We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Hostelworld.comUS$8*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$26*
US$8*
Great Deal
US$21*
US$25*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 413: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 13 January 2015

This was definitely my favourite hotel in my three week trip. The twin room that my friend and I shared was clean, spacious and the beds were super comfy! Despite the window facing an alleyway and a wall, it was a very decent room. I would however recommend getting a room on the fourth floor or above as the games...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvettevy00
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear yvettevy00 Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor I am thrilled to hear that you had a FANtastic stay, and enjoyed the May De Ville Backpackers Hostel hospitality. I have shared your comments with our team and they are delighted to know about your excellent feedback on service. We hope to welcome you back for another...

Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewed 2 January 2015

We joined the 7-day-6-night packaged tour offered by the May De Ville Back Backpackers Hostel for new year vacation, and in a very short time we visited Hanoi, Ha Long Bay, and Sapa. After arriving at this hostel no sooner I found that I lost my bag on the airplane, and thanks for the friendly and helpful staff, in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FaustinaHuang
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Faustina Huang & Family . Thank you so much for taking your time to write about your true experience at our hotel. We are so happy to learn that you had a 'very sweet stay' here and found all aspects of service were excellent, from the hotel location, the food, to the tour & travel service and was definitely...

Reviewed 1 January 2015

May De Ville Back backpackers hostel was so perfect and best valued! from the friendly and helpful staff to the beautiful and spacious room, to the location and breakfast. it is a 3 star property but 5 star service and amenities. Don’t hesitate to book this hotel. Definitely we will stay here again if we have chance to visit Hanoi...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Paul. Thank you very much for taking the time to share such detailed feedback with us following your recent stay at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel. I am delighted to read how much you appreciated your time at Rendezvous Hotel. I still remember your faces each time when you came back our hotel, from the Ha Long Bay trip,...

Reviewed 30 December 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in total and apart from an incident involving stolen cash I would definitely recommend this place! The rooms are big and are cleaned very well and the showers are excellent. Although our room faced a wall and it could be quite noisy I guess you have to expect this in Vietnam so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephp717
united kingdom
Reviewed 27 December 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on two occasions in a 6 bed dorm. The first time we stayed we thought the place was okay, very very basic rooms and tiny dorms. The room wasn't particularly clean but we didn't grumble. We are not fussy and have stayed in far worse places. This first time we stayed on our last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahbizo
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Hannah We are writing to acknowledgement of your disappointment and deeply apologize for our mistakes which ruined your first day in Hanoi and probably your whole trip to Vietnam. Truly, your review is highly appreciated for being constructive and necessary for us to know the weakness in our system for improvement, and thanks to yours, we can improve our...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 27 December 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed there 3 nights and I can just recommend it. Clean, well located and good price. Also, staff was nice and helpul, especially Manh Tien who has helped me in many ways! The only thing I didn't love there was the breakfast, which is a bit different than what we expect to it early in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karolinalopezz
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Karolina Lopez. Warm greeting from May De Ville Backpackers Hostel It is so nice that you had a great stay with us. I will share your comment to the rest of our team and I am sure that they will very happy. At Hanoi Romance Hotel , we focus on serving guest individually, for us if the guest enjoyed...

Norway
Reviewed 22 December 2014

May de Ville is in the perfect location in hanoi old quarters. Near many good rastaurants, bars and the top sights in Hanoi. But the fact that it is in a busy area make the noise level pretty high both day and night. The staff is mostly friendly but not that good in english. Can make all sorts of bookings...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BM1986
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear BM1986. Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending the improvement of our service on TripAdvisor. We are extremely delighted to hear that you have enjoyed our good hospitality service. We all at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel Family can’t wait to welcome you. Thank you for being such a wonderful friend! Best regards. May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Reviewed 14 December 2014 via mobile

The hostel was pretty comfy and the showers were good. Wifi was pretty slow and didn't work on some floors. I give the hostel a bad rating because when we booked our tours and bus tickets through them we realised that we'd paid at least $10 more than all the other people. This really bugged us because we were treated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Isis M
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Isis M & all reader. Thanks for your time wrote a review for us. However, your review is not true & fair for May De Ville Backpackers Hostel. We would like axplain for you as below : Fist is Halong Bay : We have book a lovely trip for Halong 2d - 1n overnight on boat. Also, we celebrate...

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 8 December 2014 via mobile

I stayed with a friend at the May de Ville hostel for 4 nights and we were underwhelmed. Granted it's in a great location- in a little alleyway off of a main street in the Old Quarter, just a short walk away from a bars, restaurants and the lively night market. The dorms are only $5 per night which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aubrey S
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Aubrey S Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the May De Ville Backpackers Hostel Hanoi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We are pleased to learn that you are happy with your stay and enjoy the hotel as well as its facilities. Your feedback is a great encouragement for us to...

bkk
Reviewed 29 November 2014

I rest in lovely hostel in room 804 and 808 for 5 nights. It is very quiet even near Ha Noi beer corner and sound from motobite all day and night. It stand in the left lane on Ta Hien street when you come from Bo Ho (Ho Hoan Kiem) or Dinh Liet Street. Hostel is one of May De...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Francis P
Duong Manh T, Manager at May De Ville Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Francis P. Thank you very much for this fantastic review of May De Ville Backpackers Hostel. I am pleased to hear all the fantastic things you had to say about our hotel and I am delighted that you had a wonderful time. It is great that you especially enjoyed the May De Ville Hostel Hospitality. Thank you once again...

228 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (106)
Viewed
Dorm Six Beds Mix (8)
Viewed
Dorm Ten Beds Mix (12)
Viewed
Double Room (18)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)
Viewed
Triple Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.5 km away
Hanoi Rendezvous Hotel
0.2 km away
Box Hotel
Box Hotel
#195 of 580 in Hanoi
192 reviews
0.6 km away
Nova Hotel
Nova Hotel
#78 of 580 in Hanoi
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#9 of 588 in Hanoi
187 reviews
0.8 km away
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
Little Hanoi Hostel 2
#12 of 352 in Hanoi
470 reviews
0.5 km away
Little Hanoi Hostel
Little Hanoi Hostel
#11 of 352 in Hanoi
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to May De Ville Backpackers, a hostel with all the furnishings of a five star hotel. Built in 2011, right in the heart of the old quarter of Hanoi, it makes it makes a clean and convenient base from which to explore this exciting city. Spacious six bed dorms with air conditioning and en suite bathrooms as standard. Private double, twin or family rooms, which are all attractively furnished and come with added touches of luxury including big and comfortable beds, LCD televisions and a personal laptop. Free WiFi on every floor and a bank of computers in the lobby keep you connected with friends and family. Complimentary buffet breakfast which includes a wide selection of pastries, fruit, cold and hot meats and eggs cooked to your liking. American pool table, darts' board and cinema room with access to hundreds of great movies. 24 hour security guard to keep you safe, as well as security cameras and electronic key access to all the rooms. For your valuables there’s a safe in each room, while the dorms have secure lockers. In every sense you’ll sleep soundly at May De Ville Backpackers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

Address: 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien Str | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 100000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Price Range: €9 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — May De Ville Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your May De Ville Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from May De Ville Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from May De Ville Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you book a room, get one up to the 8th floor as the 9th floor (where my room was) had no elevator so I had to use the stairs.”
Jonah_002, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“don't stay here”
t_erwan, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor”
jhonytomas, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Up seven floor have nice view”
Daisy200789, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had the second floor and it was fine, however the higher the floor the less noise and better view”
jona49, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$8* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$21
Hotels.comUS$25
Orbitz.comUS$26
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates