We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

320 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Showing 304: English reviews
Gaborone
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Rooms are quiet and peacefull. The problem was the seemed to be wifi problem that was not resolved as it was said that IT personal are working on it. A clear layout for the premises will be useful if it is at the reception so that new guests like me can easily find their wa.y around the place should there...

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank collenr2017
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the feedback supplied and the time you took out to do it. This feedback DO assist us in improving on our service. Please accept our apology for the poor WIFI experience you had - we are in the process of doing quite a comprehensive refurbishment and unfortunately we do suffer some challenges as a result....

Johannesburg
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I always enjoy my stay at Avani. Whilst the rooms are getting, they are always clean and tidy. I am looking forward to the refurbishment later in the year. Definitely try the beef at Mahogany. Service is slow, but the meals are definitely worth the wait. Potato shortage at the moment means no mash or boiled potatoes, but the vegetables...

Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank yoganathann2016
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the feedback supplied and the time you took out to do it. This feedback DO assist us in improving on our service even more. We are very excited and looking forward to the completion of the refurbishment. See you back soon!! Regards Riaan

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 16 January 2017

Overall a very good place to stay, the rooms were well equipped and the hotel itself centrally located with all amenities and the city centre. The staff really went above and beyond. Hotel served good breakfast promptly and even offered the option to get breakfast delivered if you couldn't make it downstairs for whatever reason. The rooms however did need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kendall_Law
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the feedback supplied and the time you took out to do it. This feedback DO assist us in improving on our service. Please accept our apology for the poor experience you had - we are in the process of doing quite a comprehensive refurbishment. You are assured that your next visit to us will be...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 21 December 2016

I recently stayed at Avani, Gaborone, Botswana for a period of 7 days. The experience was great as always. Reception staff very professional and supportive. The rooms were neat and clean and compliments to the cleaning staff. Maintenance section provided immediate support minor repair to sliding door. The restaurants offer high standard of beverage in very caring and professional manner....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hugot790
Johannesburg
Reviewed 2 December 2016

I liked my stay. A very motivated personnel and the combinations of food is divine!! The room was clean and tidy providing all necessary facilities to make you feel at home. Management should focus on the physical fitness facilities and sometimes the combined shower/bath tub set up is not really practical.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David G
Gaborone
Reviewed 1 December 2016

no smoking in the rooms ,make space for people who smoke SO THAT YOUR ROOMS can be good for every one, because your front dest didn't even ask if I need a smoking room or what I just found it like that and all rooms were occupied

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank banyanab
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the feedback supplied and the time you took out to do it. This feedback DO assist us in improving on our service. Please accept our apology for the poor experience you had - we are in the process of doing quite a comprehensive refurbishment and your smoking requirements have been missed. You are assured that...

Jwaneng, Botswana
Reviewed 30 November 2016

Great front desk service - nice reception, prompt and courteous service. My room was very clean and spacious. The bed was conformtable and the right size. Previously I have had to contend with two small beds put together to give an appearance of a double bed, which I did not like.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank josephmG4794DF
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the feedback supplied and the time you took out to do it. I am pleased that we manage to delight you this time - after the refurbishment is completed I am sure it will be even better!!. Regards Riaan

Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

It's clean and the staff are friendly, the breakfast is standard, so as with most best before dates it's quite okay. But, managing expectations not so good. Offered a choice of room all I asked for was courtyard facing, I got an outside facing one, traffic and baking afternoon sun, air-conditioning did not really work and sounded like a tractor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angus M
RiaanvR777, General Manager at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino, responded to this review

Dear Sir Thank you for the feedback supplied and the time you took out to do it. This feedback DO assist us in improving on our service. Please accept our apology for the poor experience you had - we are in the process of doing quite a comprehensive refurbishment and it is clear we did not delight you this time...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Room Ok. Shower facility needs serious attention. Staff needs to honour promises of attending to complaints. In my case an adjoining room door remained unlocked for the duration of my overnight stay leaving me sleeping with one eye open.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bloemt
Jeddah
Reviewed 28 November 2016

everything was up to service - couldn't complain if i tried. The gym is more complete and htorough than the dump at the grand palm, though they could've been a bit more creative with their food offering seeing as there wasn't much vegetables or fruits. But that was the case all over - the steak was tiny compared ot other...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bakora656

96 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gaborone hotels
2.7 km away
Masa Square Hotel
Masa Square Hotel
#3 of 15 in Gaborone
343 reviews
2.1 km away
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
Peermont Mondior Gaborone
#1 of 15 in Gaborone
160 reviews
5.4 km away
Peermont Metcourt Inn at The Grand Palm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Travelodge
Travelodge
#6 of 15 in Gaborone
41 reviews
1.3 km away
Regent Select Hotel
Regent Select Hotel
#8 of 15 in Gaborone
14 reviews
1.6 km away
Cresta President Hotel
Cresta President Hotel
#11 of 15 in Gaborone
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Find that just right blend of hospitality, business, and leisure at AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino. Set in the vibrant city centre of Botswana's capital, Gaborone, it's never been easier work, rest, and play in style in the heart of Africa. Have the perfect start or finish to a great African Adventure with all the details that matter, done well. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino

Address: Chuma Drive 4727, Gaborone, Botswana (Formerly Gaborone Sun Hotel)
Region: Botswana > South-East District > Gaborone
Price Range: €146 - €207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaborone Sun Hotel
Sun Gaborone
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Gaborone, Botswana
Johannesburg, South Africa

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from AVANI Gaborone Resort & Casino staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First FLoor”
 of 5 bubbles 628willyv, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best view from rooms facing the pool area.”
 of 5 bubbles hugot790, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stay away if you can”
 of 5 bubbles nazparmar, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground Floor, Pool Facing rooms”
  • Bathroom
  • Bathroom
  • Room
  • Room
  • Room
  • Room
 of 5 bubbles MoeYou, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Choose a round floor garden room”
 of 5 bubbles tourismplanner, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5