
charalambosk2015, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The right side of the hotel offers good view to the activities on the CBD -Street”
ChristianMedupin, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“high room for a better view. Make sure there is no construction going on.”
peterfF9940GL, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors will be quieter, if street noise troubles you.”
A6375PUpaulr, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5