We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Safari Inn

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dar es Salaam
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Safari Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 118: English reviews
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Rooms are small and not too clean, but just about manageable. The breakfast was also disappointing and very minimal. Rooms have mosquito nets but some have large holes in so they're rather useless. Whilst the hotel itself is generally quite clean, you have to walk through a rather filthy alley way to get to it, which may not be the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denzha
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to differ with the guest. We are very religious about cleanliness and are quick to correct any deficiencies. Our hotel is very old but we work very hard to make sure guests dont feel that way. Re: Alley access to our front entrance, you are right. Unfortunately, due to encroachment of developers, our access to the street...

Colombia
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Not as easy to find because you hace to go through an alley that at night might seem dangerous (it's not). Very basic rooms but with hot water. Very basic breakfast (bread, coffee and a banana). WiFi only on the lobby. Very near to ferry spot (about 5 blocks). Difficult to find a beer, all restaurants around don't sell. Not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos E
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Safari Inn was built much earlier than the surrounding development, hence the accessway (alley) is the conduit from the main street to our entrance. We have posted plenty of signs and given that we are older than fred flinstone :), ask anyone in town and they will guide you to us. Plus we are in...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Having returned to Dar Es salaam I needed a place to stay local to all the eateries the the location had to offer. Presented is safari inn, at budget price which includes very good free wifi and shared lounge area which includes a TV. You will also find a fridge for cold drinks and water and also somewhere to keep...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ImtiB
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review

Appreciate your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay!

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Its cheap and within walking distance of the ferry and plenty of good/cheap restaurants. You might feel a bit uneasy about walking round the area late at night on your own, but once inside it feels OK. There are plenty of backpackers around and there's a sitting area with wifi and TV. Staff are helpful and friendly. Rooms are pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulIanLyons
safariinntanzania, webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for comments. We take pride in this hotel and its amenities and sincerely appreciate the opportunity to serve you. If you will come this way again, I hope you’ll consider staying with us again. Sincerely, Hotel Manager

Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

We first got a fowl smelling twin room instead of the booked double room. After changing the room, thinks took a better turn. Only, the bednet was to small for a double bed, leaving us exposed at night. Luckily not many mosquitoes during the dry season. The breakfast is ok, if you pay a small (1000tsh) extra for eggs. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lukas V
safari2, Manager at Safari Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Lukas for the review. Given that cleanliness and ambiance is something we put emphasis on, the foul odor in the room was a surprise. As for the bednet, that also is a surprise as it is an important component for us and we make sure guests are fully protected. Perhaps the unfamiliarity of setting the bednet might have...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Safari Inn for one night. When I checked in the staff we helpful. The room was terrible - it was on the third floor with no lift. There was no mosquito net and there was a very loud night club or bar nearby which played music all night and made sleep near impossible. I arrived from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jude B
safariinntanzania, webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying.We saw your review and apologize for your experience howsoever it might have happened.We shall investigate and take corrective actions based on your observations and shall ensure that staff are behaving in a very hospitable manner. We have engaged a professional team to check the housekeeping, cleanliness and all the amenities and to ensure the rooms...

Westborough, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 July 2016

I stayed at the Safari Inn several years ago. We stayed here during our recent trip because I remembered it being accessible and affordable. The rooms were exactly as I remember them. They were basic, self-contained, with hot water, good water pressure, and ceiling fans. There was AC available for extra cost in some of the rooms. We would not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lifesaver82-11-04
safariinntanzania, Webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for taking a moment to comment about our hotel. I'm so pleased that your experience was nice enough here that you would recommend us to others. I hope you have a chance to do that. If you have family members, friends or colleagues traveling in this area, make sure they know about our hotel. We'll do a...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We were a group of 20 teens and 3 adults on a school trip so we basically took over the whole hotel, the reception had it well under control and got everyone to their rooms as quick as possible, the staff were helpful carrying our bags in for us. They gave us a special "meeting" room where we could spend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hanna R
safariinntanzania, Webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind words and for booking your large group to stay with us. I’m so pleased that you found us a clean and pleasant place to stay and that our amenities were to your liking. We take real pride in this hotel and in serving guests like you, and I’m extremely happy that...

Reviewed 6 July 2016

Safari Inn offers really cheap rooms, which even have own bathrooms. There is not much to say, no negative and no positive experiences. Drinks can be bought for 1000 Tsh, the Lobby has free wifi. The breakfast is really really small (a banana and 2 slices of toast). For the room price you should not expect more, but you might...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jürgen K
safariinntanzania, Webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for staying with us. I’m very glad that our hotel impressed you in so many ways. We focus on offering a guest experience that will satisfy a wide range of travelers. When you’re in the area again, I hope you will make us your first choice. We’ll be here when you need us with another great stay...

Iringa, Tanzania
Reviewed 27 April 2016

We were warmly welcomed to this basic but pleasant hotel in central Dar es Salaam. There was a slight delay in the allocation of rooms, this however was resolved and we made our way to our humble abodes. Whilst dark and unairconditioned the rooms did provide satisfactory mosquito nets in case of attacking predators. The bathrooms were however much to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sduncan19982016
safariinntanzania, Webmaster at Safari Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments. I’m pleased you had a good experience with us although I regret and apologize if you experience any rudeness or maintenance issues with the property. We take real pride in our hotel, and I apologize if we let you down in any ways. We want you to have the best possible experience here, and...

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.3 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
649 reviews
0.5 km away
Rainbow Hotel
Rainbow Hotel
#39 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
139 reviews
5.7 km away
Q-Bar & Guest House
Q-Bar & Guest House
#62 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#25 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
98 reviews
0.3 km away
Sleep Inn Hotel
Sleep Inn Hotel
#65 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
78 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Nikko Tower
Hotel Nikko Tower
#30 of 95 in Dar es Salaam
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Safari Inn

Address: Band Street, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: €10 - €14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Safari Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Safari Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
2 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Safari Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take the room with air condition, it is a hot city”
, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“My room on the second floor had wifi reception.”
885orm, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“No elevator so be careful if you have heavy luggage.”
778carlose, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“A/C advised!”
jammys2016, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with external windows as they are generally quieter and less stuffy”
Becca9310, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5