We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Small World Backpackers Lodge

Hostelworld.comUS$30*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

105 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Small World Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 95: English reviews
Mozambique
Reviewed 4 March 2016

I stayed there one night on two different occasions. If based off my first experience, I would have given it a 4. I had a private room, great experience with the staff, nice and fast internet, and the only thing I could complain about was the lack of mosquito nets with all of the mosquitoes. The second time I stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hunter H
Seremwe, General Manager at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Hunter Once again we are sorry for the unpleasant second stay with us. Thank you for your review. You coming coming back to us indicates that you are our loyal client. We have since attended to the ceiling in the dorm. Also linen in the dorm is being changed on daily basis. It's a Small World backpackersLodge is...

Santa Cruz, California
Reviewed 7 February 2016

This was my second time at Small World. The first was 9 years ago. Not much had changed - it's still fairly funky. But the price is right, rooms are adequate, beds fine, wifi free, food available on site (also reasonably priced) or you can cook in the communal kitchen. They have great coffee! There's a small bar with soda,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shadowsprings
Tariro01, Marketing Officer at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Shadowsprings Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay.Your coming back to stay with us shows that you are a loyal client. Thank you for the review.please visit us again

Iran
Reviewed 4 February 2016

This is not very cheap place and the kitchen facilities are so disgusting ,it is evidence the owner likes the income but cant face the expenditure and not bothered to provide proper pots and pans and they are ancient and so dirty and old. the cups and most plates are metal . He knows that there are not many places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank b_kashan
Seremwe, General Manager at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Client Thank you for your review. We since attended to your review. regards

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 8 December 2015

The place is not too far away from city centre in a quiet neighbourhood. If you are doing all your cooking and grocery shopping, it is indeed the best value in Harare. Everything you need for a short or long term stay can be found in this accommodation, including the clothes line. However, the communal kitchen could be better equipped....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fidelisblue
Chegutu, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 5 November 2015

I was here with a friend last year. The place is quiet and tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Showers and ablutions unfortunately are communal. I believe this is the only snag with the place. The room i was in (Maun Room) was spacious with two beds. For a small fee breakfast can also be prepared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindanic2015
Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 September 2015

I had bad experience here. I have been traveling different countries and stay at budget accommodation like hostel and backpackers lodge. For security reason and personal preference, I always choose a private room so that I can lock my stuff in the room. I came for conference in Harare and extended to travel around. I had stayed at two backpackers...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Michaelbkpua
Seremwe, Manager at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Security is our number one priority. This was just an unfortunate incident.

netherlands
Reviewed 8 August 2015

At the end of our holiday we made another booking for "It's a small world" but they made a double booking. After arguing about their mistake for hours they offered us a room in a kind of weird house somewhere else. We didn't want to spend our last days of our holiday at that creepy place so looked out for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank servatius
Seremwe, General Manager at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Once more I am sorry for the incident of your last days of your holidays. We have since attended to the issues you raised. Electricity is quiet stable and we have back up generator. Unfortunately the option we offered you for free did not meet your standards.. Appreciate your review. regards George Seremwe Manager

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 6 June 2015

Airport pick up US $25. Booked for 5 nights in a single room with (a pretty busy) shared bathroom at $20 a night which was extremely good value. You are much better off using the "outdoor" shower which has very hot water and good pressure. On arrival they tried to put me in a mixed dorm and then showed me...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MJS1966
Seremwe, Manager at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It's A Small World Lodge values your comments. This will only help us improve on those areas you have highlighted. About WIFI I am sorry that was an unusually because most of the time is available. No payment for the fire place. Airport drop off I will rectify the extra charge which should not be...

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 May 2015

I really enjoyed my second time staying at Small World, last time I stayed in the dorm with 15 other guys from my football team but my recent trip was with my brother. We stayed in the Arusha room which was fairly small but adiquate for one nights stay. Great location in Harare with only the shopping and restaurant area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay in Avondale. Rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are perfect. Avondale shopping centre in walking distance. Beautiful garden with stone and steel sculptures. Enjoyed our trip in the city with Jackson, in the Mercedes!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harare hotels
3.6 km away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#3 of 13 in Harare
260 reviews
2.9 km away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#2 of 13 in Harare
335 reviews
8.2 km away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#1 of 13 in Harare
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#6 of 13 in Harare
266 reviews
7.5 km away
Simba Harare
Simba Harare
#37 of 50 in Harare
39 reviews
9.4 km away
Sunbird Guest House
Sunbird Guest House
#3 of 50 in Harare
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
It's a Small World Lodge", in Harare, offers everything from camping, for backpackers, to family suites, for larger groups. Skype: smallworld251 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Small World Backpackers Lodge

Address: 25 Ridge Rd | Avondale, Harare, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Price Range: €26 - €41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Jovago.com so you can book your Small World Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Small World Backpackers Hotel Harare
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Small World Backpackers Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Botswana
over a year ago
Bulawayo, Matabeleland North, Zimbabwe
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Small World Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room with your own bath. More expensive but worth it”
patrickmB5767BL, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Sometimes even the dorms are fairly empty. Ask if crowded and you may be able to stay in a quiet dorm.”
Robbiec1964, 4 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you can afford a private room, that is always the best.”
susanhorcajo, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“Take the dorm room, the other rooms are far overpriced.”
servatius, 8 Aug 2015 | Read review
“wifi - the wifi is not for 12 or 24 hrs straight; so log out when you aren't using it and it will last a long time.”
  • one room
  • one of several bathrooms
Happygringos, 13 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$30* /night
View Deal
Jumia TravelUS$45
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates