We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Metropole Hotel Kampala

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Metropole Hotel Kampala
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

124 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 115: English reviews
Start your review of Metropole Hotel Kampala
 Click to rate
Gbg
Reviewed 1 week ago

Second time at the Metropole. It is an average place but functional and with a basic gym, bar and food. The breakfast is good. A number of resturants close to the hotel so there is options for variations. Interesting visit is the micro-brewary close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mat G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean hotel Friendly staff Clean bedsheets and towels Decent stength wifi Hot water Constant electricity supply Shampoo and soap given Free golf at next door course for hotel guests 30$usd airport pickup available Restaurant really good food The only problem i had here was calling a taxi sometimes the taxi took long to get here

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lastplaceintheworld
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As this hotel's sister hotel (the golf course hotel) was fully booked, I staid here for 4 nights. The hotel is comfortable, with spacious rooms and a fine Thai restaurant. Service is excellent with very friendly staff. There is free Internet service and a small business center. Rooms are very clean. There are various function rooms if one wants to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roger B
Metropole K K, Front Office Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Guest Your comments are very much valued. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us was highly appreciated. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience Best Regards Metropole Hotel Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed 2 nights on a business visit. Rooms were clean and neat. But not worth the price. Staff were not very courteous. Some were ok. I should say the food especially the Thai couisne was great. That's a plus. It's a one timer hotel .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shahul Hameed F
Metropole K K, Front Office Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Guest We would like to thank you very much for taking your time to provide valuable feedback about your experience at Metropole Hotel. We shall improve in the areas you have mentioned. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us was highly appreciated. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience. Best Regards Metropole...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel during a recent business trip to Kampala and had a good experience overall. There were a few issues; the sound proofing in the rooms is very poor so I heard a lot of noise from outside and slept poorly during my stay. My colleagues and I were also confused by the hotel's keen desire for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gracie_2910
Metropole K K, Front Office Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Guest we would like to thank you very much for taking your time to provide valuable feedback about your experience at Metropole Hotel. Regarding the issue of payment at check in, We are just following the company rules; It is a standard procedure that we are supposed to follow however we shall raise the matter to the top management...

Nairobi
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

The rooms very clean and high standard. The internet works very well. There atmosphere is work friendly. It is near their shopping mall and also Cafe Javas so eating out is also another option. Security is good since it is located near a couple of embassies which are guarded making it also in safe zone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Machelitoh
Metropole K K, Front Office Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay at our Hotel Your feedback was extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve our services on daily basis. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful experience. Kindest Regards Metropole Hotel Management.

Reviewed 28 November 2016

Stayed 3 days at the metropole hotel last week on a business trip. Rooms are spacey and the food served is good. Hotel was not so crowded when I stayed. almost all the area in the city accessible within 15-30 minutes. Look out for the traffic as it can get really worse in the area. The Lift in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mafaz A
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Close to all amenities, good clean hotel , very friendly staff, good service in the lounge and restaurants, food was priced just right good buffets , no complaints, enjoyed the stay very well, small work out area but can achieve what your looking for

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam U
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 14 November 2016

Very average business hotel. A little bit grubby here and there but the beds were clean and the restaurant food was OK. I didn't feel that it was very good value for money, but then hotels are expensive inKampala.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob_DM
Goma, DRC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel in August for about one week during a business trip. The rooms are good size with a shower bathroom, personal safe in the room and a tv with sufficient channels I guess (I am not much of a tv fan and wouldn't watch tv most of the time in the hotels except for some news...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Banu_Altunbas
Metropole K K, Manager at Metropole Hotel Kampala, responded to this review

Dear Banu, We would like to thank you for taking your time to provide a valuable feedback about your experience at Metropole Hotel. However regarding the issue of the room, we had fumigated with strong chemicals in our rooms due to seasonal changes in weather that is why we had that strong smell in the room. Your willingness to share...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.4 km away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#13 of 97 in Kampala
241 reviews
1.4 km away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
315 reviews
1.4 km away
The Prestige Hotel Suites
The Prestige Hotel Suites
#19 of 97 in Kampala
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
217 reviews
0.7 km away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 97 in Kampala
186 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Africana
Hotel Africana
#25 of 97 in Kampala
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Metropole Hotel Kampala overlooks the Uganda Golf Course and is located within the premium localities of Kampala, also known as the city of 21 Hills. Metropole Hotel Kampala is the pioneer in using IP Telephony infrastructure in the Hospitality industry in Africa. It is also equipped with high speed Wireless Internet connection in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel Kampala

Address: Plot 51/53, Windsor Crescent | P.O. Box 22774, Kampala 7239, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: €118 - €261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropole Hotel Kampala 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Jovago.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Metropole Hotel Kampala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Metropole Hotel Kampala staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Difficult to say. There are noisy nightclubs nearby.”
Rob_DM, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Golf Facing Rooms are Qieter”
NickJ352, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room away from Acacia Avenue.”
gpariyo, 31 May 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on the ground floor, they're noisy and have awful lighting”
Wendy121212, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“executive rooms on top floor are smaller and have little extra value to justify the extra charges”
HansCB, 9 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5