We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Green Tulip House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Green Tulip House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

812 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Green Tulip House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 715: English reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2015

The positive point is that the room are really clean, and it's a good location close from the temples, but except that there is nothing to do around, like if you wanna go out or have some food, you got to take a cab or a tuk tuk. The central area is not around this hostel, so if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Anne C
Reviewed 2 March 2015

I really loved my stay at Green Tulip House. Stella and the rest of the staff are very friendly and always happy to help. They even organised my train ticket for me so I wouldn't have to go to the railway station myself. To the people complaining about the aircon: It is normal in Thailand to have a room that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mirjam S
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

the owners are scammers, Stela is a great marketer, just want to sell you tour, why turn on the air conditioning for 2 hours they charged us double supply of the room (they did not warn us anything about not using the air conditioning, terrible hostel !!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Robson A
CM_Green, Owner at Green Tulip House, responded to this review

We do not need to warn or explain you about the using of the air-con which you have booked a fan room. The room that you had stayed in has a option of upgrade of a/c which you did not took it and you turn on the a/c without the use of the a/c remote control of unlawful use of...

Lages
Reviewed 1 March 2015 via mobile

After seeing all the good reviews, I stopped there, and have a conclusion. They just want your money, do not believe in this hostel! they just want to take your money anyway. Be with them tours or To charge for something absurd like having a/c in the bedroom and can not use.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Vettorello
CM_Green, Owner at Green Tulip House, responded to this review

You have cheated us of using of the a/c,you get what you pay for!! The room that you had stayed in has a option of upgrade of a/c which you did not took it and you turn on the a/c without the use of the a/c remote control of unlawful use,you thought that you could cheat us but we know...

Reviewed 26 February 2015

We stayed here last summer and had an amazing time. The room was clean, comfortable and sound proof and there was a great atmosphere here. Stella was sooo helpful in making sure we didn't miss any of the amazing things Chiang Mai has to offer. Would recommend to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mel M
Reviewed 24 February 2015 via mobile

Go there just to meet Stella, a lovely, friendly, caring person that just wants her guests to be happy. Clean room, bed, toilets we had a very comfortable stay there and met some lovely people. No complaints. Easy to book buses, do laundry, book trips etc. Seems to attract nice people!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

Amazing staff, amazing people, very clean and the best hostel experience I've ever had!i highly recommend it if you are coming to Chiangmai!it was as if my mom came to stay with me!they do your laundry and do a daily clean of your room and bathroom. The hostel is painted with bright colors and is an overall happy place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

I stayed at the Green Tulip Hostel for the second time and I can only recommend this place to travelers who are looking for a clean hostel with friendly staff in a convenient location. The private dorms are nice and tidy with a relatively big bathroom. The staff is really helpful and friendly, they even helped us with a last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Naeina
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 20 February 2015

We were looking for a simple place to spent few nights and got recommended this address. The place is definitely clean but for the rest we had a very bad experience. Our room happened to be below some kind of pump or water device and each time someone was using water in the hotel it was very noisy. We complained...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Thomas_Singap
CM_Green, Owner at Green Tulip House, responded to this review

It was your wife who was aggressive,unreasonable,shouting and demanding,she made the complain and you were not with her,if you had made the complain by yourself it would not have happened of any misunderstanding. We did apologized and offer her another room but she refused it and demanded a refund,we told her that it was almost 11 pm which it might...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2015

We stayed at Green Tulip for 6 nights in total. We originally booked 4 nights but ended up extending, both because we loved Chiang Mai and we had a really great experience here. Stella who runs the place was lovely, making us feel immediately welcome and really helped us with everything we needed. Providing tour recommendations and advice for things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SamA_JoeyM

107 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.0 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#21 of 369 in Chiang Mai
586 reviews
0.1 km away
Thailandwow Guest House
Thailandwow Guest House
#22 of 688 in Chiang Mai
174 reviews
1.3 km away
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
Green Tiger Vegetarian House
#2 of 688 in Chiang Mai
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
D-Well Hostel
D-Well Hostel
#6 of 688 in Chiang Mai
119 reviews
1.4 km away
Hug Hostel
Hug Hostel
#19 of 688 in Chiang Mai
219 reviews
3.0 km away
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
#32 of 688 in Chiang Mai
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Green Tulip House is a small guest house located in the heart of the historic city of Chiang Mai. The atmosphere is relaxed and social, and our personable staff will be happy to attend your individual needs. We are within a five minute walk of the Sunday Market and many historic temples. We can arrange daytrips for you from a wide daily selection. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Green Tulip House

Address: 85 Samlan Road, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Price Range: €0 - €1 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Green Tulip House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Tulip House Hotel Chiang Mai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Green Tulip House staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Green Tulip House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi limited on Floor 3, opt for one lower down. Also rooms get very hot without A/C”
 of 5 bubbles 110rachels110, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“easy to find this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Edith20032014, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Go with the air conditioning for the extra $3.”
 of 5 bubbles deand51, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Bottom floor room can be noisy when other guests ring the doorbell, ask for a room on a higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles JonahSEA, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Generally quite rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles 316rachelp, 22 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay