We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kathmandu Friendly Home

Show Prices
#101 of 194 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kathmandu Friendly Home
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kathmandu Friendly Home
See the most recent reviews
Showing 93: English reviews
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a fantastic time in Nepal and having a great hotel helps a great deal. It is located in paknajol, thamel. It consists of great surrounding with very kind and friendly staffs. Its price are also reasonable as well as affordable. Rooms had attached bathroom with 24 hours hot water supply. it has a rooftop from where we can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smriti43
Rajendra K, General Manager at Kathmandu Friendly Home, responded to this review

Dear D SHy-L'nt Bish Thank you for your review of Grand Millennium Guest House. We are glad you enjoyed and the view Kathmandu Valley by roof top. We would like to take this opportunity to express our appreciation for your constructive feedback. We truly appreciate your kind patronage and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to...

Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewed 23 May 2014

So, I've long since been thinking to open a Trip Advisor account but never got around to it - the sheer brutal ignorance, rudeness and blind disgracefulness of this place (especially the manager - the short tubby guy) made me take the step. He was without doubt the single worst manager I have ever come across in any hospitality business....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Max C
Rajendra K, General Manager at Kathmandu Friendly Home, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Grand Millennium Guest House, Kathmandu! As we pride ourselves in exceeding our guests' expectations, we were both surprised and disappointed to find that you were not satisfied with your recent two hour stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences that occurred. On a separate note, we are pleased to inform you of the fact...

Москва, Россия
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very cheap hotel, even for Kathmandu. It's located on a quiet street, but within walking distance of Thamel district. At night is very quiet here. In the rooms there is only the bare essentials - beds and nightstands. Rooms are with shower, but during our visit there was no hot water. Electricity is regularly turn off. Breakfast must be ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nataliya_Revina
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a fantastic time in Nepal and having a great hotel helps a great deal. Grand Millenium Guest House is very close is Thamel- the tourist hot spot, literally about a 1 minute walk! The price was very reasonable, we paid about £6.60 (UK Currency) per night for our double room in April 2014. We stayed a total of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NH-DJ
Scotland, Arkansas
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a lovely stay in Grand Millennium G.H Mr. Rajendra Owner and the staff of the Hotel was very friendly and Helpful. I stayed here for five nights and found the hotel was amazing. The hotel is located Out from the Busy street so you can expect peaceful environment. Room was quite spacious with wonderful view with very reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex j
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here 3 times in April 2014 (after our Manaslu trek and mountainbiking). Every time we saw improvements. Absolute beautiful garden to have dinner and hang around. Very friendly staff. Top location. They could improve the quality matrasses/pillows and bathroom but we really enjoyed our stay and can recommend it. Value for money. Regards Ruud and Hanneke

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlipFlopHH
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Good hotel nice view from rooftop good garden and quite place to stay near by thamel fresh food and clean restaurant with garden at back side of hotel staff are good and helpful to guest thay arrange tour and travel trek at cheap price all good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saroj B
Francescas, France
Reviewed 4 April 2014

If you're looking for clean, comfortable accommodations in Thamel then it is an excellent choice. Staff are really friendly, helpful and professional . Free Wi-Fi is good (or as good as it gets in Nepal)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew-agos1
Kathmandu
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Hotel Grand Millennium Guest house is in a good location, 2 minutes walking distance from main Thamel, quiet, Friendly people, personalize service. Good rate, neat and clean room with hot shower! I strongly recommend this place for every one who is looking for accommodation in Kathmandu!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BirendraA
New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here in Feb 2014 for the first and last nights of our trip to Nepal. Staff were friendly and accommodation comfortable if basic. The location is great as it is on the edge of Thamel so great to walk to Thamel and Durbar Square and yet it is quiet as off the main streets of Thamel.I really enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael_SR_13

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.3 km away
Shree Tibet Family Guest House
0.4 km away
Hotel Silver Home
Hotel Silver Home
#41 of 194 in Kathmandu
661 reviews
0.3 km away
Pariwar B&B
Pariwar B&B
#66 of 194 in Kathmandu
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Discovery Inn
Hotel Discovery Inn
#112 of 194 in Kathmandu
156 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Visit Nepal
Hotel Visit Nepal
#144 of 194 in Kathmandu
55 reviews
0.5 km away
Adventure Home
Adventure Home
#87 of 194 in Kathmandu
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choosing Kathmandu Friendly Home (Hotel) is a clever idea to those who loves noise free place to stay. Our property is just located 25 minute drive from Trivuban International Airport and 10 minutes from new bus park which is very convenient location for everyone. Our hotel is a good place for budget level travelers however we are committed to provide our services as good as some star hotels facilities. Basically we offer six stories building roof top sitting and view from where you can see of Kathmandu Valley and the pride of Nepal the Monkey Temple (Swayambhunath) in a stone through distance. More over from top of the hotel you can see beautiful some part of Langtang Mountain. Kathmandu Friendly Home (Hotel) have 24 hour hot and cold running shower and quite good lighting back up. We offer free WiFi service with high speed broadband and also those who don't have any personal electronics gadget we offer them with free Internet and computing facility at our travel desk. We are very serious for security of our valuable client and their belongings we never let trespassers and strangers inter into the hotel. We are very pleased to inform you that no our guest has lost anything in our hotel till date. We also have free safe deposit locker and free baggage storage system. We also offer you certified doctors on a call as per your requirement. Also we have Kathmandu Friendly Garden Restaurant with a tranquil ambiance. We provide those people who are interested volunteering. And the hotel donate certain percent of benefit to the orphanage home as well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kathmandu Friendly Home

Address: Paknajol Kathmandu | Paknajol-16, Kathmandu G.P.O. 5045, Nepal (Formerly Grand Millennium Guest House)
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: €9 - €13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kathmandu Friendly Home 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Kathmandu Friendly Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kathmandu Friendly Home staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Kathmandu Friendly Home staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This hotel is on a quiet street. Our first two nights we were in 202 which was a good size and quiet..”
 of 5 bubbles triciab1945, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Beware of Cockroaches!”
  • Light hanging by the wires from wall
 of 5 bubbles marlys112016, 14 May 2016 | Read review
“The higher the better”
 of 5 bubbles KateIlyushina, 22 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Rooms have the same price but are slightly different; you can choose room”
 of 5 bubbles namaste925, 3 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Roof top room or 4th floor room, so you have access to the terrace close from the room.”
 of 5 bubbles GiaFH, 9 Dec 2014 | Read review
5 of 5