We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sankara Nairobi

Show Prices
#11 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sankara Nairobi
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

818 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sankara Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Showing 781: English reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2016

This is my first evening here and so far everything has been wonderful. I want to write specifically about what a great job Julius did at the rooftop bar. He had great energy and it should be noted. Very nice hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenna R
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Jennah, Thank you for your recent feedback following your stay with us. We pride ourselves with delivering memorable experiences to our guests. We are very glad to hear that Julius at our Sarabi Pool and Supper Club extended memorable service to you. I have shared your kind words with Julius and your input serves as a great motivation factor...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

We booked a full day conference a few weeks ago and were surprised at the deteriorating standards of this hotel. Sankara is a shadow of its former self. We had issues with sound and lighting throughout the day. The breakfast selection they served was below average, probably the worst we've had at a conference in the recent past, no baked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foxychiri88
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Foxychiri, Thank you very much for your time to write a review of your experience during your conference. It is with great regret and concern that I have read that not all aspects of your stay were to your full satisfaction. Please accept my apologies for not living up to your expectations. I have shared our concerns with tour...

Abuja, Nigeria
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

I spent 5 nights in this Hotel and it was a wonderful experience. Service was really nice and the Executive lounge on the 7th floor was awesome. The pool and the well equipped Gym also on the 7th floor was very useful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey O
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Joey, Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the time you have taken to share a review of your stay with us. We are glad that you had a wonderful experience during your stay, enjoyed the service, found the Club Lounge awesome, and liked the pool and the gym facilities. We look forward to welcoming you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Hotel is extremely well presented from the minute I walked in. Staff were very friendly, rooms were tidy and spacious. Room service was quick and easy. One of the days I turned up late for breakfast (my own faults) but it wasn't an issue the staff made sure I had everything I needed. Rooftop bar was a nice touch, the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandeep V
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Sandeep, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Sankara Nairobi on Trip advisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to all our guests and we are glad that the same was extended to you during your stay....

California
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Great food, great staff . I always hear that Kenyan people are friendly got to experience that firsthand. First time in Africa and the experience was magical. Dennis the computer guy service was exceptional , taught me some Swahili and told me I was a natural :-) Asanti Dennis.He also assisted to purchase a selfie stick for my visit to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mitchy156
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Mitchy156, Thank you for such a complimentary review of your stay on TripAdvisor We are glad that your stay was pleasant and that our staff namely Dennis showed you the authentic Kenyan hospitality during your stay. We are pleased to learn that you found Sankara to be a beautiful place. I have shared your kind words with Dennis our...

Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

Wooow great to here tonight.i am loving everything about sankara.There comes another updated hotel.Quite modern.Exactly what everyone is looking for.classy and relaxed enviroment .I feel like meditating here.Am proud of it.Its quite warmly.staff here ?woow Amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lena M
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Lena, Thank you so much for sharing such a lovely review of your stay on TripAdvisor. I am so pleased to learn that your stay was amazing and that you found our team to be very warm. We do hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to stay again soon. Warm Regards, Mark J. French

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

Visited rooftop bar as a couple. Nice for sundowner after which you can relocate to your place of choice. Not much ambience and floor seems to be aging. Service is OK. You pay for parking. Atmosphere is relaxed with fresh air at the roof top. Average prices for its class.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at Sarabi Pool and Supper Club. We are glad that had a relaxed experience on your last visit. Your comment regarding the floor has been noted and is currently being addressed by Engineering team. We hope to welcome you back to Sankara for a great...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 22 February 2016

We had gone for some drinks the pool bar. Firstly, no one bothered to come and ask us if we would like a table or whether we were looking. We had to ask for a menu. Got a few rounds of drinks. Every other customer was given a plate of nuts, except for our table. We were clearly the only...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SheilPatel
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Sheil, Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We apologise for the unsatisfactory experience you had on your recent visit. Please note that it is not in the keeping of the Sankara family to discriminate against any of our guests. Our guests’ needs always come first irrespective of their race, nationality and religion. We hope this experience did...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 21 February 2016

Room was excellent. Super comfortable bed. Aircon system easy to operate. Check in very easy. Customer service excellent. Great shower. Water is very, very soft due to treatment so hard to wash out shampoo!! But great shower. Gym is easy and ample, quality equipment & also nice clean space. Very good food. Great location. Felt safe.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ElfLala
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Elflala, Thank you very much for your wonderful review following your recent stay at Sankara Nairobi. We are very happy, Sankara Nairobi with its facilities and services were up to your satisfaction and that you had an enjoyable stay. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Warm Regards, Mark J. French

Paris, France
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay in Nairobi ! Service food fitness all is great ! The rooms are spacious and well equipped the hotel is in excellent condition well maintained and located in one of the best business location in town highly recommended I will certainly go back there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominique P
Sankara N, General Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review

Dear Dominique, Thank you for taking your time to write such a kind review of your stay. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the food, rooms and that you found the hotel to be an excellent location. We look forward to your next visit, hopefully soon. Warm regards, Mark J. French

253 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (192)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
367 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,075 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#10 of 164 in Nairobi
812 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Graze
Graze
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Price Range: €178 - €265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sankara Nairobi staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Sankara Nairobi staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“High floors to escape street noise, or go for garden facing.”
 of 5 bubbles duncanbramwell, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“In City Hotel, surroundings are not too great. Busy area”
 of 5 bubbles tarlokm2017, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are all good”
 of 5 bubbles 162jacobb, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Junior suite. gives you access to the club lounge on the top floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Espadaman, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on higher floors are easily accessible to facilities such as the gym and the swimming pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Smaher90, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5