We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

476 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 422: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre
 Click to rate
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Holiday Inn is definitely one of the best hotels in DAR e salaam near to the shopping market place and with some good sight seeing options.. the food is good especially local african delicacies food the staff is good and overall nice hospitality received it was value for money pleasant stay experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ganeshbhandari2011
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staying the at the hotel is an experience to have when staying in Dar for a short business trip, not luxury, but convenient and clean. Nice bar on the first floor and room are clean. Staff are friendly and helpful and at least if doing business in central Dar one doesn't have to fight traffic in the morning.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Poranic
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location in the city centre of Dar, about 30-45 minutes to the airport depending on traffic. Modern nicely furnished rooms with good beds and nice bathrooms with excellent showers. The breakfast buffet was sumptuous and of good quality. Fresh fruits were particularly nice. The rooftop bar and restaurant is a nice place to hang out and catch the sunset...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank savvy_dave
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice "average"+ hotel in Dar Es Salaam, stayed 3 nights for a business trip. Definitely enjoyed my stay, the rooms were very nice and clean, bathroom decent; a bit worn out but nothing too bad. Gym was definitely ok with treadmills, benchpress, basic machines and dumbells. Rooftop bar pretty nice with decent prices, breakfast pretty good with the basics +...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oscarholmis
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I had stayed in the hotel earlier may be a decade ago , however since then not much seems to have been done to make it top class or up to date with other star hotels, It need a lot of attention in its Menu/ Gym and over all outlook.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunder K
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sunder K, Hello from IHG! Thank you for visiting Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, Tanzania again. I am grateful for your comments. It is pleasing to learn that you found our staff's service to be satisfactory. I also appreciate you sharing your thoughts on areas where we can improve, particularly with the gym and the aesthetics of...

Trondheim, Norway
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We ended up in this hotel when KLM overbooked our flight and we were offered free accommodation for the day we had to wait for the next flight. Although, the hotel was a nice place to relax after several long hours at the airport, the rooms are basic and slightly weathered. If we were paying for the rooms ourselves, it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HenriCloete
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear HenriCloete, Thank you for sharing your experience and for providing feedback regarding your stay. I am happy to hear you appreciate the hospitality of our hotel staff and enjoyed your dining experience during breakfast. Our property 's goal is to make sure our guests enjoy their stay with us. However, I am sorry if the overall condition and atmosphere...

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 7 February 2017

This is a rather no-nonsense hotel providing you with the basics. Clean. The staff is friendly and efficient. Location is good. Room small but comfortable. Our bathroom was impeccable. The nicest thing about it was the rooftop restaurant which provided us with a good breeze. We ordered grilled fish. It was delicious, especially since we were not expecting anything outstanding....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bilgi a
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Very basic rooms. Scratchy, not soft, bed linen. Food is not good anywhere in the hotel. A chicken sandwich and chips £20 barely anything on the plate and what there was looked like leftovers Very disappointed with the rooftop. Half built and barely any menu available. Service lacklustre. My food was cold in the middle. I complained. Nobody cared. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _cornishpixie7_mk
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre, responded to this review

Dear _cornishpixie7_mk, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class experience, however, it appears we fell short of our goal on your visit. We would like to apologize for the less than satisfactory dining experience you had and for failing to meet...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Joined a friend for dinner. The restaurant at the rooftop offers great seafood and the chef made an amazing delicious platter. Loved it. The atmosphere at the roof top is amazing with a great view of the city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kbblandi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed here before and returned because I was happy the first time. I was not disappointed. A good stay. Great service. The Wifi was good and free. The room spacious and clean. Food and service top quality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColmV

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dar es Salaam hotels
0.1 km away
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
Ramada Encore Dar Es Salaam
#10 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
128 reviews
0.8 km away
Harbour View Suites
Harbour View Suites
#20 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
211 reviews
0.6 km away
New Africa Hotel
New Africa Hotel
#16 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Tanzanite Executive Suites
Tanzanite Executive Suites
#8 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
645 reviews
0.8 km away
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
Southern Sun Dar es Salaam
#3 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
646 reviews
0.6 km away
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
Tiffany Diamond Hotel & Spa
#28 of 103 in Dar es Salaam
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre

Address: 5 Upanga Road | Azikiwe St / Upanga Rd Junction City Center, Dar es Salaam 3222, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Dar Es Salaam Region > Dar es Salaam
Price Range: €111 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre Hotel Dar Es Salaam
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Dar es Salaam
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Dar Es Salaam City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“choose the rooms on the top to get the larger view of cityside”
 of 5 bubbles ganeshbhandari2011, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I'd go somewhere else in future”
 of 5 bubbles ianmilne667, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Roof top bar”
 of 5 bubbles 522noelh, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms overlooking the Indian Ocean are best”
 of 5 bubbles 466japhetk, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Standard room and executive rooms are very similar.”
 of 5 bubbles amrid2015, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5