We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Thamel

Show Prices
#51 of 188 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Thamel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Thamel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 247: English reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2016

In the heart of Thamel, convenient location along with super sweet and attentive staff. A place you could crash at with your friends or family or even solo! Great dining space and at night, take a trip up to the terrace to see the beauty of Kathmandu! Love it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dristee S
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Valueable Guest Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. What is left for us to say other than "Thank you!" We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback. Your five star review makes us proud and is a...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 11 June 2016 via mobile

I was there with my 4 other friends during my Everest base camp trek in mid April, 2016. Hotel Thamel, located in the heart of Thamel and 30min drive from the airport is the plus plus point. Honestly the staffs of Hotel Thamel are Friendly, welcoming and very helpful, especially the reception staffs. Likewise the owner is also very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PS H
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Valueable Guest Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. What is left for us to say other than "Thank you!" We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback. As for the Breakfast we are planning to change our...

Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

I was there in hotel Thamel when my relatives visited Kathmandu for a week . The place was located at very convenient place and it was easy to locate Coz most people knew the name . The room were big and clean and the staffs were very co operative . Food was good . Definitely yes .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laxmirb
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Valueable Guest Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. What is left for us to say other than "Thank you!" We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback. Your five star review makes us proud and is a...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 25 May 2016

The location is good. The breakfast buffet is just OK. The staff is not very responsive to complaints. My shower head spayed straight out to the other wall and all over the floor and when I asked about it, I was told that this was not a deluxe room, so I should not complain. Also someone came into my room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nomade123
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Martine Wlener Greetings from Hotel Thamel! Thank you for your delightful review. As for the problem with the shower in that room we were informed & as well we had informed our house-keeping supervisors along with maintenance department too, regarding the room that you had stayed was deluxe only as for the opening your room with master key was...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Arriving at the Hotel Thamel is like coming home for us. We have stayed there almost every time we have been in Kathmandu over the last 30 years. It is very comfortable, has a lovely rooftop to enjoy the city from, enjoy the sun, have meetings or just relax on the swing!! The rooms have been in the process of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Valueable Guest Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. What is left for us to say other than "Thank you!" We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback. Your five star review makes us proud and is a...

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Staff were excellent - polite, friendly, and helpful. Hotel was average - hard bed, no air-con, faulty PowerPoint. Hot water and included breakfast was good. Buffet breakfast would have been better. Wifi was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, John Spencer Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! Thank you for your delightful review. It is wonderful to hear the appraisal that you have given to our staff for their hard work and dedication and I will most definitely will be passing on the message. Most of the trekkers found to enjoy on hard bed & some prefer soft bed...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 April 2016

Our stay was amazing in this hotel, the rooms were very clean. the house keeping are very friendly n they clean the rooms everyday , as u want them. The staffs are very helpful. location is great, Quite rooms , as you walk out of the hotel in just 20meters you are there rite in the heart of Thamel. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DorjeTsering
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Dorje Tshering Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. What is left for us to say other than "Thank you!" We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback. Your five star review makes us proud and is a...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 12 April 2016

This is my first time in Katmandu. I stayed at Hotel Thamel for 6 nights. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. I have stayed in a 1- 5 star hotel around the world and this is a 2 stars hotel. Hotel Thamel is a love and hate suitation. The location is great and just one minute walk to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank java888
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Valuable Guest Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and offering useful positive feedback . Regarding some comments about generator we are so sorry that our country is facing electricity problem and every hotel’s is using generator as...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2016

It was a very nice time spent at Thamel Hotel. The suite room is very comfortable,wide and clean. The staff exceptionally frienly as allways & the atmosphere very special for mountain lovers. All facilities were given to us during our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Valueable Guest Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback for our suite room as well as staff attitudes . Your five star review makes us proud and is a great...

Reviewed 11 April 2016 via mobile

The location is centrally located in the heart of city proper easy access to everything The staff are very friendly and made my stay like I was not away from home Infact I was their newly hired receptionist and did my quality improvement speech To all the staff at hotel thamel Thanks for the superb services

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dinahmate
Deepa G, Owner at Hotel Thamel, responded to this review

Dear, Valueable Guest Greetings from Hotel Thamel ! We thank you for choosing Hotel Thamel for your “home away from home”. What is left for us to say other than "Thank you!" We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel in detail and for offering useful positive feedback. Your five star review makes us proud and is a...

136 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#39 of 188 in Kathmandu
641 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Happy Home
Hotel Happy Home
#16 of 188 in Kathmandu
368 reviews
0.2 km away
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
Avataar Kathmandu Hotel
#30 of 188 in Kathmandu
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Backyard Hotel
Backyard Hotel
#15 of 188 in Kathmandu
537 reviews
0.4 km away
Trekkers' Home
Trekkers' Home
#11 of 188 in Kathmandu
525 reviews
0.3 km away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#28 of 188 in Kathmandu
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located centrally in the popular tourist area ,Hotel Thamel offers homely and friendly environment to make anyone feel like their own home.The name of the hotel is itself taken from the place this hotel is located. Hotel Thamel is 15 mins drive from airport and is in a walking distance from most of the attractions like monkey temple, Garden of Dreams, King Palace and Durbar square. Hotel Thamel is one of the hotel in Thamel area with private sunny balcony in guest rooms. All the rooms are well furnished with modern amenities . To make your stay comfortable , our staff are always ready to help you with a smile on their face.Our well decorated cozy restaurant situated on the ground floor caters a wide selection of cuisines and our roof top garden situated on the sixth floor offers a peaceful relaxing spot to relax and drink a beer, sip tea or coffee We welcome you at Hotel Thamel where you are not just a guest ,but a sister, a brother and a friend whose necessity and requirements are our most priority. Facilities 1. Wi-Fi: High speed WI_FI is available in every corner of the hotel 2. 24 hr room service: 3. Baby sitter and doctor on call 4. Safe Deposit Facility: You can store your valuables in the safe deposit available at the reception areaFree luggage storage: You can leave your luggage at the hotel when you are on a trek 5. Foreign exchange Facility: You can exchange your currency at the reception. 6. Laundry service available 7. Travel Desk: Travel desk assit you in all kinds of tours arrangement, sight seeing , ticketing, vehicle rental and trekking 8. Credit card accepted 9. Hair Dryer: Hair dryer is available on request 10. Newspaper: english news paper are available at the reception 11. Wake up call 12. Restaurant serving continental, mexican, indian, chinese and nepali cuisines ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Thamel

Address: Thamel Marg 723/28, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: €23 - €46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Thamel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Thamel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thamel Hotel Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Thamel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Thamel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Because no elevator in the hotel, it is better for old people to request rooms in the first or second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe room was a bit more expensive, but with a nicer bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles U3922CBdaniela, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The "deluxe" rooms are nice, but the standard rooms are also fine It's not for people with leg problem because of the many stairs”
 of 5 bubbles ADH67, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hop in the rooms with bunkbeds. I've met some AMAZING friends and have had some great conversations by staying there.”
 of 5 bubbles ymartins, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front have better view.”
 of 5 bubbles very-old, 29 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay