We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Selina La Candelaria Bogota

Save
Share
Calle 11 3 43 La Candelaria, Bogota 111711 Colombia
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$74
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$68
View deal
ZenHotels.com
US$56
View deal
TravelocityUS$68
eDreams
Hotels.comUS$68
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (74)
Room & Suite (54)
Dining (18)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#79 of 554 Specialty lodging in Bogota
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
In a city complete with everything from cozy coffee corners to dance-till- you-drop nightlife, from hipster neighborhoods to historic center, and with scenic views from all around, you’ll have lots to love during your stay. Selina Bogotá is located smack dab in the center of it all in the neighborhood La Candelaria, the historic, picturesque center. We’ve got an array of dorm options for every budget, as well as private rooms and suites. Bogota is waiting for you with open arms. Located in the hearth of the historic center of Bogota, Colombia’s thriving and multicultural capital. Known as the “Athens of South America” for its many universities and libraries. Bogota has also been recognized as an UNESCO City of Music since 2012. The historic center offer you museums, monuments, the largest gold collection in the world, government palaces, monserrate hill where you can have a beautiful view of the city, restaurants, squares and more.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Wifi
Yoga classes
Bar / lounge
Billiards
Evening entertainment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Yoga room
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Wine / champagne
Board games / puzzles
Nightclub / DJ
Shuttle bus service
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Fireplace
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish
70Reviews0Q+A2Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 22
  • 17
  • 13
  • 10
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
swardakan wrote a review Apr 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa11 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Located in a wonderful neighborhood with very good decor but quite overrated and expensive. 200 USD for two nights in a room not even including breakfast wasn't worth it. It's probably good for people who share in dormitories but you're better off spending your money somewhere else if you'll pay for a private room. The staff are very nice but I still had to wait until 4:30 PM for my room since they didn't have enough housekeeping. That's 1.5 hrs after check in time.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Selina Management, Owner at Selina La Candelaria Bogotá
Responded 25 Apr 2022
Hola Swardakan. Es una lastima que la hora de tu check in se haya visto afectada. Es algo que no debio pasar. Me comprometo a que la proxima vez que vengas a Selina todo sera perfecto
Read more
FrenchTraveller001 wrote a review Dec 2021
Paris, France785 contributions505 helpful votes
We booked 2 suites at the same price as a regular rooms in a 5 star hotel, which Selina definitely is not. Lighting is poor, there is no soundproofing whatsoever so we got woken up often by the noise. Stairs are challenging to climb at the altitude of Bogotá. Staff is unreliable and don't communicate with one another e.g. for wake-up service. Only for people under 40 and backpackers. Quite a disappointment despite the hip decoration. I will not return again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
bridgettravels7 wrote a review Mar 2021
Chicago, Illinois6 contributions3 helpful votes
The building is stunning and well-decorated, but the employees didn't speak any English (other Selina's always have), the standard private room was very small and it was loud at night (even during the week). We didn't spend much time here since the room was so small, but it was comfortable enough. It's a good location for La Candelaria, but I recommend staying at the one in Chapinero instead as that's a better location. Overall, it was fine but nothing to write home about.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
kdb204 wrote a review Nov 2020
Oosterzele29 contributions11 helpful votes
When visiting Bogotá, this a good place to stay. It is a 30 minutes drive from the Aeropuerto Internacional El Dorado (BOG). The hotel is beautiful, the bar lively, and the staff very friendly and helpful. The location and neighbourhood are fine. If you have breakfast included in your rate: the breakfast is standard, however it is worth the money.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Robert S wrote a review May 2020
Lawrence, Kansas2663 contributions578 helpful votes
This is a very active place. Visitors from all over seem to stay here. They seem to have lots of activities that guests can participate in. We just came in for breakfast, and we enjoyed all the goings on.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
CedricV73 wrote a review Feb 2020
Antwerp, Belgium77 contributions7 helpful votes
Wel let’s start with the price, I think it’s overrated for the confort, hygiene and lack of friednliness from the staff you get for it. They have more hotels so I can’t speak for the other locations, but when we arrived our room smelled humid and you could feel it a little bit as well. Defenetly in the morning when your clothes were’nt really dry. There are some good points and that is the location, it’s right in the Getsamani barrio wich is very nice and vivid, lots of bars, restaurants.... they also have 2 pools on the rooftop. But for the rest it is very noisy, although there is a sign that says quite after 11 pm they just don’t bother doing anything about it. We stayed in lots of hotels and pensions / poussadas around the world and again for that price, not a winner!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Itauba wrote a review Feb 2020
Coimbra, Portugal9 contributions10 helpful votes
After a long day sightseeing we were longing for some rest so we where negatively surprised to see that the hotel was hosting a live concert with very hight volume. And when the concert finally ended late at night a roaring extractor didn't let us sleep. We called the reception but no one answered. We definitely don't recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jay Warren wrote a review Feb 2020
Hillsdale, New York4 contributions2 helpful votes
The Selina chain has done a great job of renovating properties into some really interesting places. The one in the La Candelaria neighborhood of Bogota is amazing looking but it really a hostel that happens to include 6 private rooms posing as a small boutique hotel. If you like hostels and need a night or two in a private room, then this could work for you. But it’s not really ideal for someone looking for a private hotel room. The best thing about this Selina is the location in one of the most picturesque and convenient neighborhoods in Bogota for travelers. Very central, fun and interesting. If you’re a foodie, it isn’t that awesome but cabs are common and cheap by US/EU terms. Everyone who works here is very friendly, helpful and efficient. No complaints there. The private rooms are nicely appointed, hip and fun. So is the crowd. They’re having a good time...a REALLY good time, late into the night and early into the morning. If you’re a light-sleeper, bring ear plugs, sleep meds or look elsewhere, as the walls and floors are porous. We booked one of the two “suites” which are great to splash out for a special occasion. Problem is the only window opens on to interior bar areas and sound just bounces all around through the window, floors, door, etc. They have zero sound-proofing which means you’re basically having a conversation with multiple travelers, employees and locals all night long. You’re also directly above reception (in our case) or above the bar for the other suite. (The only rooms with exterior windows are the 4 front facing, small private rooms which are quite nice but above the bar on one side and the coffee shop on the other). There is basically no let up of the hubbub save for maybe midnight to about 5AM. Even then, anyone who stumbles in at 2AM and says anything to the front desk staffer or guard, is essentially in your room. The restaurant is fine for snacks and breakfast, not winning awards. The coffee class seems really great, heavily attended, but we didn’t partake. They also offer massages, free tours, dance classes and such, which is really awesome. The brand is doing everything right for its target demo. “Experiences” make travel fun if you’re not self-motivated enough to walk outside on your own. Would I return? For me, likely not. But I would recommend it for a night or two to anyone game for the fun of an active, hostel party-oriented social vibe. If you’re looking for a romantic, quiet, or chill place, then look elsewhere. For the mgmt.- I would recommend closing off the side areas that face the suites after 11pm and asking staff to keep their voices down between midnight and 6. Doubtful you could soundproof without much expense and disturbance.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Yolanda B wrote a review Feb 2020
Chicago, Illinois29 contributions21 helpful votes
We stayed here in January 2020. We loved the atmosphere and fellow travelers that we met here. They had friendly staff and a great location for walking to local museums and restaurants. The only downside I would point out is that we were above the big room with the pool table and we could hear people and their conversations very clearly, we could also hear the staff cleaning up the bar and kitchen area until late in the night. Even with ear plugs I could hear someone in the neighboring room snoring pretty clearly. There was no hot water in our room, but that did not bother us really. I would stay here again, but I am just being honest about our stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from SelinaManagement, Manager at Selina La Candelaria Bogotá
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Hello Friend, we thank you for your comment. We are always looking to improve, and we take your feedback very seriously and we will do our best to become better in every way possible.
Read more
yellowfish22 wrote a review Jan 2020
Philadelphia80 contributions16 helpful votes
Upon arrival, the staff were friendly and helpful. Traveling solo, I was pleased to see a security guard ensuring people who were there for the cafe, but not staying in the property were not permitted upstairs where the guest rooms are located. The room was spotless, the water was quickly hot on demand. There was an outlet nearby the bed, I could have my phone charging conveniently to use it for the alarm clock. The property was at capacity during my stay. It never felt crowded. There are many stylish comfortable alcoves for people to chill out and have privacy without going to their room as the only option. Some reviewers complained of noise. Selina has live music; It added to the great vibe and thoughtfully wasn’t played during morning or late night. Though, earplugs would be wise if you’re a light sleeper. The location is super for exploring la Candelaria. There’s a 24hr convenience store 15 steps away to stock up on drinking water and snacks. The store sells alcohol but not after 11pm. Selina is a great little oasis to return to while out exploring bogota.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from SelinaManagement, Manager at Selina La Candelaria Bogotá
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Hello There! In Selina La Candelaria it is all about the atmosphere and experience created while you travel and we are so happy we were able to do it.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$38 - US$68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ColombiaBogotaLa Candelaria
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Selina La Candelaria Bogotá
Which popular attractions are close to Selina La Candelaria Bogotá?
Nearby attractions include Museo Botero del Banco de la Republica (0.1 km), Santuario Nuestra Señora del Carmen (0.3 km), and Military Museum of Colombia (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Selina La Candelaria Bogotá?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and airport transportation.
Which room amenities are available at Selina La Candelaria Bogotá?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Selina La Candelaria Bogotá?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Selina La Candelaria Bogotá?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Selina La Candelaria Bogotá?
Conveniently located restaurants include Babou Candelaria, Pizza Candelaria, and Origen Bistro.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Selina La Candelaria Bogotá?
Yes, guests have access to yoga classes during their stay.
Does Selina La Candelaria Bogotá have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Selina La Candelaria Bogotá offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Selina La Candelaria Bogotá have airport transportation?
Yes, Selina La Candelaria Bogotá offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are pets allowed at Selina La Candelaria Bogotá?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Selina La Candelaria Bogotá?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.