We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairway Hotel

Hotels.comUS$145*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$145*
US$145*
US$145*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairway Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I usually stay at the Fairway when in Kampala, it is close to everywhere I need to do my business and also close to other eating and entertainment spots. One of the staff members remembers me as a repeat client and went out of his way to welcome me back. It was a nice feeling! when you call for room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Irene K
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for making us your home whenever you are in Kampala. We are truly honored by your loyalty towards us. It is great to hear you enjoyed all our services. We look forward to hosting you when you return.

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 27 October 2015

I felt like home the minute a arrived, except an African version. The staff here is such a blessing and the beauty of the site is amazing. The complementary breakfast is also a real treat! Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joy K
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing us; we appreciate your positive feedback. It is our desire to give our guests a home-away-from-home experience, so we are glad we achieved that with you. Looking forward to hosting you again.

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 21 October 2015

Superb experience first time in Uganda I stayed here, I am Having workshop in Kampala, my room is comfortable without any noise, perfect breakfast, friendly peoples and like African Buffet dinner with many choices.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sayed Jawad A
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for allowing us to host you for 2 weeks during your first trip to Uganda. We appreciate all your compliments and are glad to hear you had a SUPERB experience because one of our goals is to deliver exceptional hospitality to our guests. Looking forward to hosting you to another pleasant experience when you return to...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 21 October 2015

In the first time I came to Kampala Uganda, the Fairway Hotle was arranged and the reserved room 415. the hotel services was very fast and food was delicious the hotel security was good the hotel staffs were seem as friendly and always call them during night or day they came fast without any daily for solving any problem face...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abdullah M
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you for letting us host you during your first trip to Uganda. It is great to hear you enjoyed our services and facilities. Looking forward to hosting you again during your next trip to Uganda

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 21 October 2015

The Fairway hotel is the comfortable in the area of kampala. we enjoyed the environment i.e. swimming pool, delicious food, friendly environment, gym and clean environment of the room as well inside the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarban S
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate you for letting us host you during your first trip to Uganda. It is great to hear you enjoyed our services and facilities. Looking forward to hosting you again during your next trip to Uganda

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 21 October 2015

The Fairway hotel is located in the capital of Uganda and having a good view and location in the area. it is near to the city and a guest can easily access to the market to fulfill his requirements. Fair Way hotel has a good swimming pool, gym for exercise and a lots for the refreshment at morning and evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wali K
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us during your business trip. We appreciate all your compliments and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return because we would be delighted to host you again.

Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

I spent three nights there and i was waiting to go back home. The room was ok but the bathroom was a disaster. No hot water and when i asked they told me that the boiler is taking time to make the water hot. And i never got a hot water. The gym if we can call it is also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fliss L
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We apologize for the glitch in our service provision. There was an unexpected breakdown in our hot water system hence your experience and we were working around the clock to get it fixed. However, we should have been more communicative to you. Once again, we apologize for this and can assure you...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 14 October 2015

I have stayed in many hotels in Kampala. However, my experience with Fairway Hotel is unique. To begin with, staff is very friendly at the same time professional. Rooms are comfortable and spacious (particularly the Executive rooms which are recently renovated and furnished). You will get Asian as well as local food at the restaurants; my personal favourite is the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sudipto D
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to review us. We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant UNIQUE experience with us compared to other hotels and enjoyed all our services and facilities. We wish you safe travels and can't wait to host you again to another wonderful experience when you return to Kampala.

Reviewed 14 October 2015

This hotel is one of the worst hotels. At a rate of $100.00 for B&B is not worth it. Do not get fooled by the website. Amazing photos probably photo shopped. Spent two nights. The beds smelled bad, the bathroom if you can call it a bathroom was crap, hardly any space. I think they forgot to put a bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anil S
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for dissatisfaction you experienced. We understand your frustration because the room initially allocated to you did not get vacated as expected and our personnel should have communicated this to you and offered you a discount before giving you the budget room you stayed in. The photos on our website are factual but as...

Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 13 October 2015

I checked in on 10th October 2015. I came from Tanzania on a early flight was jet lagged a bit. I paid USD 300 towards the deposit and heard the front of lady telling that I need to pay another USD 75.00 in total for my entire stay for 3 days. After 2 days I was checking my receipts suddenly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shreekanth2015
FairwayHotel, Executive Assistant at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Once again, we would like to sincerely apologize for this incident. Immediately you reported this to us, we launched a thorough investigation and confirmed that it was an oversight by our cashier. It is for this reason we reimbursed you the difference of $185 (not $285 as you’ve stated). Please note that...

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
1.1 km away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 97 in Kampala
314 reviews
0.7 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 97 in Kampala
619 reviews
0.9 km away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#9 of 97 in Kampala
191 reviews
0.6 km away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 97 in Kampala
217 reviews
0.7 km away
Golf Course Hotel
Golf Course Hotel
#18 of 97 in Kampala
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fairway Hotel is one of the oldest and most reputable hotels in Kampala serving the community since 1969. Located on Nakasero, guests can enjoy views of the Uganda Golf Club, the lush Kitante Valley and the Kololo Hill. Our rooms are spread over four blocks within a plush landscape of trim lawns, flower bushes, and diverse palm species. We are within a 10min walk of town, malls, movie theaters, grocery stores, restaurants, and golf course. We have restaurants, a lounge/bar, pool, gym, conference/meeting room facilities and large gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairway Hotel

Address: 1 Kafu Road | Nakasero, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: €109 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairway Hotel Kampala
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#7 Best Value Hotel in Kampala
#10 Business Hotel in Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fairway Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Anchorage, Alaska, United States

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Fairway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book the new rooms”
FFF86, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“B block new standard room”
mhria2000, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Fourth-floor rooms ensure you get exercise on the stairs!”
KatherineCassidy, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“New Wing is quite good”
Sandy0711, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Air conditioned rooms from room 401 or Executive rooms away from the road-facing side”
DanielJ490, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$145* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$145
Booking.comUS$145
TripAdvisorUS$145
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates