We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Les Borjs de la Kasbah

Traveller (498)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (219)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice 2019 Winner
Certificate of Excellence
Les Borjs de la Kasbah, a charming boutique hotel (opened in 2007). It combines all the character of a traditional riad with modern comforts and the professionalism of a dedicated staff. Close to the Royal Palace and a 15-20 minute walk from the famous Jemaa el Fna square. The hotel has 18 en suite rooms, a fully licenced bar, a Moroccan/French/International gastronomic restaurant, 3 lounges and a meeting room, all with free Wifi. There is also a secluded leisure area with a 10m swimming pool (a rarity in the Kasbah and, indeed, in the medina) and a SPA with a traditional marble-clad Hammam and treatment rooms where a variety of massages, facials and a range of other treatments can be had. Direct access to front door by car, minibus or calèche.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Spa
Airport transportation
Breakfast Available
Concierge
Dry Cleaning
Heated pool
Laundry Service
Meeting rooms
Multilingual Staff
Outdoor pool
Public Wifi
Shuttle Bus Service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Minibar
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Value
Business
HOTEL CLASS
771Reviews
776Photos
10Q+A
91Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 657
  • 96
  • 10
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed for a week in riad Les Borjs de la Kasbah at the end of September. The hotel taxi driver met us at the airport . On the way to he showed us interesting sites and shared some history of Marrakech . At the riad we were met by Tom who welcomed us, and personally offered
Read more
My husband, friend and myself visited Les Bors de la Kasbah this October. Our friend had been many times before and recommended it. The riad was everything she said and more, it is homely, beautifully furnished in a traditional Moroccan style and immaculately clean. The staff
Read more
Can't imagine a better place to spend time in Marrakech. The riad is a collection of houses held together by shady patios, hidden seating areas and a sun deck with pool. It's located in a 'quieter' area of the medina with the peace being interrupted only by cockerels and the
Read more
We were in Morocco for a week and we stayed in this hotel for our final night. Unfortunately the hotel was so poor that it really cast a shadow over the end of our honeymoon. Outlined below are a list of the issues we faced. Some are relatively minor, but nonetheless all add up
Read more
Response from TomBruceMitford, General Manager at Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Responded 1 Nov 2018
We are very sorry indeed that this reviewer was disappointed with her brief visit to Les Borjs de la Kasbah (she and her husband stayed only one night) but in light of her observations we cannot avoid asking ourselves why her impressions of BK are so at variance with those of the vast majority of others posted online, 94% of which are ‘excellent’ or ‘very good’ (a claim she can easily confirm for herself). I suspect it could be partly due to the fact that they didn’t get the attention they expected upon arrival as a honeymoon couple. A definite fault on our part, as I will explain below It is regrettable that on this occasion neither I, nor my wife, with whom I run the hotel, was here to meet the couple in question because we would have been able to address their grievances immediately in person and in a timely fashion. Having said that, it is not possible to address a grievance when you have not been notified of it, as was the case with this couple. It's possible that if they had stayed for more than one night they might have said something to our reception or waiting staff. The complaints made here are, as the reviewer says, of a minor nature but that does not, of course, mean that we would have made light of them because our top priority is, and has always been, to satisfy all our customers, in any way we can. It is worth making the point that, for the purpose of maintaining and raising standards wherever possible, we monitor as many online comments as we can and, above all, carefully analyse feedback received via our detailed in-house questionnaires (employed consistently since the hotel opened 12 years ago) which ask about, and invite ratings for, every aspect of our facilities and service standards. This sort of feedback is what enables us to keep on top of things as we have been able to do with some success over many years. I mention this only to illustrate that we do care about our guests and are more than happy to go out of our way to address and resolve problems as and when they arise. I have personally looked into all the points raised in this review. While admitting that ‘there is no smoke without fire’ I have to add that none of the other clients I spoke to, who were in residence at the same time, had any complaints about ‘young men loitering outside’ or about the volume of the different genres of music played during the day (Moroccan/Arabic) and evening (Western) but we will continue to monitor the position here carefully. I can also categorically refute any suggestion that we would ever serve orange squash as opposed to freshly squeezed orange juice (something no hotelier in Marrakech would ever have reason to do) or that the (very experienced) lady cook who prepares breakfast food to order would burn, or has ever burnt, omelettes. If the coffee was indeed cold, the problem could have been remedied immediately had it been brought to the attention of the young lady in charge of breakfast service. This said, I am happy to confirm that we have already dealt with a number of the other issues raised by this review i.e. the water temperature, inadequate toilet flush and slow bath drainage in the room in question and if breakfast requires closer monitoring we will do that too. As regards room safes, each has only 2 keys, one with each guest’s room key and a second which I, myself, keep for use exclusively in emergencies (i.e. when a safe mechanism fails or when a resident loses his or her own key). There is not therefore a security risk here. As a rule, we always aim to lay on something special for people celebrating a special occasion – when we know about it. In this case, however, the receptionist (a new member of our team) who handled check-in for the couple in question did not follow normal procedure, a fact we regret because we pride ourselves on our ability to go the extra mile for our guests whenever we can. This oversight will not occur again. Tom (director and joint owner)
Read more
Spent 3 nights in this little gem in a quieter part of the Medina. The staff are welcoming and warm. The rooms are spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated. There are numerous public areas laid out around a central courtyard and the pool. The pool area is relaxing and
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorLes Borjs de la Kasbah
The Suite at the Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorLes Borjs de la Kasbah
The Suite at the Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorLes Borjs de la Kasbah
The Standard Room at the Les Borjs de la Kasbah
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorLes Borjs de la Kasbah
The Standard Room at the Les Borjs de la Kasbah
our bedroom
PreviousNext
12345644
In autumn/winter is the pool heated?
Yes it is! Sorry for the delayed response
0 votes
Show all answers
Hi! How far is your place from Medina? Is it walkable or do guests take taxis?? Thank you
Yes, a very easy walk...probably even quicker than taking a taxi. I highly recommend getting the MapMe app on your phone and dropping a pin once at the hotel in order to navigate back. We did this and easily found our way around the city and safely back to the hotel time and time again.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is the pool heated? Thanks!
Yes the pool is heated and covered when not in use. Hope to see you soon, Tom (director/joint owner)
0 votes
Show all answers
I'm sure you'll have another satisfying stay with us. Most of our staff are still the same and they'll enjoy seeing you again and vice versa. The SPA ladies are still here (Hasna and Fatiha) so you can look forward to more treatments with them. See you soon Enchallah! Tom (Director)
1 vote
Can you book treatments in the spa and book lunch without being a guest in the hotel
Hello Gina, You certainly can use our SPA, swimming pool and restaurant/bar without being a guest. If you have a hammam or any treatment you get free access to our pool. Hope to see you soon, Kind regards, Tom (director)
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12
"I stayed in room 101 which was very very quiet and due to the layout of the Riad I imagine all rooms to be excellent"
"Book early as possible, rooms go fast."
"We had a room overlooking the central courtyard which was very nice."
"As the hotel was booked as part of a package, I don't know the room rates. we did upgrade to superior rooms and were not disappointed."
"All rooms are fine. I've stayed in various rooms and have been happy with all of them."
PreviousNext
12345619
PRICE RANGE
US$98 - US$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
les borjs de la kasbah hotel marrakech
LOCATION
MoroccoMarrakech-Tensift-El Haouz RegionMarrakech
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing