We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Seoul Base Camp Hostel

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Seoul Base Camp Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

56 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 51: English reviews
Start your review of Seoul Base Camp Hostel
 Click to rate
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

I believe this was one of the cheapest dorm at the time and even tho the bed cods can feel tiny, they will do for the short nights, I wish breakfast time could be a bit longer but I was quite surprised to even get anything for free for the price... awesome. The common room is cool, bathroom small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank czhunty
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

I spent a week in Seoul,This lovely hostel gave me a warm welcome . Friendly staffs, Rooftop that always open, located nearby Hongdae that you even can walk!(just 1station) Clean and cozy place.fresh made waffles and toasts for breakfast,I gave 5stars for this hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anya A
Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Seoul Base Camp Hostel is the perfect place to stay while in Seoul. The whole place is very clean and staff are extremely kind & helpful. Special mention to James Jason, Emmi and Lucia for making my stay great!!! Whether your looking to spend a long time in Seoul or just one night Seoul Base Camp should be your choice...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank james_wardle
Hyok K, Manager at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you. Our staffs are the best of any I've seen at other hostels. I'll let them know that you have remarked on their kindness.

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Seoul Base Camp Hostel in Seoul-Hapjeong was a great choice. Located in the Hapjeong area with many cafés, shops, and street food places, I enjoyed staying there. The hostel itself is located less than a minute walk from the nearest metro station (Hapjeong). International Hostel staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was great (waffles!) and their rooftop with a pig...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
Hyok K, Manager at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

This is so awesome to hear. We do our best everyday to deliver the same experience to everyone who walks through our door. Thank you.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 14 May 2016

It was my first time in Korea and my first solo trip. I am a Singaporean lady. It is really convenient, just a few steps away from the subway. The hostel caretakers are really friendly and i felt very welcomed when i stayed there for 2 nights. The place was well maintained and the ambience there was very warm and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ladySoloSGtraveller
Hyok K, Manager at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

True lady. Thank you for your kind review. Please come back anytime.

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 13 May 2016

Hello everybody. Just go to this hostel. It's the best, believe me. I am not joking. Everything is nice about it. There is just one thing. If you check in, it's difficult to check out, since you want to stay there endlessly. So make sure you have enough time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marieke d
Hyok K, Manager at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

No, you are the best. I wish you the best in your career in theatre and writing!

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 12 May 2016

The common space is peppered with awkward flirting and casual misogyny. Avoid if you dislike being in a large group of horny international 20-somethings. The beds are comfy, as long as nobody is rude enough to try to have sex. The front desk staff all stay at the hostel and I saw some of them(jason) be deliberately unhelpful to new...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank swamphoney
Hyok K, Manager at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. Although we do our best to promote a certain culture, guest to guest relation is an area we don't have much control over. We never project ourselves to be a party hostel, but we somehow consistently attract young travelers who are new to traveling. As to our staffs, I have had a...

Reviewed 7 May 2016

Everybody! I have been traveling awhile and Base Camp is one of the best hostels I have stayed at. I almost wanted to be selfish and not leave a review so that next time I come, the hostel wouldn't be fully booked (which it usually is anyway, because it's so lovely!) but to love is to share! Jake, who owns...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelsey C
Hyok K, Manager at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

We love you too, Chelsey. Please come back any time.

Jeju, South Korea
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Like most hostels, this one was great for meeting other travellers and the common lounge area was great for this. It's a neatly designed open space. Lots of guidebooks and tourist pamphlets were also great, wi fi worked flawlessly. Some of the staff were super friendly and helpful, others not so much. Unfortunately, overall cleanliness of the hostel was less...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quinnandherbackpack
Hyok K, Manager at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you for the feedback. We are always working to create the best place for solo travelers. Sorry about the cleanliness. We have been attacking this issue and we have seen much success in the bathroom and common area's overall cleanliness. We will turn up our effort to 11 so we can tackle the kitchen and bedrooms as well....

Dalian, China
Reviewed 5 May 2016

The place was clean and decent and the staff was helpful. It's very minimalist. Only problem: too noisy (and had roommates that were very loud and inconsiderate, but that's not the hostel's fault). Other than that it was a pretty good experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
Hyok K, Manager at Seoul Base Camp Hostel, responded to this review

Thank you. We will definitely tackle the noise issue. We currently have a tub of earplugs for free at the reception. We are looking to simply place them in each bed so everyone can easily be immune to their roommates' noise. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our cleanliness and staffs' welcome. That's where we really shine....

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seoul hotels
Hongdae Chef Guesthouse
#227 of 546 in Seoul
5 reviews
Circle Hotel Seoul
#403 of 942 in Seoul
3 reviews
Hongdae
Birdsnest Hostel
Birdsnest Hostel
#10 of 546 in Seoul
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Win Art House
#302 of 942 in Seoul
17 reviews
Lazy Fox Hostel
#9 of 546 in Seoul
110 reviews
Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
Rio House Hongdae
#4 of 942 in Seoul
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Base Camp Hostel is the best place to meet fellow travellers. Central location, only minutes from hundreds of bars / restaurants. Our weekend waffle brings all the guest to our rooftop kitchen in the morning.Description ... more   less 

Additional Information about Seoul Base Camp Hostel

Address: 3F 383-14 Hapjeong-dong, Mapo-gu, Seoul, South Korea
Region: South Korea > Seoul
Price Range: €9 - €18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Seoul Base Camp Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Seoul Base Camp Hostel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Seoul Base Camp Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the 10 bed mixed dorm. It's feeling fitting to wake up after a very, very long night of drinking in a coffin type structure”
chelseyc41, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“use the earplugs the hostel provides! and bring a sleeping mask.”
laurawB9296MH, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Bring your own lock for the lockers.”
yingyuez, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
“choose a bunk bed instead of a capsule bed”
538shereeny, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“I was content staying in a 4 bed dorm. It's not big, but big enough.”
theor118, 7 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hostelworld.com
* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates