We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

191 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 153: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2015

I stayed in the girls' dorm. The room is small but nice. Everyone has a big locker beside the bed. The staff are nice and helpful. I asked them about the reasonable price to take a tuk-tuk, a good place to eat, and the ways to the temples. They were patient and wrote down the notes in Thai for me.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MYYan
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Niras' front staff members are very courteous and accommodating, however, I would recommend against staying at Niras due to their policy. I put down 800 baht for two people for our second night, however, due to travel agenda, we needed to leave bangkok and therefore wanted a refund for the night we paid in advance. The staff member called the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nzl5050
iamBankoc, Manager at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, First we would like to thank you for your compliment to our hostel staff’s service . However, Regarding comments about cancellation policy , we’ re truly sorry that we could not follow your request and refund you according to your sudden cancellation on the same day as normal practice like all standard properties. Unfortunately, we are also... More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

During my travels I have stayed here 3 times and currently here at the moment. The girls who work here are amazing and will help you with anything!! They went out of their way to write directions from Don Mueang airport to to the hostel viva email and they did it in a few hours. Honestly wonderful people. Plus they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
iamBankoc, Manager at Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you very much for your stays with us every time in Bangkok. Thank you so much for your kindness and friendliness . It's great to have you as wonderful guest and friend in the same time . Your kind review with clear details means a lot to our team and we still remembered the moments we... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

PROS: Only stayed here for one night but glad it was where I chose for my one day in Bangkok. This location is quiet but close enough to Khao San Road (walking distance or 45 baht cab ride), it is also a close walk to the river boats, Chinatown, and many temples including Grand Palace, Reclining Buddha and Wat arun.... More 

Helpful?
Thank skoogz
bangkok
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Spacious, super clean, well-located, walkable to all heritage sites such as the Grand Palace and Emerald Buddha are within 20-min walk! Dorm beds got real, thick and big mattresses. Air cons work perfectly. Has many common bathrooms and toilets. Set in a 100-year old house, the accommodation has lovely interior and details such as hard wood flooring, old-style doors and... More 

Helpful?
Thank shirotan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

My friend and I were staying there for one night and to say it in advance it was a really nice place. The rooms are tidy, the staff is friendly and helpful and the toilets/bathrooms were clean. The only down-point here is that the bedrooms were comfortably "cold", but in the corridor and in the bathrooms it's nearly as hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marc G
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2015

Only staying in Bangkok for 1 night before our flight home, we really enjoyed this hostel. Came with free breakfast, as well as the staff went above and beyond to help you out. A little hard to find at first, the staff has a mini map with directions written in Thai for you to give your taxi drivers to help... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shae S
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2015 via mobile

It was my first time staying in a dorm type accommodation and I'm glad to have chosen this place. I sent them a text message the day I'm arriving to ask if my reservation is confirmed since I received an email from them that they can't charge my card. I received a reply 3 minutes after that although they can't... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank letsdoitlikeninja
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2015

This review is long due. we stayed here for 4 days and I loved my stay here. The Location is perfect, Rooms are perfect, extremely clean. The Staff is most helpful and courteous. The breakfast is good This is one of the best hostels I have stayed in

Helpful?
Thank s g
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2015

Having spent more than a week at Niras I can honestly say It has been one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. From the very first moment I had a warm welcome, the girls are very efficient and most of them speak good English and best of all, they are all pretty :-). Prices are average for... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Freddy J

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
1:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Banglamphu
Once Again Hostel
Once Again Hostel
#37 of 997 in Bangkok
77 reviews
Banglamphu
Chern Hostel
Chern Hostel
#17 of 997 in Bangkok
445 reviews
Banglamphu
Bangkok Bed and Bike
Bangkok Bed and Bike
#74 of 997 in Bangkok
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Mountain Hostel
#150 of 997 in Bangkok
39 reviews
Banglamphu
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
Suneta Hostel Khaosan
#44 of 997 in Bangkok
317 reviews
Banglamphu
d Hostel Bangkok
d Hostel Bangkok
#60 of 997 in Bangkok
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Genuine Local Experience (A perfect place for travelers who love culture) -The Country Winner of Hoscar Awards 2009 by Hostelworld-The World’s Best Boutique hostels 2009 by guardian magazine - To experience A Perfect Location The origin of the great city of Bangkok today is located 'Koh Rattanakosin' where Niras Bankoc is in the middle of which is close to many HISTORICAL and attraction places especially like Giant Swing and Golden Mountain. Other nearby places like Wat Po, The Grand Palace & Emerald Buddha, Democracy Monument and even Khaosand Road ... etc. you can travel JUST by WALKING! The hostel is located in peaceful neighborhood with several local food stalls and shophouses. The real escape from busy backpacker area and touristy places.- To experience A Unique Style Living in the old house which age is over 100 years. Until now, it has been declared as the cultural and conservation building. Feeling the charm of origin and experiencing the genuine local living way and homey atmosphere: Plus Lovely antique coffee shop offers premium gourmet coffee and beverages.- To experience A Warm Welcome We are not part of big chain hostelwith limited numbers of guests; we put more care in detail of all guests, consider everyone like a member in the house & help guests enjoy BKK even traveling alone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel

Address: 204 - 206 Mahachai Road | Sumranrat Phra-Nakorn, Bangkok 10200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Price Range: €10 - €38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niras Bankoc Cultural Hotel Bangkok
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Niras Bankoc Cultural Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you are picky about blanket, do ask for a soft one before you settle down.”
 of 5 bubbles MYYan, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We got a private room with our own bathroom and it was perfect!”
 of 5 bubbles 170shaes, 14 May 2015 | Read review
“The ensuite room”
 of 5 bubbles 245shraboni245, 16 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Private room with ensuite was great!”
 of 5 bubbles RKWanders, 11 Feb 2015 | Read review
“cant go wrong.”
 of 5 bubbles 315lawrencew, 11 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay