We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

PP BackPackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ho Chi Minh City
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
PP BackPackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 129: English reviews
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is located in the city center and very convenient to get there from the airport (there's also a local Bus 109, only 20'000VND!). The staff is helpful and friendly especially THANH! You get what you pay for.

Helpful?
1 Thank waeutreis
Den Helder, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

Whn you arrive in hcm this is the hostel for you. Not far from the AirPort, right in the middle of the backpackstreet, where all the fun is. Reliable personel, willing to answer all your questions and accommadate your needs. Basic but clean beds.

Helpful?
Thank ilchino30
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We had a double room which was clean and comfortable - no grime anywhere. TV, very good fan and clean sheets and floors. The bathroom walls needed a bit of a clean but they weren't too bad. Very friendly young man at reception and close to the main backpacker road but not too noisy. Would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Nicola P
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

This hostel is so disappointing and nothing like what is recommended in Lonely Planet! And i do not understand all of the comments in here about the nice and helpfull staff or the cleaning. BUT guess you get what you pay for! Me and my friend stayed in the 6 bed dormroom on the 4th floor. There are mould on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline S
Pp B, Chủ sở hữu at PP BackPackers, responded to this review

Dear Sir or Madam, I'm the owner of PP backpackers hostel and I'm writing here to let you know that we have been closed our business about 8months to moving different place, but we are not reopen yet.The place where you have stayed is just where we ran our business before and now someone else running their business there, not... More 

Nha Trang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We had a pretty awful experience here. Our biggest problem was with the bed bugs. I had horrifically bad bites on every single limb of my body, they must have been particularly big bed bugs because they were the worst bites I had ever had. When we asked the reception he got someone to change the sheets for us, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ella S
Yehud, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

As said in title. The reception was so nice and helpful that it made great overall. If you're ok with noice and looking for cheap rooms at a great location you will enjoy this place. There are nice pubs in the area with many travellers.

Helpful?
Thank orikabeli
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2015

In the heart of Saigon’s seed and sin, this hostel is brilliantly walking-distance located in-the-thick-of-it. Private room with ensuite was safe, secure, clean, and the right budget price! The set-up doesn’t lend itself to a backpackers hub in that there’s no real common areas or meeting places, but if you’re cool with your own company/itinerary, the friendly team are plenty... More 

Helpful?
Thank SoozSolo
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Three friends and I stayed in PP Backpackers for a couple of days as it had been recommended to us in the Lonely Planet guide. I can't recommend this place highly enough. We had a fantastic time thanks to Tan and Bao who work at PP. Tan was incredibly helpful booking our trip to Cu Chi tunnels and taxis whenever... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robbie C
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2015

I did not stay at this hostel I only had breakfast at their Cafe, called Jade cafe. I ordered a toast and an iced coffee and both were terrible. The coffee I explicitly ordered with "fresh milk" meaning no condensed milk they agreed and nevertheless brought me a coffee with condesned milk which I could not drink. The waiting time... More 

Helpful?
Thank armina845
Pp B, Owner at PP BackPackers, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Firstly, Thank you very much for your support so far. We are so sorry to hear about that happened to you. Here I am writing to let you know that we are, PP Backpackers and the Jade cafe is belong to hostel, but we have been closed in last Jun.2015 in the moving to another better place. We... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2015

Lobby is pretty tiny - there's nowhere to hang out. The rooms themselves were pleasantly spacious, we were two friends and had a double bed each. Everything was clean and they provided some soapy things. Breakfast was scrambled eggs, nice enough. They are also happy to book tours for you.

Helpful?
2 Thank D S

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 km away
Madam Cuc 127
Madam Cuc 127
#139 of 435 in Ho Chi Minh City
204 reviews
0.2 km away
Saigon Youth Hostel
Saigon Youth Hostel
#24 of 432 in Ho Chi Minh City
210 reviews
0.1 km away
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham Ngu Lao
Saigon Backpackers Hostel @ Pham...
#16 of 432 in Ho Chi Minh City
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.3 km away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#2 of 432 in Ho Chi Minh City
396 reviews
0.3 km away
Luan Vu Hotel
Luan Vu Hotel
#6 of 432 in Ho Chi Minh City
411 reviews
0.1 km away
Long Hostel
Long Hostel
#1 of 432 in Ho Chi Minh City
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A friendly, comfortable, affordable hostel. Situated in the heart of Saigon City in the middle of the tourist district. Countless bars and tours available for an enjoyable time in Saigon. The hostel has a comfortable setup with cheap drinks and good food for socializing and meeting people. Free Wifi, Air Con, Hot Water, Breakfast. Knowledgeable Vietnamese staff! ... more   less 

Additional Information about PP BackPackers

Address: 283/45 Pham Ngu Lao Strret, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: €9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from PP BackPackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from PP BackPackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the cleanliness under the bed first!”
 of 5 bubbles ella2016, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The higher the quieter”
 of 5 bubbles C557INrobertj, 24 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The least expensive rooms will allow you to stay with other nice people. If you pay a little bit more, you can get a private room. Either way, all of the rooms are clean, nice, and quiet. Have fun!”
 of 5 bubbles jeremyw232, 9 May 2015 | Read review
“large room”
 of 5 bubbles 441annaaa123, 24 Apr 2015 | Read review
“get a double room with ensuite”
 of 5 bubbles Evonne_mc, 5 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5