We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cardboard Box Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Cardboard Box Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I would not recommend this hostel. The room wasn't really cleaned before we came. The kitchen wasn't clean as well. The pool was very dirty, green with algies. Breakfast included two pieces of toast. The location isn't to great either. And it's noisy at night because there are locals drinking at the bar. One pluspoint was that the staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We've been on the road for 5 months, mostly camping , frequently at backpackers - sometimes staying in tons at backpackers and hostels. So, after 5 months, we thought it time to rate the best and the worst places we've stayed. The Cardboard Box in Windhoek is the dubious winner other worst place we've stayed. Friendly staff. It goes downhill...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rikathedog
Chad_WWindhoek, Manager at Cardboard Box Hostel, responded to this review

Hi There. Thanks for your review. Sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. As you will be well aware as you were here that some serious rains arrived in late December. The lightning and rain turned many pools in Whk green overnight. We tied for days to bring it back and only once the professionals ( Licpools) tested...

Reviewed 8 December 2016

We arrived in Windhoek having driven up from SA and spending two night at Fish River canyon - so all the people overwhelmed us a bit. The hostel was easy to find with a satnav and we left the car outside for a bit whilst we booked in (there is space to leave your car overnight on a gated drive)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmaewins
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

STEALING ALERT!! Most awfull backpackers place we already went, if you can call it a backpackers place.. every evening noisy locals coming here just to get drunk. NEEDS renovation BADLY! There is already so much stolen! Its a real PROBLEM! Everywhere they hang papers that you have to take care of your belongings but when I was cooking in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fdb123
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

We managed to book a private room the morning we arrived in Namibia, and were greeted by the receptionist who was lovely to talk to. Even though we weren't able to check in right away (too early), she showed us around and let us know where to grab breakfast which consisted of tea and two slices of toast with jam....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ktam1124
Otjiwarongo, Namibia
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Having heard about security issues I was a bit concerned about staying at Cardboard Box with some colleagues last month. Since we were able to book an entire dorm for our group, however, we were able to lock our rooms and be sure no one would be coming and going. So if you're staying here with group I would suggest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonesem92
Reviewed 31 August 2016

This is my second time staying at the Cardboard Box and I really enjoy it. The staff is sweet and accommodating, rooms simple yet clean and the vibe with different people both local and backpackers makes this hostel different than other hostels I have been staying at. I came alone, but made lots of friends during my first stay. Lastly,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for just one night in August (low season in Namibia) and did not particularly enjoy it. First my booking via Hostelworld had apparently not gone through (although it definitely did and so did their booking pre-fee from my credit card). So they squeezed me in, which was okay - didn't want much, only a room for two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ibn N
Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

We camped here for a couple of nights to see the city. It is in a great location, in walking distance from most places. The building itself is nice, they are doing work on it, which in places it needs. Shower facilities are great, enough to provide for all and hot! The campsite is on a dusty surface but there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catjane2610
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We stopped here on out way up to Etosha. It is easy to find using GPS and easy to get out of the city. Cars can be parked on the drive so they are safe. However, the hostel is not particularly clean (we slept in our sleeping bags) and feels in need of a few renovations. There is a bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmaewins

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windhoek hotels
2.2 km away
Roof of Africa Hotel
Roof of Africa Hotel
#11 of 17 in Windhoek
126 reviews
5.5 km away
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
Arebbusch Travel Lodge
#5 of 17 in Windhoek
193 reviews
1.8 km away
UrbanCamp.net - Camping, Leisure, Windhoek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Trans Kalahari Inn
Trans Kalahari Inn
#23 of 70 in Windhoek
45 reviews
1.7 km away
Hilltop Guesthouse
Hilltop Guesthouse
#1 of 94 in Windhoek
178 reviews
37.3 km away
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
Dusternbrook Guest Farm
#21 of 70 in Windhoek
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Cardboard Box Hostel

Address: 15 Johann Albrecht St | West, Windhoek, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Khomas Region > Windhoek
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Cardboard Box Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cardboard Box Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private room would be "Ritz", Dorm rooms with utilities would be Mount Nelson"”
 of 5 bubbles 89russelll, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Mount Nelson is the best dorm to stay in”
 of 5 bubbles , 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“i would guess a different hostel”
 of 5 bubbles marcryf, 19 May 2015 | Read review
“Rooms that take you past the kitchen, down the 15 stairs in the lower level next to washer and dryer that are left outside (they might move the washer/dryer) this is the best way I could describe it. Also, I came in January the hottest and rainiest time of year, so blankets deemed unnecessary.”
 of 5 bubbles Mtnchic2009, 30 Jan 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are vaguely the same, do ask the staff if you require any specifics though.”
 of 5 bubbles EvangelineFaith, 1 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay