We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sapphire Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Sapphire Hotel
Sapphire Hotel
Panoramas (7)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 162: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The pool was not very well maintained and the breakfast buffet had very limited options. But the hotel staff were friendly and cooperative. The rooms were neat and tidy. It is quite far from the airport.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dechamma M
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for the review and the negative areas will be looked into accordingly. But regret to note that the breakfast we serve is for superior to Ok for 3 star hotels and for the benefit of the reviewers we mention below our breakfast menu. o Boiled eggs, o Omelets, Masala Omelets, Cheese Omelets and any kind of...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in this hotel as soon as we reached Srilanka for a day. It is a very nice hotel with big and spacious rooms. In the heart of the city and yet very peaceful. A family of 4 can easily stay in the rooms. Bathrooms are great as well. Highly recommend this place for a short stay in Colombo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sowmya s
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for your wonderful review and the message conveyed to all the viewers disclosing your honest feelings about the hotel; longing to see you again. Sincerely yours Rooms Division Manager

Markham, Ontario
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wanted a hotel with good internet and gym, both failed. Internet speed and connection was horrible, unable to complete a task. The gym picture on the website is misleading, only one treadmill, which doesn't work and I was told that the circuit board needs to be replaced. The stationary bicycle needs oiling, the left pedal makes a screeching noise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pradeepan A
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for your positive comments and the negative comments of the Gym and the WiFi issues will be taken care of the benefit of all other customers. Sincerely yours Rooms Division Manager

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in this hotel for a night. I went with my wife there on a package trip. This place is not so great and not a bad one either. A decent one and a well maintained. Since Colombo is a business center, can't expect great in Mid-range. There is separate restaurant attached to it. For Indians, it is better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SrikanthSrinivas
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your positive comments and we are certainly eagerly waiting to serve you on your next trip to Sri Lanka. Sincerely yours Rooms Division Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Way too expensive for what you get. Galle Road is horrible for traffic & you hear it throughout the night. In December when the wedding season is on, absolute nightmare thumping music till 3am which even drowns out the traffic!! Staff speak very poor English so getting yourself understood is yet another challenge! Barely slept, never again & would not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anusha V
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your review and unfortunately we cannot attend to some of the gray areas you have mentioned such as traffic and sound pollution which are beyond our control. However, the points you have mentioned about our staff speaking poor English will be attended to immediately. Sincerely yours Rooms Division Manager

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is situated on the main Colombo road & during the evenings it's a ruckus on the streets. Well if you are a Mumbaikar then ideally you should be used to the same. Overall an ok hotel to live in as all amenities are available if not in the hotel premises then certainly nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vian_44
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for your review and we are ever so grateful for disclosing the positive areas of the hotel for the benefit of other travelers. Sincerely yours Rooms Division Manager

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Returned to the Sapphire, having enjoyed four-five day stays at least 3 times in the past four years. Previously had considered it to be a decent hotel- plain and simple but with good service in a fairly central location. This visit unfortunately was cut short. I had planned to stay for 3 nights. The first night I saw a HUGE...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Elle4
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your review and regret to note that you have not enjoyed your holiday at our hotel due to cockroaches. We do accept that there had been a lapse on our part due to the pest control service was in operation on that particular day. It is a fact that soon after the pest control service,...

La Digue Island, Seychelles
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Visited this hotel in 2014. We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Sapphire. We are planning of coming again this December 2016, and I hope that our stay will be pleasant as before. Staff were all friendly, helpful and nice. Room is well equipped; free WIFI, mini bar, hot shower, AC working in perfect condition. The hotel is very well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your excellent feedback. It was a pleasure to host you. We are very pleased to know you were highly impressed by our warm hospitality. We pride ourselves in providing an excellent service to all our valued guests. We will ensure you have another wonderful stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you soon....

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Had a Business meeting last Thursday. This is my 5th visit for a Business meeting after sometime. Not like my previous visits now the hotel, staff, food has improved a lot. Food is delicious and worth the price we paid. Recommended for meetings and weddings and done in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaya D
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. We would like to inform you that lot of improvements have been done here since you last visited us. My entire team thanks you for your very kind words about our service. We are absolutely thrilled that you found us to be brilliant all round, and that you will...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 24 October 2016

we enjoyed the stay but being a old hotel efforts to keep toilets much more cleaner as it situated in the midst of other premium hotels nearby,The food specially vegitarian breakfast and dinner was really good in fact i rate this best for a vegitarian with lot of veraity.i enjoyed my stay,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank murthy2013

219 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (93)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Standard Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.6 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#19 of 50 in Colombo
115 reviews
0.3 km away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.9 km away
Global Towers Hotel
Global Towers Hotel
#28 of 50 in Colombo
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#24 of 50 in Colombo
235 reviews
0.4 km away
Mirage Hotel Colombo
Mirage Hotel Colombo
#29 of 50 in Colombo
233 reviews
0.2 km away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#35 of 50 in Colombo
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Address: 371 Galle Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Price Range: €62 - €88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sapphire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Colombo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sapphire Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Sapphire Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not stay anytime over one night”
 of 5 bubbles pradeepana2014, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A/C unit makes noise”
 of 5 bubbles SrikanthSrinivas, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are designed well.”
 of 5 bubbles Baljit8122, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The suit on the third floor (Room No.311) is excellent for a quiet and comfortable family stay.”
 of 5 bubbles SandeepN71, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor rooms”
 of 5 bubbles ausiebob, 19 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay