We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windhoek
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Chameleon Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 September 2015

I stayed three nights at Chameleon Backpackers and the staff were lovely, friendly and helpful and the place was secure, safe and had everything you needed. I stayed two nights when I first arrived in Namibia and then my last night when I came back from my tour.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaynexray
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to review Chameleon. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope that you will keep Namibia close to your heart and come back to visit us again. cheers Rosa

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Brilliant place, I liked the tropical haven atmosphere. Even though the place always seemed to be full of people of all ages, I could always find quiet places when necessary. Being in the city centre made it easy to get supplies or go out. Funky bar and pool area, but I would advise to book ahead as the place seems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fenna M
Chameleon0, Owner at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Fenna, Thank you for taking the time to review Chameleon. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, maybe we will see you again in the future, we hope so. Cheers Jackie

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 24 August 2015

My teenage daughter and I stayed here twice -- before and after our wonderful Dunes and Wildlife safari (also booked through Chameleon). We loved this place. Chameleon has something for everyone -- tent areas, hostel rooms, private rooms with or without baths, and fancier rooms. We stayed in two different private rooms with bath and enjoyed our stay in both....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sueisme
Claire G, General Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Susan, Thank you for taking the time to review Chameleon, we really appreciate your positive feedback. Thanks for letting us know about the toaster situation on Tuesday mornings. This is due to all the people going on various safaris that day, so makes it a busy morning, We normally provide muffins on a Wednesday but think we will change...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 August 2015

I stayed here while I was in Namibia, it's a great, affordable hostel to stay and pretty central. The staff are very nice and friendly. They answered any questions I had. I was not able to pay with my credit card prior to leaving Botswana because of wifi issues at my previous hostel, but they were kind enough to save...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 819Bella1989
Claire G, General Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Bella, Thanks very much for taking the time to review Chameleon Backpackers. It was a pleasure to have you stay, as we are also travellers we do understand the logistics when things do not quite go they way they are planned and try to help out where possible. We hope to see you back again one day in our...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Chameleon is a classic overlanders to begin (or end) your African safari endeavors; as such all types of characters end up at this place from your "uber-long-haul-trans-African" set, to your "Euro-volunteer at Harnas" set, to your "I need to stay out of South Africa for 61 days to avoid income tax" set, to your "I'm biking (pedal bike) across Africa"...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian J
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Brain Thanks for taking the time to write the review your feedback is highly appreciated and I’m glad you had a great time during your stay. As the years go by we have had to apply certain rules for the staff so that there was consistency in our service as not everyone is able to ‘think outside the box’....

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 10 August 2015

We had such a great experience at Chameleon Backpackers! From the second we got off at the bus station, a representative was there to pick us up. Once we got there, we decided to do a road trip right away. The ladies at the front desk were extremely nice and hospitable. They changed around our reservation without a problem, helped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tiffanyky
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Tiffany & Jollia thanks taking the to write the review. It was amazing to met you and have a wonderful time with you.I hope you enjoyed all your travels. Hope to see you in the future. Cheers Rosa

Erlangen, Germany
Reviewed 31 July 2015

During my 7-month-stay in Namibia I always came back to this hostel while staying in Windhoek. The staff is super friendly, very helpful and even remembered our names after our second stay. They became like a second family to us! They offer a really good continental breakfast in the morning free of charge. The rooms are very tidy and equipped...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoppelJ
Chameleon0, Owner at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to review Chameleon. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope that you will keep Namibia close to your heart and come back to visit us again. cheers Jackie

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Have just returned from a 3 weeks photo expedition in Namibia and stayed a total of 4 nights at Chameleon Backpackers, at the beginning of my trip and upon my return. it's not only a great place to meet fellow travellers and locals here, but also a great start to your trip for experiencing Namibian hospitality and learn about the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Claire G, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Susan, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to Namibia. We love what we do which I think is the most important part as it feels less and less like work everyday and creates a great atmosphere for our guests! I will certainly pass on your great feedback to our guides who work...

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 23 July 2015

ive stayed at many backpackers and this was a clean and pleasant stay. friendly staff, good prices at the bar and the braai package in the evening. airport transfers were easily arranged and happy cleaning staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank steffengarthoff
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write the review. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Hope to see you in the future again. Cheers Rosa

Reviewed 18 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed in a dorm-style room for two separate nights. The staff is super friendly and helpful (and all seemed to learn my name in a very short time). The rooms are clean and the beds comfy. There are lots of areas to relax and they serve dinner at the bar. This hostel is also close to the center of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meg H
Rosa M, Manager at Chameleon Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for writing a review regarding your stay at Chameleon. I'm glad to hear that you had a great and relaxed stay. Hope to see you in the future. Cheers Rosa

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Windhoek
Hilton Windhoek
#2 of 17 in Windhoek
1,172 reviews
0.5 km away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
4.3 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hotel Thule
Hotel Thule
#1 of 17 in Windhoek
183 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Heinitzburg
Hotel Heinitzburg
#3 of 17 in Windhoek
323 reviews
1.4 km away
Rivendell Guest House
Rivendell Guest House
#6 of 94 in Windhoek
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
For Backpackers we offer dormitory beds. There is also a range of twin, double and three bed rooms for those wishing for more privacy. Our Guesthouse has spacious rooms with en-suite bathrooms having off street parking and a continental self serve breakfast included. Need safe long term accommodation while staying in Windhoek. We have 3 flats available for stays of more than 3 months. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chameleon Backpackers Hostel

Address: 5 7 Voight Street, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Chameleon Backpackers Hotel Windhoek
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chameleon Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Chameleon Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want an en-suite room, try and get one of the larger rooms in the guest house area rather than one of the rooms near the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles aviatrix_aus, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“we stayed in "Leopard" for 4 people, very nice and spacious room”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are wonderful and have animal themes”
 of 5 bubbles Lil_0685, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms weather East,south ,west north are just perfect!... they are spacious,”
 of 5 bubbles liemo10, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Eagle is self contained and away from the pool area which tends to be loud. Nice bathroom space and high ceiling so it's cooler.”
  • broken toilet in love nest.
  • love nest bed.
 of 5 bubbles PreciousM474, 13 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5