We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

PP BackPackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
PP BackPackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 130: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I lived in this place for 5 months when I first arrived Saigon. The reason I decided to stay there is that the staff is really helpful and would do anything for you. Ask Thanh anything and he will do everything he can do make you stratified. I am now still friends with the staff and go to visit them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charly S
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewed 25 November 2016

This hotel is located in the city center and very convenient to get there from the airport (there's also a local Bus 109, only 20'000VND!). The staff is helpful and friendly especially THANH! You get what you pay for.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank waeutreis
Den Helder, The Netherlands
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Whn you arrive in hcm this is the hostel for you. Not far from the AirPort, right in the middle of the backpackstreet, where all the fun is. Reliable personel, willing to answer all your questions and accommadate your needs. Basic but clean beds.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilchino30
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We had a double room which was clean and comfortable - no grime anywhere. TV, very good fan and clean sheets and floors. The bathroom walls needed a bit of a clean but they weren't too bad. Very friendly young man at reception and close to the main backpacker road but not too noisy. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

This hostel is so disappointing and nothing like what is recommended in Lonely Planet! And i do not understand all of the comments in here about the nice and helpfull staff or the cleaning. BUT guess you get what you pay for! Me and my friend stayed in the 6 bed dormroom on the 4th floor. There are mould on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacqueline S
Pp B, Chủ sở hữu at PP BackPackers, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, I'm the owner of PP backpackers hostel and I'm writing here to let you know that we have been closed our business about 8months to moving different place, but we are not reopen yet.The place where you have stayed is just where we ran our business before and now someone else running their business there, not...

Nha Trang, Vietnam
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We had a pretty awful experience here. Our biggest problem was with the bed bugs. I had horrifically bad bites on every single limb of my body, they must have been particularly big bed bugs because they were the worst bites I had ever had. When we asked the reception he got someone to change the sheets for us, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ella S
Yehud, Israel
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

As said in title. The reception was so nice and helpful that it made great overall. If you're ok with noice and looking for cheap rooms at a great location you will enjoy this place. There are nice pubs in the area with many travellers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orikabeli
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 December 2015

In the heart of Saigon’s seed and sin, this hostel is brilliantly walking-distance located in-the-thick-of-it. Private room with ensuite was safe, secure, clean, and the right budget price! The set-up doesn’t lend itself to a backpackers hub in that there’s no real common areas or meeting places, but if you’re cool with your own company/itinerary, the friendly team are plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SoozSolo
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Three friends and I stayed in PP Backpackers for a couple of days as it had been recommended to us in the Lonely Planet guide. I can't recommend this place highly enough. We had a fantastic time thanks to Tan and Bao who work at PP. Tan was incredibly helpful booking our trip to Cu Chi tunnels and taxis whenever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robbie C
Stuttgart
Reviewed 11 November 2015

I did not stay at this hostel I only had breakfast at their Cafe, called Jade cafe. I ordered a toast and an iced coffee and both were terrible. The coffee I explicitly ordered with "fresh milk" meaning no condensed milk they agreed and nevertheless brought me a coffee with condesned milk which I could not drink. The waiting time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank armina845
Pp B, Owner at PP BackPackers, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Firstly, Thank you very much for your support so far. We are so sorry to hear about that happened to you. Here I am writing to let you know that we are, PP Backpackers and the Jade cafe is belong to hostel, but we have been closed in last Jun.2015 in the moving to another better place. We...

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 km away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham...
#19 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
351 reviews
0.2 km away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#2 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
260 reviews
0.3 km away
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon Center
Suite Backpackers Inn - Saigon C...
#10 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Lily's Hostel
Lily's Hostel
#5 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
219 reviews
0.2 km away
Saigon Youth Hostel
Saigon Youth Hostel
#23 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
212 reviews
48.3 km away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A friendly, comfortable, affordable hostel. Situated in the heart of Saigon City in the middle of the tourist district. Countless bars and tours available for an enjoyable time in Saigon. The hostel has a comfortable setup with cheap drinks and good food for socializing and meeting people. Free Wifi, Air Con, Hot Water, Breakfast. Knowledgeable Vietnamese staff! ... more   less 

Additional Information about PP BackPackers

Address: 283/45 Pham Ngu Lao Strret, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: €9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your PP BackPackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from PP BackPackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from PP BackPackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The dorm on the 3rd floor is good”
 of 5 bubbles 662charlys, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Check the cleanliness under the bed first!”
 of 5 bubbles ella2016, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The higher the quieter”
 of 5 bubbles C557INrobertj, 24 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The least expensive rooms will allow you to stay with other nice people. If you pay a little bit more, you can get a private room. Either way, all of the rooms are clean, nice, and quiet. Have fun!”
 of 5 bubbles jeremyw232, 9 May 2015 | Read review
“large room”
 of 5 bubbles 441annaaa123, 24 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay