We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Sheraton Kampala Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

574 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 531: English reviews
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 1 week ago

my last stay was in 2009 and i discovered that very little has changed since then in terms of service or the rooms. the room they call a suite is a standard room in most hotels, the harassment by security guards, the slow internet. Its not all bad the gym is decent and the breakfast is ok. The club lounge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RamsaySh
Sheraton K, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. RamsaySh Thank you very much for your loyalty as a Gold SPG member. Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, and that you have shared your stay experience with us in order to give us the opportunity to improve in the future. We do apologize, that our suite, security and Internet experience did not meet your expectation....

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I wish to mention that I clicked on Frederic's review by mistake, thinking that I would be reading the response from the management for what I consider a distorted review of the hotel that he made! He therefore received a "like" from me, which I could not remove!! I experienced, as always, an excellent stay at the Sheraton, where the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jhaasmakumbi
Sheraton K, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jhaasmakumbi, Thank you very much for your positive feedback, and we are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you liked most of the hotel area and services, such as pool, breakfast and club lounge. Please contact the Guest Experience Team for your further stay to be able to thank you in...

Avignon, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Sheraton Kampala in 1999 and have found it unchanged in 2016. The breakfast is good. All the rest is bad. The room and bathroom are obsolete. The internet is weak and slow. There is terrible noise at night (until 1am or later) from the bar across the street (I was on the 8th floor facing Speke...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Frederic G
Sheraton K, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Frederic G, Thank you very much for staying with us at Sheraton Kampala Hotel. We are unhappy to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and the hotel was not at the level of your expectation. We shared your valuable feedback to the respective department in order to develop the experience in the future. We always like...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel is old but well maintained. Staff was very good with great hospitality. I had some concerns regarding buffet breakfast, continuously three days there were ants on the sweets, cakes,etc. Management should monitor this area closely. Hotel location is nice and many options available for restaurants within walkable distance.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shirish2110
Sheraton K, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Kampala Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shirish2110, We hope you are doing well, and thank you very much for your comment. Management and Kitchen noted your concern about the ants on the sweets, and they will act accordingly to prevent that from happening in the future. On behalf of all staff, we would like to thank you for your nice words about them, and we...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

Spent 4 nights on business. Good service and comfortable room. Get an upgrade to Club room. You get a small balcony and a slightly bigger room and desk. About $30 to upgrade. Bathroom very small. Seven seas restaurant offers few options but food is good. Meal cost around $25. Portions are small so stock up on the buffet sides which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rohan2109
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 29 November 2016

No complaints on accommodation, wonderful staff in the restaurant and room service and a delightful lady called Leah in the cake shop - she went looking for a sauce until she found it! The 3 star is for these. The meeting rooms are another story all together..... The AC is apparently central for several rooms so each time we complained...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BWK823
Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed 27 November 2016

My reservation was not handled properly and I had to spend the first night in a standard room instead of the Club room I reserved. The next day and for the remaining of my stay I was in a Club room. The standard room and the Club room are like rooms from two different hotels. The standard room needs renovation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahanoubon
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

Nice clean room and beds are comfortable. Bathrooms are tied tho and in need of TLC. Staff very pleasant and decent selection of food from around the world. Well worth a visit. Good location nice bar in the main lobby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Reviewed 20 November 2016

After staying in a number of local hotels in East Africa, my wife and opted for a familiar Starwood property in Kampala to relax and recuperate. Those used to Sheratons in the United States, might expect a mid-tier, unspectacular business property. The Sheraton Kampala, is anything but. The hotel sits atop a hill in the exclusive Nakasero area, one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
Amman, Jordan
Reviewed 19 November 2016

its a very secure place as the security were every where, huge lobby with nice welcomed smiley reception employees, nice good breakfast. the rooms were tidy. and all looks classis which thinks nice. you can find Shisha in the backyard. also it very cheap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sufian A

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kampala hotels
0.5 km away
Kampala Serena Hotel
Kampala Serena Hotel
#2 of 93 in Kampala
594 reviews
0.2 km away
Speke Hotel
Speke Hotel
#6 of 93 in Kampala
308 reviews
1.4 km away
Protea Hotel Kampala
Protea Hotel Kampala
#12 of 93 in Kampala
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Forest Cottages
Forest Cottages
#7 of 93 in Kampala
178 reviews
1.5 km away
Urban by CityBlue Kampala, Uganda
0.9 km away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#11 of 93 in Kampala
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located in the heart of Kampala city, Sheraton Kampala Hotel welcomes travelers with a relaxed ambiance and a dazzling array of upscale amenities. Just 45 minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport, we are within easy reach of the central business district area and shopping malls. Take a magnificent view of the city or the well-known Kololo and Nakasero hills from our 236 guest rooms and suites, which are each decorated with a local flavor and homey comfort. Our well-equipped fitness centre - complete with a cardiovascular gymnasium and outdoor pool - will make your stay more relaxing. If you're joining us on business, we have 11 flexible meeting rooms for conference and banquet facilities - including a Grand Ballroom -with great options for five to 500 guests. A fully-equipped business centre with Internet, fax, and photocopying services is also available. Try out our Paradise Grill, with fun themed lunches and dinners offering international cuisine. As the evening falls, gather with family, friends or colleagues for a delicious meal at the Equator lounge, which stays open throughout the week with our resident DJ spinning your favorite songs until 3.00 am. Whatever your plans, our friendly staff at the Sheraton Kampala Hotel will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sheraton Kampala Hotel

Address: Ternan Avenue, Kampala, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Kampala
Price Range: €202 - €411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Kampala Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Kampala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Kampala
Kampala Sheraton
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Kampala
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kampala
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sheraton Kampala Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sheraton Kampala Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“When I make a booking, I ask for a quiet room and this has always been possible!”
 of 5 bubbles jhaasmakumbi, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Asked for renovated room”
 of 5 bubbles BWK823, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Absolutely go for Club room!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles ahanoubon, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't worry about it”
 of 5 bubbles 888shelbyd, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on lower floors are older and grungier while rooms on higher floors are newer, cleaner, and brighter.”
 of 5 bubbles kack13034, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay