We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Southern Sun Ridgeway

Expedia.comUS$184*
View Deal
#3 of 31 Hotels in Lusaka
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Southern Sun Ridgeway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

370 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Ridgeway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 360: English reviews
Kitwe, Zambia
Reviewed 2 April 2016

I have very little to complain about, I have always enjoyed my stay at Southern Sun Ridgeway. I was actually made t stay for 2 days at a named hotel because your where fully booked. well I understood because the event is a once in a while. you are forgiven because you finally made it possible for me to finally...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 334emmanuelp
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much. We always enjoy receiving feedback form our regular guests , and I am glad you were able to come home. We would be more than happy to discuss your rewards. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit...

Chipata, Zambia
Reviewed 25 March 2016

Stayed for two night and everything was perfect except Internet Speed. Breakfasts are very very good !!!!!!! Would have no issue with going back again and recommend it. Worth a try.Great space for meetings as well!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 247charlb
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much. Your kind comments will be shared with the entire team , and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Lusaka. Kind Regards Marius Noëth Deputy General Manager

Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewed 24 March 2016 via mobile

I'm not a big fan of buffets but I had the lunch buffet at the Musuku restaurant on two days consecutively, and twice I was a pleasantly surprised. You may also want to see the crocs before or after lunch. You won't get this package anywhere else in Lusaka.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lee_babybhe
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much. I am glad that you enjoyed our Buffet , your kind feedback will be shared with the Food and Beverage team. Kind Regards Marius Noëth Deputy General Manager

Ndola, Zambia
Reviewed 23 March 2016

Southern Sun is a proper place but may not compare with other competitors on value for money. The rooms are standard but more expensive than the double suite at other competitors. You may need to undertake a like-for-like market survey to ensure best value for money for customers. At the price paid (USD 260), there should be more freebies like...

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sinkalam
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much. We do regularly check pricing of our competitors and we will ensure that the pricing of our rooms are in line with our product offering , we will certainly look at some extra's that we can add when our rates do...

Solwezi, Zambia
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Southern Sun Ridgeway is my preferred hotel, I travel to Lusaka once every month for 2-3 nights for Company Business. I enjoy the location of the hotel, the neatness of the hotel and the good Hotel personnel that are always smiling and helpful. I enjoy the food always, the rooms are super clean and nice.

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D7131REmaryl
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us , we always enjoy hearing from our regular guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Marius Noëth Deputy General Manager

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Over the years have often stayed at this tried and tested hotel, very well run by Southern Sun. The reception and hotel staff are really welcoming and professional. The hotel rooms are perfectly comfortable and well presented with no pretence of being luxurious. The buffet breakfast is excellent. The hotel is very well placed for visitors to Lusaka and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us , it is always very encouraging to receive such positive feedback form our regular guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Marius Noëth Deputy General Manager

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

From the moment they collect you at the airport till they drop you off the staff at Rigeway are all very friendly. The rooms are clean and tidy, but in need of a bit of a revamp(which they are busy with). The bar / restaurant is located around a tranquil pond rich with bird life and resident crocodile. The ideal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eliska B
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us , your kind feedback will be shared with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Marius Noëth Deputy General Manager

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 28 February 2016

The hotel is a rather small business hotel with excellent facilities, good clean specious rooms, good Wi-Fi (for African standards) very good food in the restaurant and very friendly service. Nice gym and acceptable swimming pool. Good price for what you get! My only "negative" remark was the shower. They have placed the showerhead on the wall which makes that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivan M
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us , we will certainly address the concern with the shower head when doing future upgrades to our rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Marius Noëth Deputy...

Lusaka, Zambia
Reviewed 22 February 2016

My stay was great; the staff courteous and friendly and the meals are of international quality. I wont hesitate to encourage anyone to book their stay at Southern Sun Ridgeway while while in Lusaka. Lovely place!

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank phillipb893
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us , your kind feedback will be shared with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Marius Noëth Deputy General Manager

Wigan
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Another visit to the Ridgeway confirmed that the standards are still as good as usual. All round great service, food excellent, rooms great, pool and gym always spotless. The crocodiles have been changed recently, so only little guys at the moment but a fabulous feature. Look forward to returning soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WiganYosser
Marius N, Manager at Southern Sun Ridgeway, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Southern Sun Ridgeway , we appreciate your feedback very much. The Crocodiles were indeed changed in December so they still need some time to settle in , thank you for the fantastic feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Marius Noëth Deputy General Manager

90 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (81)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lusaka hotels
0.3 km away
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
Taj Pamodzi Hotel
#2 of 31 in Lusaka
626 reviews
3.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Lusaka
0.8 km away
InterContinental Lusaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Best Western Plus Lusaka Grand Hotel
3.6 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Lusaka Tower
6.0 km away
Cresta Golfview
Cresta Golfview
#9 of 31 in Lusaka
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located in Lusaka's business district, close to embassies and government offices and only 27km from the airport. The hotel is set in attractive landscaped gardens and offers business and leisure travellers a welcoming atmosphere, for which Southern Sun is so renowned. The guest rooms are tastefully furnished and offer every modern facility, including free wireless internet access, which is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Southern Sun Ridgeway

Address: Corner Church Road and Independence Avenue | Avenue, Lusaka 10101, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Lusaka Province > Lusaka
Price Range: €131 - €244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Ridgeway 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Ridgeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Ridgeway Lusaka Hotel Lusaka
Holiday Inn Lusaka
Lusaka Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lusaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lusaka
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Southern Sun Ridgeway staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Southern Sun Ridgeway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like to be closer to the gym.”
HelenaM743, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Remember to request a room away from the lounge /restaurant area.”
carolynn446, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the restaurant”
polombwe, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you have a room overlooking the pond you will hear the nesting birds outside your door”
Milk_Sheik, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My room was over looking the main entrance - did get a bit noisy at times as it faces the main incoming traffic”
, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$184* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$264
Hotwire.comUS$184
Orbitz.comUS$184
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates