We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ambassador Garden Home

Show Prices
#22 of 193 Hotels in Kathmandu
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ambassador Garden Home
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

651 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Garden Home
See the most recent reviews
Showing 534: English reviews
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The thing that struck me the most was how friendly and accommodating the staff were.. and we had uninterrupted power supply.. a big deal in KTM (Kathmandu). One of the best things about this hotel it their garden patio - was a welcome respite from the orgasmic chaos that is KTM. The rooms however are just so-so, but who stays...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mtl_guy36
London
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed at Ambassador Garden Home for 4 nights overall during our trip in Nepal end of September 2012. We paid our room around 90$ a night, through booking.com. After spending time in Nepal, we realized that this is far too much money for a night stay in Kathmandu, and Nepal in general. The manager of the hotel agreed (he...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Yano224
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for your comment , yes you have paid deluxe double including taxes, service charges & breakfast. usd 89 (before tax usd 72.00). Cost includes : Government taxes,Service charges,Ambassador breakfast,Tea/coffee in room 2 bottles untouched water in rooms everyday, Daily news paper in rooms Free high speed wifi facility with computers in lobby & wifi in...

Reviewed 16 October 2012

Its a highly overrated hotel. My room was on 3rd floor and you get irritated to climb esp after walking around thamel. No room service menu n very basic kitchen only good for breakfast. Travel desk was asking much higher price for flights and hotel booking. Very poor lighting n ventilation in room. Bathroom was basic, cleanliness was good. No...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Dr SSS MRCP
AGH6, Owner at Ambassador Garden Home, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comment , the room you had stayed with us is room No 304 which has exhaust fan where you have to switch on for ventilation , which had been told you at check in time. about locker off course we do have locker in every room in cub-broad , you must have over looked...

basejump
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This hotel is everything it and the reviews on this site promises. We stayed for three night in two bed super deluxe room. We had booked a deluxe room up were upgraded on arrival. Check in was very professional; we were offerred cool drinks on arrival and the check in was done in the airconditioned lounge area - a similiar...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank basejump123
Reviewed 11 October 2012

If you choose to stay in the craziness that is Thamel, do yourself a favor and stay here. It backs of the main street a bit, I can't believe how quiet it is right there in Thamel. I was blown away by the rooms as compared to the cost of the hotel, and the customer service was outstanding. A peaceful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graybeard73
Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Almost unexpectedly, in the disarray, dust and noise of Thamel, with its small shops, traffic and complete disorder, is a small side lane, and nestled within, completely out of sight, is the Ambassador Garden Hotel. Stepping into the small but cosy lobby is like stepping into a refuge of sudden calm, cool and order. The hotel may be small, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leeyuk
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights, and enjoyed the quality, cleanliness and location. It is small and family-like with a lovely garden for breakfast. Good wifi and 2 computers for guest to use in the lobby. The staff is gracious, led by Nabin!! Thanks for a great stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DBeer
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I stayed in the hotel for one night only but will return happily. Clean rooms, kind and helpful staff, nice breakfast. the best of 5 hotels that I checked or visited in Kathmandu. Located in the center of Thamel, but quite and peaceful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Oron67
London
Reviewed 5 October 2012

By far and away the best place we stayed in, in Nepal. So friendly, and room superb! HIGHLY recommended. From the welcome, through to the well decorated bedroom - top notch. Gutted they were full on our return to KTM two weeks later.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Divingtim
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Familiarity can be quite comforting and reassuring at times. This was my second stay at the AGH having spent 4 nights here 13 months ago. Arriving late in the evening my wife and I were greeted by a warm embrace from Nabin and Prakash, the manager and owner of AGH respectively. What do I love about the AGH? It's not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KBWong

439 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (368)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (143)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (34)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kathmandu hotels
0.5 km away
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
Kasthamandap Boutique Hotel
#11 of 193 in Kathmandu
110 reviews
0.2 km away
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
Dalai-La Boutique Hotel
#14 of 193 in Kathmandu
389 reviews
0.1 km away
Kathmandu Guest House
Kathmandu Guest House
#34 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Kantipur Temple House
Kantipur Temple House
#17 of 193 in Kathmandu
720 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Friends Home
Hotel Friends Home
#4 of 193 in Kathmandu
1,104 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Mi Casa
Hotel Mi Casa
#12 of 193 in Kathmandu
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All rooms have attached bathroom ,LG FHD LED TV & AC (24 hours back up through generator for both heating & cooling )with mini bar ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Garden Home

Address: Thamel, Kathmandu 9681, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Kathmandu Valley > Kathmandu
Price Range: €37 - €55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Garden Home 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Ambassador Garden Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Garden Home Kathmandu
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kathmandu
#10 Family Hotel in Kathmandu
#11 Business Hotel in Kathmandu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Garden Home staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Sacramento, California
over a year ago
Las Vegas, Nevada
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Garden Home staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“My room on the 1st floor was a little loud at night, with noise coming from a nearby bar.”
 of 5 bubbles markbB2443XV, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“304 was great for us - loads of room and a splendid bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles Kembers, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stayed at room 101 on the first floor, its window opens to the hotel garden and totally quite at all times.”
 of 5 bubbles 219mohammeds, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The back of the hotel is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles mypropertycoach, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No lift so best to have a room on the first or second floors”
 of 5 bubbles e2ek1elk, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5