We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 116: English reviews
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful amenities and design, perfect location, helpful staff, clean, modern, great services, delicious daily breakfast and food, it is incredibly peaceful and serene, nothing better can make our stay memorable

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank philippopeterson
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you very much for your amazing feedback. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed our amenities, design, location, staff, room, services, breakfast and food. We will share your comment with our staff; they are going to be very touched. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has a great location, but the condition of the rooms (the fridge taped shut, the housekeeping not replacing empty toilet roll) are rather lacking. We made reservations through the central booking number, but when we checked in only one person's name could be found, and he was oddly told to pay right away. The rest of us were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank catatonia_10
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel. While we are delighted to see that you enjoyed our location, we do apologize if your experience at our establishment did not fully meet your expectations. We are extremely sorry to read that the check in matters disturbed the tranquility...

Lyon, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel where people do not respect the smoking area, Coffee machine is a household one, maybe someone has to explain them what a commercial one is!!! the Hood at the italian restaurant was not working on feb 1 it was smelling awfull!!! the waiters (from outside the restaurant) were so rude, I have never encountered such experience. I asked a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank abou-abed
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in our establishment. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Be assured the satisfaction of our guest is our priority. Regarding the waiter’s attitude, again we apologize for the inconvenience. It was an exceptional situation....

Central Serbia, Serbia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A hotel with good location situated in the center of the city with good quality of food and i liked mostly the Lebanese restaurant, brilliant staff who help you whenever you ask for anything, I ll be back definitely…

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nadal1nadal
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your lovely comment. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at Golden Tulip El Mechtel. And we are pleased to see that you liked our location, food, restaurant as well as our staff and services. Rest assured that your feedback will be shared...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Checked in here to get a good working hotel, while on business trip in Tunis. But I'm very disappointed; bad service, old fashioned and rude personell. Cleaning ladies jumped into my room and started vacuum, whitout asking while I was working. the café couldn't even organize a sandwish. Though - people in reception very nice. But would never stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank carolinajemsby
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, We thank you for choosing Golden Tulip El Mechtel for your last visit. Thanks for your lovely comments about the location and the reception staff. We ask our sincere apologies for any inconvenience and we will treat each note as this is not the service we offer to our guests. We would like to apologize again for the...

Piraeus Region, Greece
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

Below average hotel. Room out of date , they need renovation. Plugs which do not work , cranky furnitures , breakfast buffet very poor and bad quality. The same about the room service food. Very bad and below average. Clean room and good wifi.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vang761
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us and it is a chance to learn where we can work harder in order to satisfy our guests. We are sorry to hear your experience did not meet your expectations. Make sure that we have taken your comments seriously and have...

Tunis, Tunisia
Reviewed 24 November 2016

The Hotel Golden Tulip in Tunis has the "standard Tunisian service level": friendly but imprecise, not really professional, slow and somewhat old fashioned. The staff means well and tries decently hard, but one can see that training was poor and that they lack the understanding of basic, 21st century Hospitality Industry standards. Restaurants are OK (the Indian restaurant on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank henristetter
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Henristetter First of all thank you for visiting Tunisia, following the comment posted yesterday on the trip advisor site, expressing your discontent. Sir is it possible to specify whether it is our hotel or not ? we are Golden Tulip El Mechtel Hotel located in the city center. The positive things that catches our attention during your stay...

Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewed 11 November 2016

the hotel room is convenient, and quite conformable. service is good. Breakfast was good too, with free wifi. The hotel is strategically located close by main attractions, within walking distance fro Habib Burkaibah street, and bab al khadra, old market,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Samir B. S
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Samir Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience you had with Golden Tulip El Mechtel, We are pleased to read all the positive comments you mentioned ; please be assured that we will share your feed back with the respective team members because your satisfaction is important to us. We look forward to welcome you again...

Paris, France
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Well situated, has some fine restaurants. Internet is fine. Good security. Very clean. Beware of the taxis though. Take one from the street not from the front of the hotel. Try to get a room from back (park) side Verdict: Good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gp1973-tr
Adel G, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Sincere thanks for taking the time to post your comments about your last stay at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel Hotel. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that our services (room, service and location ) was satisfied your needs, also be assured that all of your remarks have been noted. Thank you again...

Spain, El Centenillo, Spain
Reviewed 12 October 2016

First of all very nice meeting and very clean hotel, i recommand to whom is going to visit tunis and looking for accomodation stay in El Mechtel because all facilities is availaible and the staff are very nice team .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nhkelaswai
Adel G, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments; awesome to hear you enjoyed our facilities, service, and delighted you found the hotel "very clean" . Also we will share your comments with all the team that would be most gratifying to read your kind comments and we will have the pleasure of welcoming you...

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
1.7 km away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 54 in Tunis
424 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 54 in Tunis
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#4 of 54 in Tunis
351 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#5 of 54 in Tunis
298 reviews
0.6 km away
Yadis Ibn Khaldoun
Yadis Ibn Khaldoun
#24 of 54 in Tunis
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Golden Tulip proudly opens its new doors in previous Hotel El Mechtel.Situated on the perimeter of the Belvedere Park, Hotel El Mechtel, now under the management of the Golden Tulip chain, combines the ideal world of both business and relaxation. Having gone under extreme renovation of it's rooms, reception and conference facilities, with a focus on service upgrade, the Golden Tulip El Mechtel is now prepared to welcome international and local guests, while still offering international service standards. Relax and recline in the luscious greenery that surrounds this pacifying hotel, where service is ready at the ring of a bell.Please let us know your feedbackPaul Z. DiabGeneral Manager ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Address: Avenue Ouled Hafouz | El Omrane, Tunis 1005, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Price Range: €62 - €79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip El Mechtel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Golden Tulip El Mechtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel El Mechtel
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis, Tunisia, Africa
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Golden Tulip El Mechtel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If they have no smoking levels, ask for it.”
 of 5 bubbles catatonia_10, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Individual "villas room" are located in quieter areas on the ground of th Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles henristetter, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“i recommand the fourth floor”
 of 5 bubbles nhkelaswai, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the higher floor - 8th/9th - swimming pool view”
 of 5 bubbles sirajul2015, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“High Floor”
 of 5 bubbles americanquality, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5