We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

YMCA Tourist Hostel

Show Prices
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Colombo
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
YMCA Tourist Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YMCA Tourist Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 34: English reviews
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Staying at The YMCA was amazing. We've stayed there For a week. At first we just wanted a cheap room. But The YMCA is so mutch more than just a room. You are staying in a community of Sri Lankan Christians. The people all want to talk with you about life and god. Although we were not Christians it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Renjai
Wetzikon
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a hotel for one night, located near the railway station. Found this hotel. I think its good for one night, we had a double room with shared bathroom for a good price. You got wifi there, theres also a restaurant with selfservice. Many officeworkers go and have their lunch there. As a tip: bring your own...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ELa V
Jaffna, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Budget Accommodation In Colombo, dormitory rooms are decent , bedding is good condition, however there is lot of noise coming from the main road due to late night buses and trucks.. Bathrooms not very nice, but are satisfactory. The attached restaurant is providing good meals in clean and sober environment.

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank DARSHAN_PENDSE
Pelhamj, Media Co-ordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

This person has mentioned the fact that the bathrooms are not clean but let me say that the bathrooms were recently refurbished and upgraded. We will submit a photo for your perusal.

Hyderabad, India
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The rooms are overpriced but given that Sri Lanka is in general expensive, they aren't so bad. It is nearby Colombo Fort and definitely better than the other lodgings available near the Fort area. There are no attached bathrooms so if your room is a little on the farther side, you'll have to walk. The flooring is all wooden, and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DM_157
Pelhamj, Media Co-ordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

We have posted about 7 pictures of the recently refurbished bathrooms. There is a concerted effort to disgrace the YMCA when the reports and comments we get are quite to the contrary. I will post some of them. Dear YMCA, such a nice place and good people working there. Good atmospher. We were happy to stay there. Best regards -Julie...

Bangalore
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We reached Colombo around 10 PM and didnt have time to find any other places to stay so we reached the YMCA to book a room. Its being refurbished but has some rooms open currently. We took a triple room which was essentially one double room with the balcony converted into another room. The converted room had no fan and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sn_2010_iimi
Pelhamj, Media Co-ordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

The YMCA is used as a central point for anyone. When suggesting a location on the website they always refer to a place in relation to the YMCA. That's how famous it is

Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms are clean although they gave me first a room that was smelly of insecticide but they didn't make any troubles to change it (1550 rupees for a single). Shared bathrooms should be cleaned more often and thorougly but they are OK. Staff is friendly. Location is great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank janezkranjski
Pelhamj, Media Coordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

Of course it is a great location and it is good for more than two nights. The rooms have been refurbished and the high class rooms are akin to a star class hotel and at a much lower price.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I arrived here with my Dutch friend late one rainy afternoon. the entrance was dark and frightened young children. the price seemed high but we agreed because there was no other choice. the dark hallways smelt of noodles and sweat as we walked its corridors. we enetered the murder scene oops i meant our bedroom. i began to weep from...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Stephengollan
Pelhamj, Media Coordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

YMCA has refurbished its rooms. Come and see them now Accomodation Room A 12: One of the two family rooms upgraded to luxury star class. Luxury at the Colombo Y-Air conditioned/Fan. Luxury Bed and mattress. Special pillows and special bed sheets, pillow cases and bed cover. In addition there is a clock, Towel rack, writing table and teak wardrobe. There...

london
Reviewed 5 September 2013

For the price I wasn't expecting marvels, but I did expect them to keep their word. Due to arriving at 5 am and having and midnight flight, all I wanted was a bed, somewhere to leave my bag during the day, and to be able to shower before catching my flight. I was assured over the phone when booking, on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank lolly p
Pelhamj, Media Co-ordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

The Colombo YMCA has its own rules governing those who occupy rooms. This is true of any hotel or hostel. It is rather silly for a guest to check out of his room and come later and expect to occupy the same room and have a shower. We believe sensible people with a sound mind will judge those who write...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Colombo YMCA is terrible. We asked the manager for dorm rooms because we thought the prices were triple the amount that was given in the Lonely planet. When he said all the dorms were booked we got a really bad double room, without bathroom or any decoration. When we said we thought it was to high en the Lonely planet...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Boudewijnhugo
Pelhamj, Media Co-ordinator at YMCA Tourist Hostel, responded to this review

It does seem that an organised group of people with ulterior motives, are bent on tarnishing the image and reputation of the YMCA by making frivolous accusations and feeding inaccurate information on Trip Advisor. As a matter of policy, the YMCA caters to everybody, both rich and poor. Where accommodation is concerned there is a wide range of rooms with...

Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Dirty floor and bed with matresse black and green, crawling coackroaches, smelly, absolutely horrible. Bathroom probably was never cleaned. Ah and they also asked if we were christian (????) Worst place we have ever been to, ever. Ever.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Lobtrip

25 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.3 km away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#18 of 50 in Colombo
266 reviews
0.2 km away
Grand Oriental Hotel
Grand Oriental Hotel
#36 of 50 in Colombo
513 reviews
1.4 km away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#37 of 50 in Colombo
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#20 of 50 in Colombo
123 reviews
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Star Anise Boutique Capsules
#47 of 130 in Colombo
2 reviews
0.2 km away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 134 in Colombo
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Additional Information about YMCA Tourist Hostel

Address: 39, Bristol Street, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Ymca Tourist Hotel Colombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YMCA Tourist Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from YMCA Tourist Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The building is very close to a main road and as the doors only have slats on them the noise comes in from around 6am. Try and get a room that doesn't face out to the front of the building.”
AlistairW86, 11 May 2014 | Read review
“All rooms are good.”
DARSHAN_PENDSE, 25 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the 1st floor because they dont have lifts. If you have sleeping bags, you might prefer that to the beds. Only 1 charging point is usually available”
sn_2010_iimi, 10 Jan 2014 | Read review
“just avoid YMCA colombo at any costs”
Sokolinskyi, 28 Feb 2013 | Read review
“Check your bed for bed bugs in any room that you choose.”
nh0828, 18 Nov 2012 | Read review
5 of 5