We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Melanesian Port Vila

Agoda.comUS$93*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$103*
US$93*
Great Deal
US$103*
US$102*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Melanesian Port Vila
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 243: English reviews
Start your review of The Melanesian Port Vila
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Compared to what I would usually find in the south pacific the Melanesian offers quite a good value for what I pay for. It is definitely far from a five star but an average hotel with clean and comfortable room, functional bathroom and friendly and helpful staff. Its location which is only a less than five minute bus ride to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Settasak
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Settasak We thank you for the positive remarks about our rooms and friendly staff, and take note on the condition of our pillows provided and apologies for your experience. The location of The Melanesian is one of the selling values with visiting Tourists and we appreciate you pointing it out and we look forward to having you with us...

Mudgee, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 2 nights at the Melanesian as a layover stay when our flights were cancelled, rooms were pleasant and well presented, but the beds were the worst I have ever slept on, Formula One beds are far superior, even the kids complained. The food was good, the staff were lovely but not at all able to deal with anything out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tresham893
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind word on our room presentation and food quality. We express regret if our staff were unable to attend to your queries and if the room standards were below expectations. Be assured that The Melanesian is a Three Star hotel and we are moving forward to flourish at a measured pace.

Zambia
Reviewed 24 March 2017

As many others by now, this is not a resort we would have picked. Unfortunately, we were also rescheduled by Vanuatu Airlines and thus they booked us into the Melanesian for the night. We also did not pay for our stay or meals so we could not complain about the compromise we reached with the airlines over the rescheduled flight....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZambia
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Thank you Zambia for your compliments regarding our restaurant and bar services. Take note that your concern regarding the room placement and transportation of luggage’s at such time has been taken in to consideration. We sincerely apologize for this oversight and hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit.

Canada
Reviewed 23 March 2017

My partner and I were not sure what to expect upon arrival. We had quickly booked a hotel so that we could attend a wedding in Port Vila. We were welcomed at the airport by the hotel shuttle bus and given water and a slice of history from our guide on the way to the hotel. Off to a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annabrit_ca
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

We appreciate the wonderful comments and pleased that you are satisfied with our friendly hospitality services. We appreciate the positive remarks addressing our reception and restaurant staff and also advertising our Tour desk. We surely look forward to having you on your next trip to Vanuatu.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We stay there due to rescheduled flight, Vanuatu Airlines booked us for two nights.It isn't a resort but the room were lovely and the food was quite good.If you were looking for a place to just sleep while you do tours all day this would be the place.Close to centre of town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nannytraveller2014
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Nanny Thank you for your pleasant remarks regarding our room services and food. We Look forward to having you with us again.

Lemon Tree Passage, Australia
Reviewed 11 March 2017

This is not a resort I would have picked. Due to a rescheduled flight Vanuatu Airlines booked us into the Melanesian for three nights. We did not pay for our stay or meals so we could not complain about the compromise we reached with the airlines over the rescheduled flight. The place is old and dated. Recent renovations had been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Bob Thank you kindly for your sincere response concerning your accommodation with us. The Melanesian Port Vila is a three star Hotel that is flourishing in its own pace thus such remarks are taken as positive guidance to a more refined hotel in the future. We also thank you for contributing to our room-tip page, pointing out the location...

Reviewed 9 March 2017

Overall a great hotel. Good value for money. Room is clean & relatively spacious. The staff are lovely at the restaurant. Dinner each night was great, especially the nights with entertainment. Breakfast is basic but good. Disappointing that the manager doesn't seem to be interested in the guests, he doesn't acknowledge anyone except for his Japanese friends who he entertains...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelNicole14
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Dear Nicole We appreciate your wonderful comments regarding the room services, restaurant staff and compliments on the food served and also thank you for the feedback to improve on my guest interaction expertise. However in regards to your concern about the first aid medical kit, we apologies for your bad experience and any inconvenience we may have caused. We assure...

sydney
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We stayed here because of a change of flights and were very happy to stay here for a couple of nights. We stayed on the Wednesday night which they had a BBQ and entertainment which was fun with kava tasting. It was a good base to see port vila which was about 10 mins walk away. The pool restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzric
Hiroshark, Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Hi Suriz We are very grateful for this remarkable applause regarding your stay with us and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to have you with us next time.

Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here and were very impressed. For the price we paid we found it extremely good value room, public areas and pool side spotless. Staff were very friendly and would do anything to help. Room was a bit basic but has what we needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess G
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing The Melanesian during your holiday in Vanuatu. The Melanesian is a long time Hotel in Vanuatu and we are upgrading each year for the best of our guests. We appreciate the comments given in regards to accommodation, public areas and the wonderful feedback for the staffs. Hopefully on you next visit to Port Vila you will...

Queanbeyan, Australia
Reviewed 25 February 2017

The staff at this hotel treat you like you are family. They take time out to while working to have a little chat where ever possible & take personal interest in everything you do while you are there. The rooms we were in were quite modern & clean (with the exception of some baby cockroaches I seemed to have in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corey N
Hiroshark, General Manager at The Melanesian Port Vila, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding The Melanesian Port Vila and our employees personalized services. With regards to baby cockroaches we have contacted our pest control contractor to fumigate the room. Thank you for raising the matter to our attention. We also appreciate your other feedback regarding our services that will enable us to improve. We are looking forward to...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Vila hotels
1.8 km away
Chantilly's on the Bay
Chantilly's on the Bay
#26 of 47 in Port Vila
182 reviews
1.9 km away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#24 of 47 in Port Vila
129 reviews
0.6 km away
Grand Hotel And Casino
Grand Hotel And Casino
#19 of 47 in Port Vila
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Crystal Palace Hotel
Crystal Palace Hotel
#39 of 47 in Port Vila
6 reviews
0.9 km away
Poppy's on the Lagoon
Poppy's on the Lagoon
#23 of 47 in Port Vila
382 reviews
10.1 km away
Benjor Beach Club
Benjor Beach Club
#25 of 47 in Port Vila
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Only 10min walk from the heart of Port Vila town. Reasonable rates with quiet and comfortable atmosphere. A welcoming smile, friendly hospitality and good service are part of the culture at The Melanesian. Offering a number of guest room styles which satisfies everyone's needs. Our culture entertainment night with "All You Can Eat BBQ" at our Oasis Pool side is must see! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Melanesian Port Vila

Address: P.O. Box 810, Port Vila, Efate, Vanuatu
Region: Vanuatu > Efate > Port Vila
Price Range: €90 - €163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Melanesian Port Vila 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Melanesian Port Vila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Melanesian Port Vila Hotel Port Vila
Melanesian Port Vila
Melanesian Hotel Port Vila
The Melanesian Port Vila Vanuatu
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Port Vila
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Melanesian Port Vila staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take the third floor on the North side...no elevator”
bobsV3081QW, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“1st or Second floors are best”
kevinmG7062EP, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“One and two bedroom apartments are located at the back of the hotel.”
melk1975, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors are quieter, but pricier.”
kilrwat, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“taking a room on the 2nd and 3rd levels are great. all rooms face the pool”
753colinf, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$93* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$103
Expedia.comUS$102
TripAdvisorUS$93
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates